Jump to content

Intel PRO/100 VE NIC


  • Please log in to reply
329 replies to this topic

#61
odie

odie

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Just wanted to add, it works in 10.5.2 with 915GUX. I was looking for it for months
Thanks for sharing.

There is one drawback, is does not complete work under 10.5.2 Server, you cannot start the
Server services.

#62
mintimperial

mintimperial

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Got this working on my Dell Dimension 5150C by editing the info.plist file and then running the terminal commands and repairing permissions, but after installing a couple of updates via the apple software update this seems to have stopped working. The additional text is still in the info.plist file, so i ran the terminal commands again, but to no avail.

Can anyone give me info on how to reset it to the original so i can redo everything, or give me another fix. Anyone eklse have this happen?

The Ethernet just shows up as not connected now.

TIA

#63
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
Got mine working on Asus P5LP-LE with Intel82562v (Ekron) onboard NIC.

I added device ID 0x27dc8086 to <string> line below <key>IOPCIMatch</key> in Info.plist in /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/AppleIntel8255x.kext/Contents

You will also have to move or rename AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext in /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/

Delete Extensions.mkext, rebuilt cache, repair permissions, reboot.

#64
Painkiller

Painkiller

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
Hello

does anybody know, why my intel pro/100 VE onboard of my DELL 4600i doesnt get regonized from time to time? I have 10.5.2 running ( without QE..) and now and then it comes the line during boot up, that the content of this chip us unknown :) . Does someone experienced this too? I have to reboot until it gets it. Annoying...

#65
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
Here is a list of device ID's + ICH that will work:
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1030, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1031, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1032, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1033, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1034, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1038, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1039, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103A, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103B, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103C, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103D, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103E, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1050, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1051, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1052, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1053, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1054, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1055, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1056, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1057, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1059, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1064, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1065, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1066, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1067, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1068, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1069, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x106A, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x106B, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1091, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1092, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1093, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1094, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1095, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1209, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1229, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x2449, 2),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x2459, 2),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x245D, 2),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x27DC, 7),
If you have ICH8 or later controller, you're probably out of luck for this fix.
e.g.: 82566DC is supposed to have 82562v PHY, but the only controller mentioned in the architecture doc is 82577.

After you add your devID to IOPCIMatch string in 8255x Info.plist, you will have to REMOVE or RENAME AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext to avoid using -f boot flag or other problems.

Remember permissions and cache.

#66
badseedjr

badseedjr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Thanks for all the tutorials first of all...
I have a new issue. I got the IONetworkingFamily and AppleIntel kexts loaded. Under system preferences/network, I see ethernet listed now. My problem is that it won't pull an address. It says that the "status of your network card can not be determined.

Under system profiler, nothign shows up indicating that the card is detected.

Any ideas?

#67
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
What is device ID of your NIC?

Look at System Profiler >Software >Extensions. Which networking kext's are loaded?

#68
badseedjr

badseedjr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

What is device ID of your NIC?

Look at System Profiler >Software >Extensions. Which networking kext's are loaded?


My device ID is 1092
The AppleIntel8255x.kext is loaded as is IONetworkingFamily. Nothing else that I can see as a networking kext.

#69
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO

My device ID is 1092
The AppleIntel8255x.kext is loaded as is IONetworkingFamily. Nothing else that I can see as a networking kext.


Did you remove or rename 8254XEthernet kext?

In Sys Prefs >Network >Advanced, can you set any of the NIC properties manually?

Any errors in system.log? What about after a restart?

#70
badseedjr

badseedjr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Did you remove or rename 8254XEthernet kext?In Sys Prefs >Network >Advanced, can you set any of the NIC properties manually?Any errors in system.log? What about after a restart?

I did remove the 8254 kext. I can change settings to the ethernet manually, but no matter what settings I set, they always revert back to what they were before. Where is system.log located? (new to OS X)

I did remove the 8254 kext. I can change settings to the ethernet manually, but no matter what settings I set, they always revert back to what they were before. Where is system.log located? (new to OS X)

It is working now. I changed the settings from auto to manual, then back to auto. I also added the DNS server address and it worked. Not sure which corrected it, but it is good now. Thanks all.

#71
MrZeroo00

MrZeroo00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morrocco
  • Interests:Mac OS X :P !
I have a problem, here is what DPCIManager reports:

Posted Image

So I have added 0x10928086 to line IOPCIMatch in Info.plist in /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/AppleIntel8255x.kext/Contents then I've moved AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext, rebuilded Extensions's cache and repaired permissions, I've rebooted, but I can't get the LAN card working, here is what I get in system.log:

3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports invalid ROM contents
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports internal register failure
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports serial subsystem failure
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test failed
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel dsmos: Initializing...
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel dsmos: Hook and decryption contexts set!
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel dsmos: Starting...
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports invalid ROM contents
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports internal register failure
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports serial subsystem failure
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test failed
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports invalid ROM contents
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports internal register failure
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test reports serial subsystem failure
3/25/08 11:43:51 PM kernel Intel82557: Self test failed

So please, help me!

PS: Sorry for the English... I speak French.

Edit: Resolved, I've downloaded this package, installed it, deleted AppleIntel8255x.kext in /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext, deleted the Extensions.mkext, repaired permissions, rebooted, and prayed, it's finally working.
Thnak you :(.

#72
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
That kext adds 0x27dc8086 to IOPCIMatch

#73
MrZeroo00

MrZeroo00

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Morrocco
  • Interests:Mac OS X :P !
No, I've added 0x10928086 to IOPCIMatch in the kext, even if, it doesn't work.

#74
Denja

Denja

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Any solution for intel 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network onboard Card.

#75
goonygugle

goonygugle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Got mine working on Asus P5LP-LE with Intel82562v (Ekron) onboard NIC.

I added device ID (0x27dc8086) to line IOPCIMatch in Info.plist in /System/Library /IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/AppleIntel8255x.kext/Contents

You will also have to move or rename AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext in /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/

Delete Extensions.mkext, rebuilt cache, repair permissions, reboot.

i have the same mobo as you use in your build and installed iatkos everything works exept my lan,i tried this method but when i remove AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext and reboot it gets stuck on the apple screen,i then have to boot in safe and put the file back in the folder,i also tried to rename it and had the same results,and suggestions?

#76
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
Download this kext:
http://forum.insanel...t...st&id=23631

Do this:
1. Extract the files. Open Terminal.
2. sudo -s
3. cd /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/
4. mv AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext 8254X.orig
5. rm -Rv AppleIntel8255x.kext
6. cd back to extracted files
7. chown -R root:wheel AppleIntel8255x.kext
8. chmod -R 755 AppleIntel8255x.kext
9. cp -R AppleIntel8255x.kext /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/Plugins/
10. open Network Panel in System Preferences. The NIC should be there. If not:
11. cd /System/Library/
12. rm -Rv Extensions.mkext
13. diskutil repairPermissions /
14. reboot
That should do it....NIC should be in the Network panel when the desktop returns.

#77
goonygugle

goonygugle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
tried it repeatedly and it still didnt work,i ended up putting a d-link card in and it worked,but thank you for the help

#78
kiaunel

kiaunel

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
i tried everything what is write in this topic but not any success.
but i have a strange situation
after replacing the kext file i have buid in ethernet enabled but instead of my lan cand (intel pro /100 ve i have my wireless card (intel 2200 bg) witch is working fine.
anyway any help with my wire card would be appreciated.
anyway ... how can i find my device id in mac os x?
becouse i deleted windows

thanks in advance

#79
Namek91

Namek91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
This is instruction for everyone, witch have a problem with Intel PRO/100 VE NIC.
Installing IONetworkingFamily.kext with ID's from my ethernet card - 0x10398086 nothing changed...
but I'm seeing, when I'm on 800x600 of resolution (reboot computer) my LAN WORKING!!! But, when I'm changing my resolution to 1024x768 and reboot computer LAN DOESN'T WORKING!!! So, witch you can see, probably, there is allready one way - if you want, to LAN connection working:

-Change your resolution to 800x600 (on System preference -> Displays)
-Reboot your computer
-*when computer allready started, you will be on 800x600*
-Then you must change your resolution to 1024x768 (on System preference -> Displays)

-Now you can start working on your Hackint0sh

-When you ending working on computer, only you must to do, is turn back to 800x600 resolution (on System preference -> Displays) and Shout down your computer



Use this instruction any time, when you want to have LAN:
-Start your Leopard
-Change your resolution to 1024x768
-Have fun :(
-Turn back to 800x600
-Shout down.


That's all you have to do!
Yo!

#80
Spike_232

Spike_232

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
hi!! im a newbie here n im stuck on fixing my LAN connection on OS 10.5.2 intel motherboard D946GZIS that has a LAN subsystem using the Intel 82562G Platform LAN Connect (PLC) device... i tried it all but doesn't seem to work!!! Please help!!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy