Parallels Workstation can't run beryl in Linux

Mebster

11 posts in this topic

I installed Parallels workstation to see if I could get Ubuntu 6.06 working on it. It worked fine but I then read that XGL, compiz, beryl and the rest (I'm new to Linux) are not currently supported which is a major down side for me as they are really the only reason i wanted to start trying out Linux. Another major let down by Parallels Workstation is that there was no cool switching of screens effect I've seen on youtube videos of Parallels for Mac has.

• So I was wondering if I can use VMWare to run parallels and would it support XGL, compiz, beryl and the rest?
  • Also is there a way to actually have it so that it loads a native installation rather than just an image (never used VMWare before)?
  • Finally which is considered better, Parallels Workstation or VMWare?

Appreciate any help :)

I installed Parallels workstation to see if I could get Ubuntu 6.06 working on it. It worked fine but I then read that XGL, compiz, beryl and the rest (I'm new to Linux) are not currently supported which is a major down side for me as they are really the only reason i wanted to start trying out Linux. Another major let down by Parallels Workstation is that there was no cool switching of screens effect I've seen on youtube videos of Parallels for Mac has.

• So I was wondering if I can use VMWare to run parallels and would it support XGL, compiz, beryl and the rest?
  • Also is there a way to actually have it so that it loads a native installation rather than just an image (never used VMWare before)?
  • Finally which is considered better, Parallels Workstation or VMWare?

Appreciate any help :)

I'm not too sure, but you might be able to run Beryl off a Ubuntu 7.04 Live CD- after sudo apt-get install desktop-effects.. maybe

Failing that, try the kororaa live cd.