Jump to content

Cardbus/PCMCIA Controller ID 104C:8039 Texas Instruments PCIxx12


  • Please log in to reply
418 replies to this topic

#121
NET

NET

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Location:Underworld
  • Interests:are not interesting for others :)

you can search the forum, there are tutorials how 2 upgrade an existing 10.4.x system .. :idea:

yes, but some people are saying that the best idea is clean install, cause a lots of files need to be changed, ill look for solution :)

btw. the kexts posted here i think site 3-5 are imposibble to decompress (IOPCIFamily-1.kext_1.8__10.4.4_.dmg.zip) the ones with dmg.zip

cheers

P.S. any ideas how to use the build in webcam?

#122
BugsB

BugsB

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kauai, Hawai'i
They are not zip. The Boardsoft attached the .zip for some stupid reason. They are .dmg. Just delete the .zip.

I do not know about your webcam.

#123
NET

NET

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Location:Underworld
  • Interests:are not interesting for others :)

They are not zip. The Boardsoft attached the .zip for some stupid reason. They are .dmg. Just delete the .zip.

I do not know about your webcam.

OMG :) i was thinking abot changing the filename to dmg :) but the prime thing is 8.8.1 install on my lappy :) btw should the PCCard controler show up in system profiler afther proper installing the kext ? or not and it just is not shown in profiler but working ? (just asking, cause I have no PCcard right now with me to put in and test it) :)

#124
XellDusk

XellDusk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
You sir, are a GENIUS! It's working on my Acer Aspire 5600 (5602WLMi) - along with my Linksys WPC55AG! Hooray!

(Mac OS X 10.4.5)

Edited by XellDusk, 13 December 2006 - 10:20 AM.


#125
homer007

homer007

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Location:England
doesn't work says:

dmesg

IOPCCardBridge::start failed
FireWire (OHCI) TI ID 803a PCI now active, GUID 00c09f000094f50b; max speed s400.
Got boot device = IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@0/AppleACPIPCI/SATA@1F,2/AppleIntelPIIXATARoot/PRID@0/AppleIntelICHxSATA/ATADeviceNub@0/IOATABlockStorageDriver/IOATABlockStorageDevice/IOBlockStorageDriver/HTS541010G9SA00 Media/IOFDiskPartitionScheme/Untitled 3@3

Edited by homer007, 15 December 2006 - 05:47 PM.


#126
solu

solu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
This kext works also on the latest Semthex 8.8.1 kernel if you install Glitchman's kexts from http://forum.insanel...showtopic=36437 first and then my modified kext from this thread.

Afterwards, your Cardbus slot should be working: It should show the PCMCIA symbol in the menu bar and should show the name of your card (if inserted). Note however, that in order to make your WLAN work on recent systems, you might need the WLAN driver from 10.4.6 (there is another thread on that), and that you might need to edit NetworkInterfaces.plist (there is also another thread on that).

#127
NET

NET

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Location:Underworld
  • Interests:are not interesting for others :)
{censored}:/Users/admin root# dmesg | grep PC
IOPCCard info: Intel PCIC probe: TI xx12 rev 00


works very fine :D thx

#128
homer007

homer007

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Location:England
thanks now it works, but now my battery icon doesnt work!!!

Attached File  Picture_1.png   5.38KB   60 downloads

#129
Turbo50t

Turbo50t

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
Hey all,

I have my card being recognized, but it doesn't work. I have a Novetel 620 PCMCIA card in the slot and it shows the icon and identifies my card correctly, but when I install the Novetel drivers, it won't access the card. When my system boots I get USB Serial error messages. Now my USB slots work good. I don't have any other PCMCIA Cards to test. Anyone have this card working? If someone can give me some tips it would be greatly apprieciated I need to get this card working in OS X.

#130
Turbo50t

Turbo50t

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
[edit] I should have said, "however my USB slots work, my serials don't"

#131
Macoso

Macoso

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
Hi
From where I can download this file? When I try to download from this I have and error in zip file!
Thanks

Dave

!! S U C C E S S !! :D

noname:~ root# dmesg | grep PC
IOPCCard info: Intel PCIC probe: TI xx12 rev 00


so here's how I did it:

- since Knoppix does not boot correctly on my Laptop as it does not contain the most recent Linux kernel with full ACPI support I downloaded the latest Debian KANOTIX distribution (which contains the most recent Linux kernel)
- ran lspci -v in terminal, and look-a-there: as pretty much expected with ACPI properly loaded the values displayed are not the same as without ACPI (the second memory window range was different):

0a:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Unknown device ff31
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 168, IRQ 177
Memory at b3200000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Bus: primary=0a, secondary=0b, subordinate=0e, sec-latency=176
Memory window 0: 50000000-51fff000 (prefetchable)
Memory window 1: 54000000-55fff000
I/O window 0: 00004000-000040ff
I/O window 1: 00004400-000044ff
16-bit legacy interface ports at 0001


Went back into Mac OS, edited the plist which I had copied to my desktop with Apple's Property List Editor 2.1, copied the edited Info.plist from my desktop back into the IOPCCardFamily.kext in the Extensions folder, ran my lil permissions script app, rebooted - and got a little bit different error now:

IOPCCard notice: AdjustResourceInfo: Unknown error code 0xffffffff

.. so something is happening .. ;). Searched for that error in the board of this great community and found this solution from Jeva Hose and did as he said: Replaced the IOPCIFamily.kext, ran my permissions app, rebooted - BINGO [color=#006600]!!

So attached you find both, the IOPCIFamily.kext 1.8 from Mac OS 10.4.4 and the IOPCCardFamily.kext which works for the Toshiba Satellite P100-102.

THANKS probono for getting all of this rolling :) !!

With the new/old IOPCIFamily.kext I will next try to get my soundcard and my LAN card going .. :)

Cheers,
Bugs.

[EDIT] The modified kext might also work for other (Toshiba) Laptops, so just give it a try - and please report back for which Laptop it works and for which it does not work :)



#132
solu

solu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

I have a Novetel 620 PCMCIA card in the slot and it shows the icon and identifies my card correctly, but when I install the Novetel drivers, it won't access the card.


So your PCMCIA slot definitely works :-)

Might well be that your Novatel driver
a) is not unibin
:) does not support PCMCIA ports
since there are no Intel Macs with PCMCIA...

That being said, there is a 3rd party software that should be able to drive many Novatel cards called launch2net http://www.novamedia.de/index_e.html

According to the site it doesn't list the "Novatel 620" but the "Novatel Merlin U630", maybe it's worth a try.

(Please open a new thread for Novatel cards since in this thread we are concerned with the PCMCIA slot itself)

#133
Turbo50t

Turbo50t

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
Probono,

Thanks for the reply, will check it out and see if it works for me

#134
ugriecu

ugriecu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
help thanks
see down

Attached Files


Edited by ugriecu, 08 January 2007 - 08:32 AM.


#135
ugriecu

ugriecu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
My experience: laptop hp pavillion dv5251 cb texas xx12:

-in linux i get:
08:06.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments Unknown device 8039
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Unknown device 30a5
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 168, IRQ 185
Memory at d2004000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Bus: primary=08, secondary=09, subordinate=0c, sec-latency=176
Memory window 0: 88000000-89fff000 (prefetchable)
Memory window 1: 8c000000-8dfff000
I/O window 0: 00002400-000024ff
I/O window 1: 00002800-000028ff
16-bit legacy interface ports at 0001

-so:
I modifyed the plist folliwing the probono's instructions: I also removed the two surplus string for window memory (I have propertly plist editor)

-after:
I controll with a hex edit that in file iopccardfamily there is the string TI xx12.......(right????) i see it in two parts of the file with hexedit....

-then:
what can i do to modify my id device?(8039)???(where????)

-I continued to drag the kext in extensions

-Reboot

-give the command in the terminal: but the pccardbus failed to start!!!

help me plese




this is my modifyed kext Attached File  IOPCCardFamily.kext.rar   214.07KB   36 downloads

Edited by ugriecu, 08 January 2007 - 08:26 AM.


#136
ugriecu

ugriecu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
probono, bugs where are you???

#137
solu

solu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
My driver from this thread uses
Memory window 0: 40000000-41fff000 (prefetchable)
Memory window 1: 42000000-43fff000
I/O window 0: 00005000-000050ff
I/O window 1: 00005400-000054ff

You have to adjust the values in Info.plist using Apple's Property List Editor to the values that Linux gives you. Your Linux MUST be running ACPI or it won't work. (Use a Kanotix Live CD for example.)

If you started with my driver from this thread, then you don't need to care about "xx12" and "8039" since I have already taken care of these :-)

#138
ugriecu

ugriecu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts

My driver from this thread uses
Memory window 0: 40000000-41fff000 (prefetchable)
Memory window 1: 42000000-43fff000
I/O window 0: 00005000-000050ff
I/O window 1: 00005400-000054ff

You have to adjust the values in Info.plist using Apple's Property List Editor to the values that Linux gives you. Your Linux MUST be running ACPI or it won't work. (Use a Kanotix Live CD for example.)

If you started with my driver from this thread, then you don't need to care about "xx12" and "8039" since I have already taken care of these :-)


ok...in this case I finished in the third point...right? when i changed the values in memory and i-o memory...I use kubuntu and it's the most compatible distro.....can you check my kext please?
maybe i can load manualy iopccardfamily.kext???!!!!!????

Edited by ugriecu, 09 January 2007 - 10:34 AM.


#139
amunhoz

amunhoz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
I tried to follow the steps you suggested, but my PCMCIA card is a D-Link DFE-690TXD.

When I plug the PCMCIA card into the slot, and run "sudo dmesg | grep PC", the following information comes to me:

IOPCCard info: cs: cb_alloc(bus 3): vendor 0x1186, device 0x1340
IOPCCard info: cs: cb_alloc(bus 3): found 1 functions
IOPCCard info: cs: cb_config(bus 3)
IOPCCard info: fn 0 bar 1: io 0x3400-0x34ff
IOPCCard info: fn 0 bar 2: mem 0x30001000-0x300011ff
IOPCCard info: irq 11

I tried to check the System Profiler, but there was nothing there regarding my PCMCIA, although I received the information above and my card has a green light on. Also, there is an icon for my card in the menu bar, next to the clock.

I also opened the Network Utility and tried to see if I was able to get an IP address from my network, but I was unlucky.

When I ask the icon in the menu bar to shut down the card, the green light goes off and the result of the "sudo dmesg | grep PC" execution is:

IOPCCard info: cs: cb_alloc(bus 3): vendor 0x1186, device 0x1340
IOPCCard info: cs: cb_alloc(bus 3): found 1 functions
IOPCCard info: cs: cb_config(bus 3)
IOPCCard info: fn 0 bar 1: io 0x3400-0x34ff
IOPCCard info: fn 0 bar 2: mem 0x30001000-0x300011ff
IOPCCard info: irq 11
IOPCCard info: cs: cb_free(bus 3)
IOPCCard: shutting down socket 0.
IOPCCard: calling terminate on socket 0 function 0 nub 0x20a1900.

What does all of this mean?
Is it possible to make any change in the system in order to make my card to work? If so, how?

Thanks in advance.

Aldo

#140
Bored Badger

Bored Badger

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
I've got a Toshiba Equium A60-155, running JaS 10.4.7 been trying to get this driver working but not having much luck.

This is more for my own reference while i'm on a live cd. The values I get from windows device manager is completely different so i'm going to go with these ones.

This is from a Dyne live cd, knoppix 5 reports the same apart from a different IRQ number.

02:06.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1410 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 02)        Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems: Unknown device ff10        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 168, IRQ 177        Memory at d0001000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]        Bus: primary=02, secondary=03, subordinate=06, sec-latency=176        Memory window 0: 90000000-91fff000 (prefetchable)        Memory window 1: d2000000-d3fff000        I/O window 0: 0000a400-0000a4ff        I/O window 1: 0000a800-0000a8ff        16-bit legacy interface ports at 0001

Windows reports:

PCI/VEN_104C&DEV_AC50&SUBSYS_FF101179&REV_02\4&253A0906&0&304AMemory Range FEBFF000 - FEBFFFFFMemory Range FEBFE000 - FEBFEFFFMemory Range FABFE000 - FEBFDFFFI/O Range FE00 - FEFFI/Q Range FD00 - FDFFMemory Range 000DF000 - 000DFFFF

Ok well I'm not sure whats going wrong tbh, I'm more than positive that I have the memory range and ios correct as both knoppix and dyne are reporting the same. I've been trying many device IDs in the driver but none seem to work. Some of the IDS I've used kextload has said its sucessful but then I get no output at all from dmesg about it, or it says invalid subsys at 0x2 or something like that.

Ok using DEVID 50AC in the driver file has now given me "IOPCCardBridge::start failed" from dmesg after I load it into kext. Slowly but surely getting there. Just rebooted n got the same message during boot, I've not had that before on boot.

Will post the kext for anyone else with a Toshiba Equium A60-155 (will probably also work for the Toshiba Satalite A60-155 to) once I've got it all working.

=Edit 4/01/07 2:37am=
I just regrabbed the original drivers from the first post and re-editing everything, now i'm getting this on boot: "IOPCCard Notice: AdjustResourceInfo: Bad Size" and then the start failed error. I ran lspci -n on knoppix to make sure I had the right device id (ac50), which is right. So I'm not exactly sure atm whats wrong. Tried replacing IOPCIFamily.kext but no luck either. Following the instructions for replacing the IOPCIFamily kext actually took out my audio and battery, it caused alot of things to stop working. I kept the kext but undid the i386 rubbish to re-enable everything. Would really appreciate any help towards fixing this. Kext attached.

Badger

Attached Files


Edited by Bored Badger, 14 January 2007 - 03:25 AM.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy