Newbie and easy question

Coca-Cola

8 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I could not find a topic to fulfill my question, so I had to made one.

It's also quite easy to answer btw.

I'm totally new to the OS X implementation on a PC-based machine, and I am proudly trying it out this weekend, but reading the installation tutorials, generated some questions:

1) I know that Mac-machines uses a specific storage language, different than NTSC and FAT, right? But does it mean that an hackintosh wont be able to play/use files stored under windows storage format? How does it work?

2) This question answered, what is the size of the hack partition that you recommend and why?

3) Will my present windows files be read by the hack OS, like movies, mp3s, pictures and everything else that can be read under the OSX86? (of course, no .exe files)

4) Is there any tricks and tips you guys recommend aside the ones on the tutorials? (like choosing to install or not to install some optional features (if there´s any))

5) Do you think Ill be able to install under these configs?

PC1

- Abit IP35

- Intel Core2Duo E6550

- 2x1gb Geil DDR2 800 - extreme timings 4-4-4-15 - 2.1v

- 500gb Samsung 16mb buffer Sata II - 7200 rpm

- 320gb Maxtor 8mg buffer Sata II - 7200 rpm

- Geforce 8800GT - 512mb - PNY Performance Edition

PC2

- MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum

- AMD Socket 939 Athlon64 2,4ghz

- 2x 1gb Kingston Extreme (blue stick) DDR1

- Geforce 7600GT - XFX

- 2x Ata 200gb and 300gb - 8mb buffer - 7200rpm - Samsung and Seagate

Thanks in advance!

1) I know that Mac-machines uses a specific storage language, different than NTSC and FAT, right? But does it mean that an hackintosh wont be able to play/use files stored under windows storage format? How does it work?
OSX can read both FAT and NTFS (NTSC is a video format, BTW) but can only write to FAT natively.

2) This question answered, what is the size of the hack partition that you recommend and why?