What's the most recent Mac OS X Image? (Jas + PPF1 + PPF2?)

sofakng

22 posts in this topic

I'm a complete newbie with this x86 Mac OS X, but I've been reading the wiki as well as the forums but I have a question...

What is the best (most recent?) image to install Mac OS X from? I see an image called "Mac OS X 10.4.8 [JaS AMD-Intel-SSE2-SSE3 with PPF1 and PPF2]". Is this the version I should get?

Also, is there an explanation of "JaS", PPF1, and PPF2? What do they all do? I guess I don't really need to know, but I'm curious and want to understand everything that is going on so I have a better understanding of the x86 Mac OS X project.

[EDIT] There also seems to be another image called "Mac OS X 10.4.9 Intel SSE3 [JaS 10.4.8 AMD-Intel-SSE2-SSE3 with PPF1 & PPF2.iso + JaS.10.4.9.Combo.Update.Intel.SSE3.zip]". Is this better?

By the way, I have an AMD Opteron 165 process in case that matters. (it supports SSE3)

Thanks!

I suggest you get the tubgirl 10.4.8 release for AMD and the tubgirl 10.4.9 PPF just released.

Using this will get you the latest 10.4.9 kernel and all updates.

JaS is a person who made that CD.

PPF mean a patch file. So when you see something + PPF it means that patch has been applied to that iso.

You DON'T want that Intel combo update.

do you mean this ? JaS.10.4.9.Combo.Update.Intel.SSE3.zip

whats wrong with that?

thanks

Mac OS X 10.4.9 Intel SSE3 [JaS 10.4.8 AMD-Intel-SSE2-SSE3 with PPF1 & PPF2.iso

JaS.10.4.9.Combo.Update.Intel.SSE3.zip

Tested working compination.

hi Oracle67, so after I download that iso, burn to dvd, insert and boot from cd and install? just follow the instruction will do? simple as ABC?

thanks.

quick info: yesterday tubgirl posted new PPF update for his 10.4.8_final dvd on piratebay (search for osx_1049_amdvm_ppf)

it contains 10.4.9, latest 8.9.1 kernel from irc.osx86.hu, quicktime 7.1.6, and itunes 7.11

go grab it, and please seed

Give some hardware description.

It helps.