Any good guide to OC an Opteron 165?

macgirl

27 posts in this topic

I'm a newbie, well at least at overclocking area, so I have this new Opteron 165 and my friend (he works at AMD) gave me the proc and said it is very overclockable.

The opteron is basicly the same as an Athlon 64 (in this case an X2). There are many online guides to A64 oc'ing

this 1 seems to be very detailed

http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/show...ad.php?t=151373

and this 1 is probibly easier to folow

http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=gethowto&howtoID=58

Its probibly best u read a few differant guides before u start if u are new to overclocking

your results may vary depending on ur motherboard, ram, PSU and also cooling

Good Luck

I was able to OC to 3.6Ghz, and Mac OS X did not present any problem at all, but if I boot to Win XP it reboots automactically just before the welcome screen appears, Of course I just tested some sets, I think with a faster memory I could reach 3.6Ghz without a glitch, Now 2.2Ghz on Win XP very stable.

Yes, very stable, and I tested with several applications running also.

Maybe a re-installation of Windows XP is the key, but it gives me a headache only to think about re-installing everything else.

Yes, very stable, and I tested with several applications running also.

Maybe a re-installation of Windows XP is the key, but it gives me a headache only to think about re-installing everything else.

there is a driver on the amd website for athlon x2 processors, and dual cores.

you will want to install that in order to achieve higher stability with a windows.

aswell, 3.6 is not stable on a system that isnt water cooled.

i will tell you taht right off the bat.

if you go to xtremesystems.org, i think the highest aircooled overclock is somewhere near 3.1 ish.

3.6 is far far too high to be stable.

in order to be able to verify stability, it's recommended that you run two Prime95 torture tests at the same time.