Jump to content

VoodooHDA - common problems


  • Please log in to reply
125 replies to this topic

#41
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
I type this in info.plist

<key>IOPCIClassMatch</key>
<string>0x28058086</string>
The number i've found in windows

#42
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Do you want to use the Intel (HDMI) or Realtek audio? You should see 2 Intel audio devices in your PCI devices list.

Use IOPCIPrimaryMatch, not IOPCIClassMatch.

#43
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
Oh sorry i write bad.
It's the same,i have a notebook,i don't understand why i have 2 sound card.
What i do?

#44
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Put the ID of the card you want to use.

2805 is the HDMI audio
http://pci-ids.ucw.c...ad/PC/8086/2805

If you want to use Realtek, put the other ID (PCI ID, not codec ID).

#45
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
I try many times with 0x026910ec,if you google it you find and alc269 but don't work

#46
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Man, pay attention: PCI ID, not codec ID. Use the app indicated in the first post, you should see two audio devices, it's not the 2805, it's the other one.

#47
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks,i find that id with windows..
I run this application and it find one audio device 1c20 8086,i edit info.plist and in the boot i have a kernel panic.
My graphic card is not compatible,the kernel panic there is because the audio went to hdmi pin?

#48
restafora

restafora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

It must be IOPCIPrimaryMatch.

ID from System Info (Intel) is PCI ID. Codec ID (Realtek) is another thing.

Run sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions to update caches after editing the plist.


thank you very much!! i completely misunderstand your first post!! regards

#49
fc bayern

fc bayern

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Macedonia
Hi

oldnapal


I have one small problem that keeps me troubled for months - that is I can't get the Soundcard sound + HDMI out sound working with VoodoHDA at the same time (changing them is System prefernces>Sound).Can You pls help me , so here is my situation in details :


I have tried all the voodohda versions(0.2.1 ; 0.2.2 ; 0.2.5.6 ; 0.2.6.1 - this one Im currently using ; 0.2.6.2 ; 0.2.7.2 ; 0.2.7.3 ), with all versions less or more I've managed to get HDMI output showned in sound system preferences(also changed in MIDI setup the bitrate to 48.000), but with no one I've menaged to have both sound card + HDMI working together .The only time HDMI works is when I put only the the IOPCIMatch from the Nvidia HDMI (that is 0x0bea10de), i get four digital outs and on the second one - the HDMI works -but no Sound card and mic . This I've tried with VoodoHDA versions 0.2.6.1 and 0.2.5.6 , and with both version HDMI works, but only HDMI, not the Soundcard.


When i edit the voodohda with my Intel HD chipset - <key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>

<string>0x3b568086</string> I get only the Soundcard>

When I add another personality for the nvidia HDMI

<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>

<string>0x0bea10de</string> I get Digital out in System properties Sound but no HDMI sound.

With only the personality from Nvidia 0x0bea10de , i get only the HDMI out.

This is the only thing not working on my Acer lappy, Im using the HDMI out to connect my lappy to Sony bravia LED.

Can You pls help me get HDMI out working at the same time with the Soundcard that is to have fully working VoodoHDA , pls...

Here my voodohda info.plist (0.2.6.1 version of voodohda):

<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>

<string>English</string>

<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>

<string>VoodooHDA</string>

<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>

<string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string>

<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>

<string>6.0</string>

<key>CFBundleName</key>

<string>VoodooHDA</string>

<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>

<string>KEXT</string>

<key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>

<string>0.2.61</string>

<key>CFBundleSignature</key>

<string>????</string>

<key>CFBundleVersion</key>

<string>0.2.61</string>

<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>

<dict>

<key>SoundCard</key>

<dict>

<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>

<string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string>

<key>IOClass</key>

<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>

<key>IOMatchCategory</key>

<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>

<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>

<string>0x3b568086</string>

<key>IOProviderClass</key>

<string>IOPCIDevice</string>

<key>IOUserClientClass</key>

<string>VoodooHDAUserClient</string>

<key>MixerValues</key>

<dict>

<key>Mic</key>

<string>70</string>

<key>iGain</key>

<string>0</string>

<key>iMix</key>

<string>70</string>

</dict>

<key>NodesToPatch</key>

<array/>

<key>VoodooHDAVerboseLevel</key>

<integer>0</integer>

</dict>

<key>VoodooHDAHDMI</key>

<dict>

<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>

<string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string>

<key>IOClass</key>

<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>

<key>IOMatchCategory</key>

<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>

<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>

<string>0x0bea10de</string>

<key>IOProviderClass</key>

<string>IOPCIDevice</string>

<key>IOUserClientClass</key>

<string>VoodooHDAUserClient</string>

<key>NodesToPatch</key>

<array/>

<key>VoodooHDAVerboseLevel</key>

<integer>0</integer>

</dict>

</dict>

<key>OSBundleLibraries</key>

<dict>

<key>com.apple.iokit.IOAudioFamily</key>

<string>1.1fc9</string>

<key>com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily</key>

<string>2.1</string>

<key>com.apple.kpi.iokit</key>

<string>9.0.0</string>

<key>com.apple.kpi.libkern</key>

<string>9.0.0</string>

<key>com.apple.kpi.mach</key>

<string>9.0.0</string>

<key>com.apple.kpi.unsupported</key>

<string>9.0.0</string>

</dict>


With Your knowldge of VoodoHDA , i believe You will solve this problem of mine. Thanks

#50
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
In theory you should use something like this
http://www.insanelym...dpost&p=1765109

But some who tried reported it doesn't actually work.

#51
fc bayern

fc bayern

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Macedonia
But As You see in my post, I have exactly the same VoodoHDA plist - with two personalities which in real world doesn't work .I get in system preferences>Sound to see the HDMI out , but no sound. Also VoodoHDA prefer pane show 4 HDMI out, but in Sound system preferences only selectable first one , and therefore no Sound.
Any other Idea

#52
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
I have kernel panic on boot with all 2 methods!
I am able to boot with boot cd 3 times to 5

#53
danageis

danageis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
I was wondering what exactly you mean by "use Sound Flower". I have downloaded sound flower and now I have 2 input and output devices for Sound Flower 2 channel/16 channel, however if they are selected no sound plays from my system. How exactly is Sound Flower supposed to help stop audio lag?

Sorry for my ignorance, I figured out how to use Sound Flower Bed to use for the system audio. However, this did nothing to alleviate the problems with audio choppiness I have been having (1~2 sec delay after pressing Volume +/-, and skipping every few seconds when playing song/video) :(

Also, deleting the 2 plists in /Library/Preferences/Audio and rebooting only stops my card from being acknowledged by VoodooHDA at all.

Any suggestions?

#54
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
oldnapalm, thanks again for this thread. I finally got around to patching my audio, but I don't know that I'm doing it correctly. I used getDump to find the info and then I tried to add NodesToPatch to enable other outputs/inputs. However, there is no change in Sys Prefs nor in the dump. Would you be able to help me?

Here is my getDump and my VoodooHDA plist

Attached File  getDump Output.rtf   21.45KB   9 downloads
Attached File  Info.plist.zip   942bytes   14 downloads

#55
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
You have to add one dict for each node to patch, example
<key>NodesToPatch</key>
<array>
	    <dict>
			    <key>Codec</key>
			    <integer>0</integer>
			    <key>Config</key>
			    <string>0x01019030</string>
			    <key>Node</key>
			    <integer>11</integer>
	    </dict>
	    <dict>
			    <key>Codec</key>
			    <integer>0</integer>
			    <key>Config</key>
			    <string>0x01011040</string>
			    <key>Node</key>
			    <integer>12</integer>
	    </dict>
	    <dict>
			    <key>Codec</key>
			    <integer>0</integer>
			    <key>Config</key>
			    <string>0x01016050</string>
			    <key>Node</key>
			    <integer>15</integer>
	    </dict>
</array>


#56
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
Thanks! I'll report back. :)

#57
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
I just tested the separate dicts; for some reason the headphones port mysteriously work even though it doesn't show up in Sys Prefs (I didn't even patch the headphones node...), and the line-in port works, too, although the mic and line-in are not showing up as separate inputs. I'll try removing a DSDT thing I added when I was patching AppleHDA and see if anything changes for my other outputs.

#58
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
Back again. :) I removed the DSDT junk and the problem still exists...what could I be missing?

#59
MacKonsti

MacKonsti

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Muppet Show
Hello oldnapalm and thread members, please can you tell me what has happened to the Google code project/pages for this? The code doesn't exist and I don't know where to get it from. I am trying to make my AD1981HD card [8086:27d8] work (Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller) on an older Toshiba and Snow Leopard 10.6.8, so I wish to find the very latest compiled version that supports this card and also has fixed the wake-click-sound that I have been reading in the past. Where is the official project/download page?

Thank you in advance!

#60
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

I just tested the separate dicts; for some reason the headphones port mysteriously work even though it doesn't show up in Sys Prefs (I didn't even patch the headphones node...), and the line-in port works, too, although the mic and line-in are not showing up as separate inputs. I'll try removing a DSDT thing I added when I was patching AppleHDA and see if anything changes for my other outputs.

Nodes with same default association (and different sequence) will work as auto-detect, they just don't show up in system preferences at the same time. Node with sequence zero will work if the other with same default association doesn't have a jack connected.

Hello oldnapalm and thread members, please can you tell me what has happened to the Google code project/pages for this? The code doesn't exist and I don't know where to get it from. I am trying to make my AD1981HD card [8086:27d8] work (Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller) on an older Toshiba and Snow Leopard 10.6.8, so I wish to find the very latest compiled version that supports this card and also has fixed the wake-click-sound that I have been reading in the past. Where is the official project/download page?

Thank you in advance!

Check the "official topic" link on first post.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy