Jump to content

Asus nVidia GeForce 210 1GB DDR3 Working!


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#21
tanbk168

tanbk168

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts

Googled and found this "best fix is adding kernel boot flag npci=0×2000."



Thanks for the feedback. And thanks for testing out the copy and paste method. I suppose it works for some people. Happy Hackintoshing :D



I'm guessing you mean using Graphicenabler=yes OR an EFI String, not both together?


Hi, I have Graphicsenabler=yes and the custom EFI strings both in the com.apple.boot.plist in my lion/Extra folder. It works when I have both.

Hey tanbk168, how did you get past the pci configuration begin bit in Lion? Evreytime I use ##### I get into that trouble so I want to avoid using #####.....could you share the steps on how you get graphics enabler on?


As what Hackintosh2000 had mentioned, I also have npci=0x2000 in my com.apple.boot.plist.... glad that you have resolved the issue...

#22
munakib

munakib

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts

Hi, I have Graphicsenabler=yes and the custom EFI strings both in the com.apple.boot.plist in my lion/Extra folder. It works when I have both.



As what Hackintosh2000 had mentioned, I also have npci=0x2000 in my com.apple.boot.plist.... glad that you have resolved the issue...


Can you guys pls share the text inside your com.apple.boot.plist, like in the OP?
Hackintosh2000 - so have you moved to Lion yet? or are you happy with the stability at 10.6.6?

#23
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Hi, I have Graphicsenabler=yes and the custom EFI strings both in the com.apple.boot.plist in my lion/Extra folder. It works when I have both.


Can you do me a favor. Can you change Graphicsenabler=yes to "no" and see if it works. My understanding is that Graphicsenabler and EFI string are two ways of accomplishing the same thing.

Can you guys pls share the text inside your com.apple.boot.plist, like in the OP?
Hackintosh2000 - so have you moved to Lion yet? or are you happy with the stability at 10.6.6?


I'm on Lion Retail on my hackintosh. The hackintosh I put the nVidia 210 in is a friends. I updated it to 10.6.7 and it worked fine. I got the PCI Configuration Begin thing with 10.6.8. So I rolled back to 10.6.7 and left it there. I don't have unfettered access to that hackintosh so I have not attempted a Lion upgrade.

#24
munakib

munakib

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts

Can you do me a favor. Can you change Graphicsenabler=yes to "no" and see if it works. My understanding is that Graphicsenabler and EFI string are two ways of accomplishing the same thing.

I'm on Lion Retail on my hackintosh. The hackintosh I put the nVidia 210 in is a friends. I updated it to 10.6.7 and it worked fine. I got the PCI Configuration Begin thing with 10.6.8. So I rolled back to 10.6.7 and left it there. I don't have unfettered access to that hackintosh so I have not attempted a Lion upgrade.

Hey all,

so i managed to get dvi/hdmi/vga, Dual Display, working using the following method for 10.6.6
1. I deleted the customer EFI string (for geforce 210) from the com apple boot completely
2. without restarting - installed tonymacx86's nVidia graphics driver update
3. without restarting - installed #####, selecting ONLY System Utilities, boot with - 32bit Graphics Enabler and Chimera bootloader)
4. Restarted PC - took a few more minutes to load but bang...all done.
HDMI + VGA + DVI (dual display)

Now I am trying to figure out how to get the sound working through the HDMI.
Lion was a pain in the butt for me with all the pci hangs so I will test that later.

#25
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Hey all,

so i managed to get dvi/hdmi/vga, Dual Display, working using the following method for 10.6.6
1. I deleted the customer EFI string (for geforce 210) from the com apple boot completely
2. without restarting - installed tonymacx86's nVidia graphics driver update
3. without restarting - installed #####, selecting ONLY System Utilities, boot with - 32bit Graphics Enabler and Chimera bootloader)
4. Restarted PC - took a few more minutes to load but bang...all done.
HDMI + VGA + DVI (dual display)

Now I am trying to figure out how to get the sound working through the HDMI.
Lion was a pain in the butt for me with all the pci hangs so I will test that later.


Which nVidia 210 do you have? I've heard rumors that the 512 mb works with GraphicsEnablre=Yes. That's why I bought the 210. Unfortunately I bought the 1 GB version because I assumed it would be better.I t was not able to work with GraphicsEnabler=Yes. Instead I had to use the EFI string method. That's why I specified 1 GB in the title of the thread.

#26
munakib

munakib

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts

@Hackintosh2000

You are fantastic man....I can confirm that this method works for my BioStar nVidia 210, 1GB DDR3 graphics card. I copied and pasted your plist too so its all good :)

Spread the word - 210 works - QE/CL!

I tried the method out after reading this:
http://www.tonymacx8...s_Card_Database

Asus - Geforce 210 1GB GDDR3 ( EN210 SILENT/DI/1GD3/V2(LP) ) - No EFI or Kext tweaking Needed, Fresh install 10.6 updated to 10.6.6 - installed ##### 2.7 (graphics enabler = Yes) and tonymac Nvidia update, rebooted and voila all detected and working OOB

:)

#27
tanbk168

tanbk168

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts

Can you do me a favor. Can you change Graphicsenabler=yes to "no" and see if it works. My understanding is that Graphicsenabler and EFI string are two ways of accomplishing the same thing.



I'm on Lion Retail on my hackintosh. The hackintosh I put the nVidia 210 in is a friends. I updated it to 10.6.7 and it worked fine. I got the PCI Configuration Begin thing with 10.6.8. So I rolled back to 10.6.7 and left it there. I don't have unfettered access to that hackintosh so I have not attempted a Lion upgrade.



I tried with Graphicsenabler=no and the EFI strings, it still works... so it does not matter if I have yes or no... I think it does not work without the EFI strings... so I'm keeping the EFI strings with enabler yes... since it does not matter...

#28
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

I tried with Graphicsenabler=no and the EFI strings, it still works... so it does not matter if I have yes or no... I think it does not work without the EFI strings... so I'm keeping the EFI strings with enabler yes... since it does not matter...


I tried Graphicsenabler=Yes first. That is all I use on my personal hackintosh with my nVidia 260. You can imagine my frustration when it didn't work on my friend's nVidia 210. That's what got me to switch to the EFI string method. My understanding of it though is you are only supposed to use either Graphicsenabler=yes, EFI string, or DSDT edit. I guess since Graphicsenabler doesn't work on your system it may not matter what you set it to. But if your ever do have a graphics issues you may want to delete Graphicsenabler=yes and see if it helps.

Hey all,

so i managed to get dvi/hdmi/vga, Dual Display, working using the following method for 10.6.6
1. I deleted the customer EFI string (for geforce 210) from the com apple boot completely
2. without restarting - installed tonymacx86's nVidia graphics driver update
3. without restarting - installed #####, selecting ONLY System Utilities, boot with - 32bit Graphics Enabler and Chimera bootloader)
4. Restarted PC - took a few more minutes to load but bang...all done.
HDMI + VGA + DVI (dual display)

Now I am trying to figure out how to get the sound working through the HDMI.
Lion was a pain in the butt for me with all the pci hangs so I will test that later.


Thanks. New knowledge is always appreciated. I've heard that some people have had problems running the EFI string generator utility so this might be a viable option for them. I don't have access to the hackintosh with the 210 in it so I can't confirm or deny that this method works. One thing I can say is I've never installed #####. I like to keep my setup as vanilla as possible. As far as graphics are concerned all I used on my friends setup is an EFI string and Chameleon.

#29
m.matteomac

m.matteomac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
sapete come farla funzionare su jas 10.5.4???

#30
capeli

capeli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Jos, CrC
I see that is working fine for many people, mine is working fine on 10.7.2 MSI/1gb, but i can't get QE/CI working yet.

Is there someone with fully working N210 with QE/CI ? if so, please share your findings.

#31
mangaaya

mangaaya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Thank You ...

Worked The Very First Try . ;) ;) :thumbsup_anim: :thumbsup_anim:

#32
nexus aka chus

nexus aka chus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:compostela spain
i am a full of doubts mate , i have installed asus silent ddr2 512mb and silent ddr3 1gb and everything works perfect
but
now I'm working around gigabyte geforce210 1gb ddr3 and i can't find a solution , tried too many things like efi , nvenabler, GE and nothing work for me , I'm really confused , please help

usually when i boot this core i5 got KP but booting verbose mode system load fine except graphics , with nvenabler got QE and resolution but system radom freezes :D
even i was able to enter password screen with my icon , then i type password and my hack get in a infinite loop hahaha (not in Cupertino of course) and never load graphic injection
well , thanks for your posts ppl , i ´ll keep trying
cheers
lol

#33
78934502

78934502

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
I have a Gigabyte G210 with 512 mb of RAM.
I'm planning to run iPC 10.5.6.
Will the same technique of using the EFI work for this, or is there an alternative?
Would NVinject or NVdarwin work????

Where do I get OSX86 tools?

#34
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

I have a Gigabyte G210 with 512 mb of RAM.
I'm planning to run iPC 10.5.6.
Will the same technique of using the EFI work for this, or is there an alternative?
Would NVinject or NVdarwin work????

Where do I get OSX86 tools?


There is a link for OSX86 tools in the first post.

The 512mb version may work with GraphicsEnabler=yes in the com.apple.Boot.plist file. Actually with the new versions of Chameleon the file is called org.chameleon.Boot.plist.

Insert this...
Posted Image

and see if it works. If not then try my EFI string method. I can't say for sure but I believe the 512mb verson works with GraphicsEnabler. I think my card had an issue because it was 1 Gig.

#35
ykcotop

ykcotop

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Thanks for the post!

Just followed this on an Asus 210 1GB silent and it runs great, enables 1920x1200 @ 60 on my 24" Dell display.
FrontRow opens and runs (under 10.6.7) so I assume that QE/CI are enabled...

Again, thanks for the help!

-doc

Hello,
I have HP Compaq 6000 Pro Small Form Factor PC, HCL 10.7.2, Asus nVidia GeForce EN210 1GB and 24" display. Monitor need 1920x1200 but I still have max 1600x1200
I made many changes and tests, but no more then 1600x1200.
Do you have any help for me?
Thank You.

#36
mail3dexter

mail3dexter

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
i have ASUS nVidia 210 1GB DDR3 silent... i added EFI string in boot plist file.. works fine, even system report gives "1GB graphic memory" in response with proper name..
but i still face problems with watching HD movies.. even 720p movies lag.
can anyone help?

config: core2duo, 4gbddr3 RAM, 1TB HDD, ASUS nVidia GeForce 210 silent..

#37
Grecea Ciprian

Grecea Ciprian

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
^^^^I have the same problem, but with the 512 mb version, in Lion 10.7.3
I have full resolution, but no hardware acceleration :(

#38
mail3dexter

mail3dexter

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

^^^^I have the same problem, but with the 512 mb version, in Lion 10.7.3
I have full resolution, but no hardware acceleration :(

i have ASUS nVidia 210 1GB DDR3 silent... i added EFI string in boot plist file.. works fine, even system report gives "1GB graphic memory" in response with proper name..
but i still face problems with watching HD movies.. even 720p movies lag.
can anyone help?

config: core2duo, 4gbddr3 RAM, 1TB HDD, ASUS nVidia GeForce 210 silent..



performance issue has been solved by deleting /System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext

#39
davidmparaujo1

davidmparaujo1

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello Hackintosh2000 I\m just here to tell you that you\re a Genius Thank YOU a lot!

#40
Vlad

Vlad

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania
so it's gigabyte or msi or gainward gf210 supported with the method you posted here?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy