Jump to content

[Guide] Dell XPS 15 L502X (Early 2011) Snow Leopard Install (possibly L702x too)

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2989 replies to this topic

#1421
maxey

maxey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

Yes, that's the one. But you can get it much cheaper, I think. I bought it for half the price in China and it arrived in 10 working days... I'm living in Belgium, and it was supposed to take about 20 working days so, pretty fast :)
If I can get the link I will give it to you.
And it's very simple to install. Just take off the back panel (with 4 screws) and it right there. Pull it off, insert the DW1510 and... MIRACLE... you have WiFi :)


Found this one

http://www.ebay.de/i...d#ht_500wt_1413

Its the same isnt it?

Would buy it i think :)

Edit:
--> bought it :D

Edited by maxey, 17 April 2012 - 08:21 PM.


#1422
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.

Thanks for the reply Doix. I'll double check to see if my windows is the active partition or not (I'm pretty sure osx is the active one). This link describes the problem: http://forum.voodoop...pic,1430.0.html

It might just be my configuration that's messed up. I generally don't use hibernate but use sleep a lot. However, I've been coming back from work and my laptop has been on for maybe a few hours. It's annoying.


That topic is old, i remember seeing a commit about Hibernation in the Chameleon Source Code ages ago... when i have some spare time i'll try hibernate on windows. On mac i know it became useless in Lion (google for more info)

Hello,

I just created the account so i can share my knownlge etc.

First this is how I fix time for windows create text file fixtime.txt then add these lines:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\TimeZoneInformation]
"RealTimeIsUniversal"=dword:00000001

save and close now rename to fixtime.reg and run as admin..

I have more to share after updating the bios I lose SMBus but I found the way to change IDs in DSDT which loads them correctly I will share soon when I will be on my Laptop..

I do have mac mini my self so I also found a workaroud for Intel 3000HD VGA Screen black lines problem.. They are happing because IODisplayConnectFlags always stays with <00 00 00 00> but I have this right from when I plugin into mac mini so I will past here when we use mini-display as VGA or DVI soon..

Thanks DoiX for all your help etc.


I'll update my guide with this info so others can profit based on it. Thank you.

@ DoiX
I screwed up my installation some time ago and am about to reinstall Lion soon.
Does your .V6 Package already include all the latest and greatest updates/fixes that were discovered in this thread (fix for atrifacts on intel HD graphics, Speedstep, latest DSDT etc.?) and your installation app?

Do you actually still plan to create a dedicated "one click" boot CD/ installation CD for XPS users as you mentioned a while ago or is it not possible?

Thanks again for all your hard work on this.


I've reached the conclusion a "dedicated" boot image would be useless so i abandoned that idea.
V6 as far as i remember, has the latest DSDT and SpeedStepping (for i7 only i think), the artifacts or freezing fix isn't added yet. Installation app? Do you mean Aergia? It's still under development.. so far only 2 people provided feedback... not enough to release it to the main. It still needs more work and bug fixes.

#1423
NotMeAgain

NotMeAgain

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
Hi Doix,

Any chance you can release the freezing fix and the artifacts tweak?

I seem to be suffering more and more from random lockups in safari and getting more often black lines across my screen :(

#1424
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Hi, the fix won't promise to get rid of the GFX artifacts because not everyone experience them from the same cause, from the people i interviewed it's common to happen when the laptop is above 60ºC for some time, or after heavy GFX use which again causes the GPU to heat up. Another cause for the artifacts seems to be memory related, when the ram is full/close to full or leaks.

I'll try to work on it some more this weekend, i'll release it on monday.. hopefully with an update.

Do you guys still have problems with USB3 ports?

Edited by DoiX, 25 April 2012 - 07:13 PM.


#1425
NotMeAgain

NotMeAgain

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
Yes, my usb3 just don't work.
Plugging anything into them is hit or miss as to whether the system locks up.

No panic, just hard freeze.

I'm using v6 of your package i believe, with the full-throttle ssdt's.
And the artefacts crop up not long after watching a flash based movie, or playing kerbal space program. Never in general use, and rarely on battery.

I look forward to your eventual release, without yours and others work i'd still be using my old sony vaio instead of this tasty dell.

#1426
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Flash.... i hate it, you will always encounter problems with it on mac, less if you are using Safari. You might want to consider updating to safari 5.2 beta 3. It's stable, better performances and flash runs better.

Back to the USB3. I don't know what exactly i've done... but mine are 100% working. I'm not sure if 10.7.4 beta is to "blame" or my recent SSDT mods as i didn't bother checking the ports in the past few months.

One thing you can help me speed up the process. Download the latest M.Be ast and re-install the USB3 kext, then test the ports.

Edit: Seriously InsanelyMac ? Stop censoring my message.

Another edit: Due to some coffee overdose i've tested and most likely eliminated artifacts for 0x0116 users, all i need to do now is patch some kexts to allow the IGPU to use more RAM, thus reducing if not eliminating artifacts generated by memory leak.

@NotMeAgain, how much ram do you have? Couldn't find your exact specs on the forum.

Edited by DoiX, 25 April 2012 - 10:57 PM.


#1427
NotMeAgain

NotMeAgain

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Flash.... i hate it, you will always encounter problems with it on mac, less if you are using Safari. You might want to consider updating to safari 5.2 beta 3. It's stable, better performances and flash runs better.

Back to the USB3. I don't know what exactly i've done... but mine are 100% working. I'm not sure if 10.7.4 beta is to "blame" or my recent SSDT mods as i didn't bother checking the ports in the past few months.

One thing you can help me speed up the process. Download the latest M.Be ast and re-install the USB3 kext, then test the ports.

Edit: Seriously InsanelyMac ? Stop censoring my message.

Another edit: Due to some coffee overdose i've tested and most likely eliminated artifacts for 0x0116 users, all i need to do now is patch some kexts to allow the IGPU to use more RAM, thus reducing if not eliminating artifacts generated by memory leak.

@NotMeAgain, how much ram do you have? Couldn't find your exact specs on the forum.


I'm on the caffeine as well chap, just finished migrating my companies Sharepoint/sbs to our new offices, re-routed a butt-load of dns's moved our pbx and set up 45 work stations.

Not bad for a nights work.

Specs:
l502x (Obviously)
1366x768 display
i7-something or other not too sure but it's got a default clock of 2ghz
8gb ram - osx shows 512mb dedicated to the hd3000
GT540M

Unfortunately, flash is the only way I can watch my time-wasting naruto episodes at the moment. ;)

Another issue I have is with "Over-processing" on the line-in port, it makes my guitar sound {censored}e, but that is really low on the list of worries since i got my new marshall.

#1428
Monkeys

Monkeys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
@Doix - Regarding the USB3 ports, I would love to know what you did to get them working! Mine are still flaky at best. I've tried everything I can think of including different usb3 kexts and updating the usb3 firmware through windows. Still no good. The best I can seem to get out of them is for unpowered devices like flash drives are recognized but then disconnect randomly. Powered devices such as my iPhone aren't recognized at all.. If you could post an updated dsdt with the new mods you have made I could try that to see if that helps. Then if it doesn't it would seem that maybe 10.7.4 is the reason?

Your help and continued efforts are greatly appreciated as always =)

#1429
NotMeAgain

NotMeAgain

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

@Doix - Regarding the USB3 ports, I would love to know what you did to get them working! Mine are still flaky at best. I've tried everything I can think of including different usb3 kexts and updating the usb3 firmware through windows. Still no good. The best I can seem to get out of them is for unpowered devices like flash drives are recognized but then disconnect randomly. Powered devices such as my iPhone aren't recognized at all.. If you could post an updated dsdt with the new mods you have made I could try that to see if that helps. Then if it doesn't it would seem that maybe 10.7.4 is the reason?

Your help and continued efforts are greatly appreciated as always =)


I've just gotten as far as you chap! :)

Before, plugging in devices to the usb3 ports randomly crashed the laptop, now the devices are showing, but not working (My bluetooth adaptor for example)

In system profiler beneath the usb3 hub node, it shows the BCM2045A adaptor, but bluetooth is not available.
Plugging it into the USB2 brings it back.

Also: I still have the weird - screen is dark until it sleeps issue :)

#1430
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@Monkeys, i'll post them tomorrow... since ive started working on it i could might as well update the installer package.

@NotMeAgain, hmm it means the kext is only part of the equation, probably 10.7.4/SSDT-DSDTs are the other, i'll have to isolate the exact code that makes this damn thing functional.

Interesting, you with 8GB experience more artifacts than 6GB systems, sounds like you just need to patch some kexts to trick OS X you have less ram. I'll PM you tomorrow the patched kext files with reduced ram and increased ram so you can test them and see which works better.

The fix to those pesky artifacts might be system dependent values unless i find a common denominator that can explain the "randomness"

#1431
NotMeAgain

NotMeAgain

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

@Monkeys, i'll post them tomorrow... since ive started working on it i could might as well update the installer package.

@NotMeAgain, hmm it means the kext is only part of the equation, probably 10.7.4/SSDT-DSDTs are the other, i'll have to isolate the exact code that makes this damn thing functional.

Interesting, you with 8GB experience more artifacts than 6GB systems, sounds like you just need to patch some kexts to trick OS X you have less ram. I'll PM you tomorrow the patched kext files with reduced ram and increased ram so you can test them and see which works better.

The fix to those pesky artifacts might be system dependent values unless i find a common denominator that can explain the "randomness"

I appreciate the effort, thank you.

If i could find a common denominator it would definitely help, they are few and far between and seem to disappear after the quotient of annoyance has been met, pesky buggers.
I can do something simpler and take out one of the dimms, and see if they come back. Running on 4gb isn't going to hurt me for the day.

Would you recommend upgrading to 10.7.4 from 10.7.2?
Just patching the speed stepping, and my applehda kexts before the reboot should see me sorted.

#1432
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Sure, remove one memory and see if it's better.

Well for me 10.7.4 is stable, tho i can't boot without -v... seems to be a chimera problem.. didn't get to see what exactly causes it. Rockball tried to update and encountered problems... meh, i say wait. It's gonna be released soon enough, i expect next week.

#1433
HOTcakes

HOTcakes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Hey all,
I was having similar graphic artifacts when I upgraded to 10.7.3. I reverted all my graphics related kexts from 10.7.2 and the artifacts went away even you heavy GPU use, I can post em later.

I'll do it now
GFX_Fix

#1434
maxey

maxey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

Hey all,
I was having similar graphic artifacts when I upgraded to 10.7.3. I reverted all my graphics related kexts from 10.7.2 and the artifacts went away even you heavy GPU use, I can post em later.

I'll do it now
GFX_Fix


Funny enough i have the artifacts with 10.7.2 too..
realized though, since i stopped using the USB3 ports it works better than ever, still sometimes having lock ups.
Maybe its really the 8GB? (Since i am also on 8 GB)

#1435
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Try removing a memory slot, or boot with maxmem=4096 not exactly sure if it accomplishes the same thing but it's worth a try. Test maxmem=6144 as well, maybe 6 GB is the sweet value.

I have 6GB and i rarely have GFX artifacts and when i do, switching some app to fullscreen gets rid of them.

USB3 Update: Well, it's working for pretty much every usb tech i could find except the iPhone. That's caused by a basic PXHCD kext error... nothing i can do about it, it requires some patching and i'm no expert in that. But on the bright side, Android phones, flash drives, keyboards, wifi dongles.. all perfectly working.

More info about the iPhone error: Console reports "TEH look for next TD not free" that keeps spamming the logs, as soon as you connect the iPhone, kernel_task in activity monitor will spike up to 100% and will stay like that until you disconnect the device, sometimes that won't do the trick immediately so you have to connect and reconnect it again until the process error disappears.

If you do that a couple of times you can get to bypass that error so you can only charge your device without the processor being at 100%.

P.S I assume this applies for ipads and ipods as well.

Edited by DoiX, 26 April 2012 - 02:10 PM.


#1436
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
Great news for the USB3.0. I have the same issue as somebody ine here : when I plug WiFi or bluetooth dongle in USB3.0, it's recognized but not functionnal. But when I plug it in the USB2.0, there it's working properly...

And as you said, DoiX, I tried a couple of times to install 10.7.4 (and with the 3 latest builds) but I always get an error when I reboot... With -v or -v UseKernelCache=no, ... So maybe when can wait for the official release and then give it a try one more time.

When you get some positive results with your USB fixes, if you're looking for some "beta tester", I'm here.

See you all.

#1437
Monkeys

Monkeys

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
@Doix - So did you decide that the new DSDT mods would not affect the USB3 issues? You still seem to be having better luck than me with it. Like I said, I can get devices to be recognized, apart from the iPhone, but they are not useable and they also randomly disconnect after a short time... Could you post the dsdt anyways so I can test if it helps with the issue?

Cheers =)

#1438
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium

Great news for the USB3.0. I have the same issue as somebody ine here : when I plug WiFi or bluetooth dongle in USB3.0, it's recognized but not functionnal. But when I plug it in the USB2.0, there it's working properly... And as you said, DoiX, I tried a couple of times to install 10.7.4 (and with the 3 latest builds) but I always get an error when I reboot... With -v or -v UseKernelCache=no, ... So maybe when can wait for the official release and then give it a try one more time. When you get some positive results with your USB fixes, if you're looking for some "beta tester", I'm here. See you all.

I think I solved my problem (with the great help of DoiX, once again)... I had problems installing 10.7.4 because I updated directly from 10.7.2 with the combo update. The same happened when I tried to update from 10.7.2 to 10.7.3 with combo update.
Here, I tried with the Delta updates, from 10.7.2 to 10.7.3 and it worked the first time I tried (replacing all the needed kext). I hope this will work with 10.7.4 (11e52). Tell you in a couple of minute, I'm gonna press the "restart" button :)

EDIT : Unforntunately, did work with 10.7.4, so I'm stuck on 10.7.3...
I'll try 10.7.4 once again when there will be some "final" release... :)

#1439
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@Rockball, you're encountering the same problems?

@Monkeys, the DSDT mod is for graphic glitches, there's nothing you can change in the DSDT to make USB3 ports functional because apple hardware has no USB3 ports yet. I guess it would be possible to change them to appear like USB2 but i'm not sure it will accomplish something.

The SSDTs tables are the ones that may do something for it. In my case, with them i don't KP when i use the USB3 port, i didn't find exactly what code is fixing it.. but i assume it's related to the power (?) section.

Something i noticed, USB2 Hubs won't work at all in USB3 ports.

#1440
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium

@Rockball, you're encountering the same problems? @Monkeys, the DSDT mod is for graphic glitches, there's nothing you can change in the DSDT to make USB3 ports functional because apple hardware has no USB3 ports yet. I guess it would be possible to change them to appear like USB2 but i'm not sure it will accomplish something. The SSDTs tables are the ones that may do something for it. In my case, with them i don't KP when i use the USB3 port, i didn't find exactly what code is fixing it.. but i assume it's related to the power (?) section. Something i noticed, USB2 Hubs won't work at all in USB3 ports.

Yes, something wrong about the FileSystem (I don't remember exactly what) and also, lots of line like "Can't load xxxxxxxxx.kext" and "Can't alloc ...."

Concerning the USB3 ports, I'll give it a try with other SSDT tables to see if I get any improvements... Because even with the new PXHCD from M.B.ast. 4.3.2, I can't get it working.

I edited my last PM to you DoiX, about the 10.7.4 problem and the USB3 issues...





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy