Windows Vista RC2 Thoughts

AirmanPika

9 posts in this topic

Well I can say this is the first time Vista has installed on my iMac with almost no problems. RC2 finally accepts the Bootcamp 1.1.1 sound drivers again so I have proper sound, I was able to manually install the bluetooth kicker drivers so I have bluetooth again, and I am using the ATI Vista RC1 Drivers to get good video. The single glitch I have is that with the ATI drivers the iMac doesn't see my HDTV connected to the DVI port. I figure future update may fix this. Everything is responsive, shiny, and usable.

I've been using Vista as the primary OS on my imac for about 6 months now and I can finally say I am content and happy. I know all the ins and outs of what I need to turn on and off to get rid of the Idiot mode vista runs standard, my apps seem to be happy, and even 99% of my hardware is good now. All I really have to try now are some games.

Also incase people are wondering I don't use Bootcamp. Its too restrictive as I wanted a Tri-Boot (Vista, XP, OSX) so I resorted to manual partitioning and loading OSX from a premade backup image after which I load XP and Vista onto the other 2 partitions. Only thing I need from bootcamp is the drivers and really only a couple of em are needed now.

Now I just need to see if I can get the Startup Disk control panel going in RC2. Keeps telling me it doesn't have proper permissions to access the hard drive.

good work!

me on the other hand, im not all too impressed with RC2. i loaded it up and it just loves having a battle with m nvidia video card ... EVEN though i ran the MS vista compatability software and it said im good to go. meh ... im not too anxious but i think by the time they send the rtm out, all the little kinks will be worked out. as for now, a'emailing to MS i will go :2cents:

Now I just need to see if I can get the Startup Disk control panel going in RC2. Keeps telling me it doesn't have proper permissions to access the hard drive.