Jump to content

Chameleon with DSDT override


  • Please log in to reply
252 replies to this topic

#41
relikwie

relikwie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands

Hey,

I made a Tool to patch your DSDT, it will create a dsdt.aml with what you should be able to run AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext and the upcoming AppleRTC kext without a panic. Have fun :)
Readme is included. If it fails please PM me and attach the Patcher output.

greetz



Thanks to all Chameleon/OSX Developers who make such things possible, especially zef, kabyl and modbin for helping me at any time and share their work/knowledge, keep it up thanks.


Thanks or the patch tool. But it does't work here.
placed boot and the resulting dsdt.aml into the root of the startup drive. Everything looks fine but the system just hangs
at a certain point (random). Sometimes it loads everything but at the moment I would expect the loginscreen it just sits there.

I even see that AICPUPowerManagement initilizes completly.
Do I need to remove any disabler kext?

Thanks..

#42
ovof

ovof

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
Google is your friend :

DSDT from MacPro

#43
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Google is your friend :

DSDT from MacPro

Thank you for this. I tried using google but didn't find any downloadable dump. Just a small correction: it's a dump from MacBook Pro and not from MacPro

Thanks or the patch tool. But it does't work here.
placed boot and the resulting dsdt.aml into the root of the startup drive. Everything looks fine but the system just hangs
at a certain point (random). Sometimes it loads everything but at the moment I would expect the loginscreen it just sits there.

I even see that AICPUPowerManagement initilizes completly.
Do I need to remove any disabler kext?

Thanks..

Supply more information. As: does it work if you remove AppleCPUPowerManagement.kext? Does it work without DSDT override w/o AppleCPU... and so on. And please attach your system logs and your DSDT.

#44
ovof

ovof

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 239 posts
NC6400 dual core issue.

1st solution :

The dual core issue with my HP laptop (NC6400) seems to come from a bad initialization of the second core during LAPIC initialization.

Does the DSDT pass any arguments for this to the OS ?



2nd solution :

i see in the DSDT that cores enumeration starts at 0x1 for CPU0, then 0x2 for CPU1. But in other DSDT, it starts at 0x0 for CPU0. Maybe its there the issue...

Edit : i think its here :
When ACPI inits, i've got this in console :

28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=1 LocalApicId=0 Enabled
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=2 LocalApicId=1 Enabled

But in normal it should be :
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=0 LocalApicId=0 Enabled
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=1 LocalApicId=1 Enabled

I thnik i've really have an issue in cpu enumeration which the issue...



Still searching...

#45
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

2nd solution :

i see in the DSDT that cores enumeration starts at 0x1 for CPU0, then 0x2 for CPU1. But in other DSDT, it starts at 0x0 for CPU0. Maybe its there the issue...

Edit : i think its here :
When ACPI inits, i've got this in console :

28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=1 LocalApicId=0 Enabled
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=2 LocalApicId=1 Enabled

But in normal it should be :
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=0 LocalApicId=0 Enabled
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=1 LocalApicId=1 Enabled

I thnik i've really have an issue in cpu enumeration which the issue...

Don't think that this is a problem. On my laptop in corrected DSDT (with which both cores work) I have:
Scope (_PR)
	{
		Processor (P001, 0x01, 0x00000810, 0x06) {}
	}

	Scope (_PR)
	{
		Processor (P002, 0x02, 0x00000810, 0x06) {}
	}
And if I remember correctly I also get
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=1 LocalApicId=0 Enabled 
28/10/08 20:03:59 kernel AppleACPICPU: ProcessorApicId=2 LocalApicId=1 Enabled
EDIT: Booted my OSX and confirmed that I really get theese messages

#46
spanakorizo

spanakorizo

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 747 posts
how do i use it?
there are only 2 files in the zip "boot+dsdt_acpi12.diff"
i need to use patcher http://forum.insanel...o...=133683&hl=
but i think that 1st i need to install this

#47
casmsk

casmsk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Hi, mackerintel!!

My system freezes right before GUI load. It doesn't boot neither normal mode nor debug.

I use this Chameleon bootloader to boot my system (unfortunately with one core). Could you try to patch it for DSDT override with DSDT.aml

http://rapidshare.co...sk.dmg.zip.html

Thanks.

#48
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Hi, mackerintel!!

My system freezes right before GUI load. It doesn't boot neither normal mode nor debug.

I use this Chameleon bootloader to boot my system (unfortunately with one core). Could you try to patch it for DSDT override with DSDT.aml

http://rapidshare.co...sk.dmg.zip.html

Thanks.

a) To make Chameleon override DSDT just replace /boot with my boot file and add DSDT.aml
b You'll need patched DSDT for your system. No two systems are the same. Go here http://forum.insanel...howtopic=133683
c) DSDT override is not a magick wand and I'm not a wizard. DSDT override can solve many problems but not all of them. Your problem is probably graphics driver. Try to delete it to go to VGA mode. There are sufficiently many threads about graphic cards. Just use the search

#49
casmsk

casmsk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

a) To make Chameleon override DSDT just replace /boot with my boot file and add DSDT.aml
b You'll need patched DSDT for your system. No two systems are the same. Go here http://forum.insanel...howtopic=133683
c) DSDT override is not a magick wand and I'm not a wizard. DSDT override can solve many problems but not all of them. Your problem is probably graphics driver. Try to delete it to go to VGA mode. There are sufficiently many threads about graphic cards. Just use the search


I've replaced mine /boot with yours boot file and added DSDT already.
DSDT.aml i've reached using DSDT patch by fassl.
Unfortunately for mine graphic card only one driver is useful. I'll try to delete it and write here about result.

#50
mentorek

mentorek

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Location:/dev/urandom
Hey guys,

Could you point me to the good howto install chameleon? I want to try out this patch since it might solve my last issue.

Cheers,
mentorek

#51
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY
I tried this method of fixing the DSDT on the MSI Wind. When trying to load up without a disabler kext for CPUPowermanagement. It read that the CPU was unsupported. I assume it's because its an ATOM CPU?

Also to note. This CPU works with vanilla kernel and has similar instructions to that of a Core based CPU. SSE3, SSSE3.


Any ideas?

Thanks,

-Stell ;)

EDIT: Attached dsdt.dsl. I corrected the errors on this one. I have not patched this specific one to fix IntelCpupowermanagement, etc.
Attached File  MSIWind_ATOM_dsdt.dsl.zip   16.01KB   59 downloads

#52
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

I tried this method of fixing the DSDT on the MSI Wind. When trying to load up without a disabler kext for CPUPowermanagement. It read that the CPU was unsupported. I assume it's because its an ATOM CPU?

Also to note. This CPU works with vanilla kernel and has similar instructions to that of a Core based CPU. SSE3, SSSE3.

Supported features is not only difference that can exist between processors. While it's true that Atom is similar to cut-down Core with Hyper-threading instead of Dual-Core it probably uses Speedstepping more similar to Pentium M with its own additions. Also the CPUID version (family,model,stepping) are probably different. And I think that AppleCPUPowermanagement executes CPUID and compares the output with built-in table. In this case there is nothing that DSDT override can do about it. At least until Apple makes their own netbook (a kind "Macbook Mini"). This is also the reason why AppleCPUPowermanagement can't be used with AMDs. But I can also be wrong and perhaps your DSDT is screwed in another way (decompiled DSDT is about 15000 lines of codes it means 15000 ways it can be screwed up)

#53
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY

Supported features is not only difference that can exist between processors. While it's true that Atom is similar to cut-down Core with Hyper-threading instead of Dual-Core it probably uses Speedstepping more similar to Pentium M with its own additions. Also the CPUID version (family,model,stepping) are probably different. And I think that AppleCPUPowermanagement executes CPUID and compares the output with built-in table. In this case there is nothing that DSDT override can do about it. At least until Apple makes their own netbook (a kind "Macbook Mini"). This is also the reason why AppleCPUPowermanagement can't be used with AMDs. But I can also be wrong and perhaps your DSDT is screwed in another way (decompiled DSDT is about 15000 lines of codes it means 15000 ways it can be screwed up)



I appreciate the input, brother. Well, hopefully something will come out of it. I got this working on my desktop mobo/cpu just fine.

You think they'll be any chance of a DFE 132 Chameleon with this DSDT override in the future?

Thanks mackerintel!

-Stell

#54
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

I appreciate the input, brother. Well, hopefully something will come out of it.

CPUID has to be patched. Either on the disk or in the memory. The second method is used by voodoo-kernel( http://code.google.com/p/xnu-dev/ ) to make OSX work on AMD. But in case of AppleCPUP-M- it's probably wouldn't bring anything since powermanagement is probably (just a wild guess) not implemented the same way on Atom that on supported CPUs.

I got this working on my desktop mobo/cpu just fine.

You think they'll be any chance of a DFE 132 Chameleon with this DSDT override in the future?

Tams Kosrzky recently posted a message on his site about big unified bootloader .

Thanks mackerintel!

You are welcome

#55
stellarola

stellarola

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lextown, KY

CPUID has to be patched. Either on the disk or in the memory. The second method is used by voodoo-kernel( http://code.google.com/p/xnu-dev/ ) to make OSX work on AMD. But in case of AppleCPUP-M- it's probably wouldn't bring anything since powermanagement is probably (just a wild guess) not implemented the same way on Atom that on supported CPUs.

Tams Kosrzky recently posted a message on his site about big unified bootloader .
You are welcome


Perfecto.

Link to Tams Kosrzky's site?

-Stell

#56
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Perfecto.

Link to Tams Kosrzky's site?

-Stell


Sorry I made a typo :) . Correct spelling is Tams Kosrszky. Linking to his site gives me an error. Just search for "Tams Kosrszky" or "Chameleon EFI" in any search engine

#57
Shadow_2k

Shadow_2k

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
Works like a charm. Tested with a downloaded AppleRTC 1.2.2 and a AppleCPUPowermanagement.kext that I copied over from my real mac.

#58
xtreme_xtc

xtreme_xtc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Thanks mackerintel for adding DSDT patching.
Fixed my acer 5610z it can SLEEP, however it will not resume, such that it will attempt to wake, and it will initialize the system and get no where.

Anyway i have uploaded the corrected dsl and aml.

Also another note if you guys get cpu thermal threshold signal must sleep in verbose remove all thermal kexts it will prevent your system from sleeping on boot.

Attached Files



#59
xhala_debru

xhala_debru

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bruxelles
Hi,

doesn't work for me.
I got the dsdt.aml created by fass's patch, placed in the root of my partition and then replaced chameleon's boot file by yours.

At boot time, I see something about dsdt, boot volume is found, kext begin loading.
Then a message about power management time out.
After that boot process resumes but never completes.
I never reach the login window and booting in safe mode doesn't help neither.

Attached Files



#60
mackerintel

mackerintel

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Hi,

doesn't work for me.
I got the dsdt.aml created by fass's patch, placed in the root of my partition and then replaced chameleon's boot file by yours.

At boot time, I see something about dsdt, boot volume is found, kext begin loading.
Then a message about power management time out.
After that boot process resumes but never completes.
I never reach the login window and booting in safe mode doesn't help neither.

1) Try putting unmodified dump to /DSDT.aml (to know if it's a problem in Chameleon or DSDT patcher)
2) Post your DSDT
3) Try disabling modified and non-apple kexts





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy