Jump to content

HP 6520s, 6720s, 6820s, 550 SL Install Package

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1443 replies to this topic

#1381
xsashox

xsashox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Hey..

Made a mistake yesterday.. When i got kernel panics (while working) there was no arch=i386 flag but now i see there is in chameleon...
So no, im runing a i386 flag which means 32 bit..

Will later try with the EDID version of RadeonHD in 64bit to see if its working. I booted yesterday in 64bit and funny thing is AtiRadeonX1000 loads up and runs but there is no QE ? Tried with VLC player which brings up "Your Mac lacks of OpenGL acceleration" i have the X1000 plugin bundle also installed. :/

How do i change the device ID in hex in X1000 kext? Is that essential? Since the kext is loaded i dont see a reason why QE shouldnt work in 32bit or 64 .. I still use GraphicsEnabler=No

Im probably able to boot in 1440x900 with GraphicsMode=1440x900x32 in boot.plist in 64bit also..

I do my work with video and photos (Adobe) so its pointless for me to if there is no QE.. Any suggestions? :)

#1382
bisk

bisk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Don't worry about RadeonHD since you already have full resolution management as that is all it does for you. RadeonHD.kext has no hand in getting you QE. I have had QE in 32 bit mode w/o RadeonHD loading on my ATI X2300m which is very similar to your video chip. QE is entirely the job of ATIRadeonX1000.kext.

YES ... ATIRadeonX1000.kext is absolutely essential for QE on any ATI X13xx, X14xx or X15xx video chip.

I still do not think that the X1000.kext will get you anything except KP in 64 bit mode but you might find this topic helpful as far as how to bin modify the X1000.kext to load and provide QE under Lion 10.7.5 in 32 bit mode. The methodology is the exact same for your X1350m as for my X2300m as we both are hacking the X1300. You merely need to supply a different device ID. Mine is 7188, yours something else.

Go to page 13 as the early postings are way out of date and ripe with misinformation.

http://www.insanelym...now-works-ciqe/

I'd suggest that you simply run 32 bit mode with full QE/CI and ResMan in 10.7.5. No shame in that especially since Lion is the end of the road for these old ATI video chips anyway.

Good luck and Aloha !

bisk

#1383
xsashox

xsashox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Hi,

Yes i know, RadeonHD is only in control of framebuffer and resolution management. I am runing a arch=i386 flag on boot - so 32bit.

Ok here is what i did;
- Added ATISupport.kext (since i erased it at the very start following a guide for X1350 - shows up in kextstat)
- Added ATI1300Controller.kext (changed the device ID to 7196 - according to my graphics - shows up in kexstat in terminal)
- Installed ATIRadeonX1000.kext (changed the device ID to 7196 - according to my graphics - shows up in kextstat in terminal)

So all the kexts are loaded but not QE/CI

What i didnt do;
- I didnt bin mod the X1000 kext because i dont know how to - could you do that for me? I just have to insert 7196 device ID.
- Im runing GraphicsEnabler=No since it wont boot up with =Yes flag

Posted Image

Posted Image

Could you bin mod my X1000 kext? I just need to add the device ID 7196 for my 1350x.
Here is THE LINK to the file on my google docs.

#1384
onestzle

onestzle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
xsashox from where did u get all those kext's you'v added?? The reason why i'm asking is if there are from SL, you have bin mod ATIRadeonX1000.kext in the archive i'v posted on page 68 .... Like in SL if u just changed the device ID to 7196 and don't mod the bin it won't give u QE/CI...try mine ATIRadeonX1000.kext from the archive,and if it dosn't work i'll bin mod yours

#1385
xsashox

xsashox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
onestzle .. I got my kexts from following different guides over here (1350X totally works, 1400x with full QE/CI, ...) i tried serveral methods.

I used your guide from page 68 - Archive

Added all the X1000 kexts (since there is allready 71961002 device ID in plist i didnt edit it)
I added 1300Controller kext

Rebuilt cache, repaired permissions with disk utility and rebooted.
Still no QE/CI :/

Kexts are loaded i see them in kextstat.. IONDRV is the same version as mine 2.2.

#1386
bisk

bisk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
xsashox,

Sounds like you are good hands with onestzle.

My only advice to you, is to simplify your system to test QE.

You do not need RadeonHD, ATISupport or ATI1300Controller loaded to activate QE.

GraphicsEnabler is uneccssary as well.
Modern Chameleon/Chimera boot loaders have no injection code for the ATI1000 series video chip.

Just focus on your issue.

You'll get it !


#1387
onestzle

onestzle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
xsashox , in http://www.insanelym...00#entry1866390 topic,jag787 made x1400 work with Lion,with full QU/CI,and full resolution,try to test with his files(except x1000.kext becouase he modded it for radeon 1400) becouase the latest i'v got was full resolution but no 128 video ram,you got that both now, so try maybe it will work(file by file,do some tests)
also there is no need for GraphicsEnabler for 7196 card(no code for it in boot) and if one of these RadeonHD, ATISupport or ATI1300Controller is helping you get either 128MB video ram or resolution leave it then,if not remove them

#1388
war6000

war6000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Does anyone in here knows if Hardware Acceleration can be truly enable. Cuz i can only get apple software renderer and not the actual graphics chip. BTW i used openGL Extensions viewer and i was able to notice this when i compared my hp 550 to my macbook3,1 which is very similar

#1389
xsashox

xsashox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
@onestzle tried it with @jag787 way but it's not working.. I'm trying some other way now.. Is there an option someone could supply me with AppleMCCS.kext from 10.6.8? And AppleUpstreamClient.kext? If i install IOPCI and IOGraphicsFamily and IONDRV kexts the AppleMCCSController kext is not loaded properly and + my cursor is not working with IOGraphicsFamily.. So, anyone with the old kexts of MCCS and AppleUPC kext?

But either way acceleration is not working still.. What does AppleMCCS kext actually control? And UpstreamClient?

#1390
lorenzop.88

lorenzop.88

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Hi, I have a HP 550 HSTNN-I54C, with Celeron 550 processor. I followed this guide " http://translate.goo...20s/it/&act=url " and so this " http://translate.goo...7e4Dq0rhsHNnI4Q "
to install Lion, step by step, and nothing, loading will not even get to the installation page, the laptop freezes before, and rebooting. :wallbash: Should I set the bios in a different way? Is set to default. I need to install another Chameleon version? Should I install Chimera? Or should I put strings on boot, as cpus=1?
I need your help. Thanks! :thumbsup_anim:

#1391
onestzle

onestzle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

@onestzle tried it with @jag787 way but it's not working.. I'm trying some other way now.. Is there an option someone could supply me with AppleMCCS.kext from 10.6.8? And AppleUpstreamClient.kext? If i install IOPCI and IOGraphicsFamily and IONDRV kexts the AppleMCCSController kext is not loaded properly and + my cursor is not working with IOGraphicsFamily.. So, anyone with the old kexts of MCCS and AppleUPC kext?

But either way acceleration is not working still.. What does AppleMCCS kext actually control? And UpstreamClient?

cursor works,but it is invisible,if u manage to go to system preferences and make it bigger you will see it,i had a simmilar problem on lion,i got the same bug with AppleMCCS and AppleUpstreamClient on lion..i'v sent u a pm,take a look in your inbox

#1392
lorenzop.88

lorenzop.88

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Anyone? :(

#1393
xsashox

xsashox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Anyone? :(


Do you get any errors? Messages? Anything? A black screen?

#1394
kiy0shi

kiy0shi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Music, hacking ps3. etc

No problems here with vanilla system (except X3100FB.kext from Leopard 10.5.8)... so, ALL is working fine in 10.7.3 (latest build 11D50d). Please, wait for update DSDT standard with Lion support (for 6720s and 550) ASAP.

Note: Please, I need one voluntary (with experience, mainly if understood THIS) for DSDT testing with Merom CPU. I mean is better two: one for the Compaq 6720s, and one for the HP 550, both with CPUs Merom. Then, PM me.

Anyway... DSDT v0.30 Update for 6720s and 550 HP Notebooks (Full Lion ready):

1) The Bootloader: (Thanks to Slice). I prefer install it using Chameleon Wizard, method "Boot0md", in the boot partition. Recommended. Note: This bootloader has NOT support for iCloud.

2) The config boot file: org.chameleon.Boot.plist from /

3) The New DSDT and SSDT tables, also from /Extra:
DSDT Merom: (Only for CPU Merom)
DSDT Penryn: (Only for CPU Penryn)
SSDT: (C-States support for both CPU type)

Update Note to Merom CPU users:
If you have audio stuttering (or get choppy problems), this is related to missing C-States support. So, please try with the SSDT tables 5 and 6 I uploaded HERE from /Extra. Because I just needed more feedback with CPU Merom.

OPTIONAL: (ONLY if you want to customize P-States)

Notes:
- If you get Blue Screen, stuck at login and not GUI at all, you need to set your own Display EDID override.
See this example: (Please do not use it, is only for reference)

- For big screen resolution (1440x900), inside the DSDT (device GFX0, X3100 hack code) are just three (3) values to change:

AAPL01,DualLink
AAPL01,Height
AAPL01,Width

4) The SMbios, Legacy SpeedStep and Extensions:
For CPU Merom:
(smbios.plist from /Extra, and Legacy injector installed in /S/L/E)

For CPU Penryn:
(Idem)

Notes:
- For correct Legacy SpeedStep functionality Is highly recommended revert back to vanilla files MacBook4_1.plist or MacBook3_1.plist (depend of case), by deleting or comment out the five (5) lines for CPUPLimit = 0x0:
<key>PLimitDict</key>
<dict>
<key>MacBook4,1</key> // or MacBook3,1
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>
Those modified files are in:
/System/Library/Extensions/IOPlatformPluginFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin.kext/Contents/Resources
Then, repair permissions & rebuilt cache, and finally restart the system.

- Please, build your own genuine-valid Mac Serial, and don't share it... read this commentary about it.

5) More Extensions to install all in /S/L/E (Replace the previous same kexts or same function kexts if necessary):
fakesmc (the Netkas one): Modified Info.plist separately for:



The proper FrameBuffer:
(to avoid the KP "GPU parser error...")
Note: Before install it, in case you have the X3100 variant ID 2A12... you need to edit the Info.plist inside.

And the rest of kexts for fan control, battery, sound, ethernet and keyboard:
Note: About the sound .kext, please install first AppleHDADisabler (wait two minutes), then install VoodooHDA to prevent KP conflict with AppleHDA.

At the end... repair permissions with Disk Utility (Recommended).

Big thanks to ThirdSmile, Zprood, Slice, and maybe others. Good Luck to everyone.


Thank you very much. I got my 10.7.5 system working. Only little problem. My X3100 variant 2a12 doesn't work. It stuck on boot.
Invalid firmware: max lighting
Intel memory
Intel memory
initpool 0x080000 etc.

I have tried many variant x3100 drivers. None of those work.

My system is HP550
CPU 7250 2Gz
Intel GL960 X3100
2Gb ram

juanerson's
DSDT: Merom 0.30
Smbios: macbook 3.1
SDST: step 4,5,6,7,8

Kernel log:


Dec 2 18:24:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: IG: Invalid firmware max backlight setting
Dec 2 18:24:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: IntelMemory::init
Dec 2 18:24:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: InitPool: offset= 0x08000000 size = 0x08000000
Dec 2 18:25:46 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort_Brcm43xx: Ethernet address 00:21:00:86:63:05
Dec 2 18:25:46 klausMacBook kernel[0]: IO80211Controller::dataLinkLayerAttachComplete(): adding AppleEFI$
Dec 2 18:25:46 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort: Link Down on en0. Reason 8 (Disassociated because station$
Dec 2 18:25:47 klausMacBook kernel[0]: Auth result for: 30:85:a9:fa:a9:24 MAC AUTH succeeded
Dec 2 18:25:47 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort: Link Up on en0
Dec 2 18:25:47 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort: RSN handshake complete on en0
Dec 2 18:25:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: display: Not usable
Dec 2 18:26:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: virtual bool IOHIDEventSystemUserClient::initWithTask(task*, void*$

#1395
lorenzop.88

lorenzop.88

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
@xsashox

With this method http://www.insanelym...sing-chameleon/ , I get a black screen
With this method http://tonymacx86.bl...lion-using.html , I get " System Uptime in Nanosecond... "

I need of Hacked Boot CD?

Thanks

#1396
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Thank you very much. I got my 10.7.5 system working. Only little problem. My X3100 variant 2a12 doesn't work. It stuck on boot.
Invalid firmware: max lighting
Intel memory
Intel memory
initpool 0x080000 etc.

I have tried many variant x3100 drivers. None of those work.

My system is HP550
CPU 7250 2Gz
Intel GL960 X3100
2Gb ram

juanerson's
DSDT: Merom 0.30
Smbios: macbook 3.1
SDST: step 4,5,6,7,8

Kernel log:


Dec 2 18:24:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: IG: Invalid firmware max backlight setting
Dec 2 18:24:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: IntelMemory::init
Dec 2 18:24:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: InitPool: offset= 0x08000000 size = 0x08000000
Dec 2 18:25:46 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort_Brcm43xx: Ethernet address 00:21:00:86:63:05
Dec 2 18:25:46 klausMacBook kernel[0]: IO80211Controller::dataLinkLayerAttachComplete(): adding AppleEFI$
Dec 2 18:25:46 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort: Link Down on en0. Reason 8 (Disassociated because station$
Dec 2 18:25:47 klausMacBook kernel[0]: Auth result for: 30:85:a9:fa:a9:24 MAC AUTH succeeded
Dec 2 18:25:47 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort: Link Up on en0
Dec 2 18:25:47 klausMacBook kernel[0]: AirPort: RSN handshake complete on en0
Dec 2 18:25:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: display: Not usable
Dec 2 18:26:58 klausMacBook kernel[0]: virtual bool IOHIDEventSystemUserClient::initWithTask(task*, void*$


Try to inject your edid. Also mine is a 2a12 variant, but i don't need any injected edid :)

#1397
kiy0shi

kiy0shi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Music, hacking ps3. etc


Yes...I have tried to find it with ioreg method. No luck. Next step: make linux live cd to get Display's EDID.. Im so lazy.. GIOFRIDA.. Could you upload your dsdt and x3100 kexts? I like to try them..

Is my dsdt problem? I have default

juanerson's merom

0.30 dsdt file. I haven't edited..

#1398
giofrida

giofrida

    InsanelyMac Italy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
I can upload my EDID.. that's the only thing i touched (the x3100 fb is from 10.5.8, you can find it on page 66, it's only to fix mouse freezing. the dsdt is on the same page or on page 68 where i posted the dsdt modified by me to get sleep working).

Attached Files



#1399
kiy0shi

kiy0shi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Music, hacking ps3. etc
AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext is Lion default? Hmm..U have 6720s and I got hp 550.. HP550(GL960 chipset) and 6720s(GM965 chipset)

#1400
kiy0shi

kiy0shi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampere, Finland
  • Interests:Music, hacking ps3. etc
Can U upload all your X3100 kexts? Plz.. I can't find my 10.7.5 original kexts...





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy