Web authoring software

13 posts in this topic

I have been using Frontpage for 6 years. I just boaught a new copy of Frontpage 1.0 for Mac but it is not OS X compatible. Maybe someone can tell me what applications to check out. My site has 166 pages. Each week I have to make some slight changes an several pages and upload them. What would be the perfect solution? Cost isn't important.

Hi

Adobe Dreamweaver CS3 is very good but expensive. It work in Wysiwyg

Panic Coda is a new very good soft, too.

TextMate is for text editing only

These 3 softs have html/css/php autocompletion.

Only the two first have ftp in it.

Samuel

Dreamweaver is alright if you don't know how to write HTML or CSS yourself. The new Spry widgets are cool as they allow you to add some cool JavaScript functionality without any knowledge of the language whatsoever.

If you're comfortable with code, such as myself, I'd highly recommend TextMate. As far as I know, it doesn't have code auto-complete as Samuel said, but it does speed up the coding process with tons of shortcuts. The only compelling Dreamweaver CS3 features for me are the Browser Compatibility Checker and I guess some of the reference material built-in.

Regardless, I'd recommend you stop using FrontPage as it is known to be one of the worst commercial web dev software out on the market. In fact, Microsoft is completely dropping it for a new product.

Thanks guys for your input! I have been using Frontpage because I know it so well. I know the shortcuts without even thinking about them. It's really crude and ancient but it gets the job done. I have Dreamweaver 8 and am not so comfortable with it. Is there much difference with CS3? I don't mind hand coding the tough spots but am getting on in the years and have some arthritis in my left hand that is really bad sometimes. And- no suggestions about a rocking chair please! java script:add_smilie(":D","smid_7")