Full Tilt iMac or Low End Mac Pro?

nordie

11 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm new to the Mac world, and am trying to put together my first Mac.

First, I'm primarily a PC user, but want to use the Mac for low level video editing using iMovie. I'd also be using screenflow as a kind of Camtasia substitute. I'm generally going to be shooting short on-screen tutorials, or shooting short product descriptions for an online store (30 seconds to 1 minute each). So I won't be doing any 2-hour movies or anything like that.

So, I'm torn between getting:

- a high-end iMac with the 24-inch screen, 3.0ghz core 2 duo, NVidia GeForce 8800, 750gb hard drive.

- a low end MacPro with only ONE 2.8ghz Xeon quad core CPU, base ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT, 750gb hard drive (I would use my existing 24-inch monitor on a KVM switch with this setup).

When I priced these two out, I found only about a $300-400 difference, and I was wondering if it would be worth the stretch to get the MacPro instead?

If I got the MacPro, I could add a second CPU later on, or get an upgraded ATI video card (ATI 3870) later on.

Any opinions on this?

Will the iMac do the job well for me, or would I get better longevity from the MacPro?

Thanks for your opinions!

Nordie

P.S. Is the MacPro as easy as a PC to upgrade and "tinker" in (adding CPUs and CPU coolers, hard drives, etc.)???

One should never buy a Mac Pro with only one processor... it would be a shameful waste of the Mac Pro's awesome motherboard.

When doing video editing, it appears that the more cores the better (in which case the Mac Pro surely wins) but bear in mind that certain video editing software are not multithreaded, meaning they would not take full advantage of many cores (in which case the iMac is faster). I'm not so sure about whether the iMovie is multithreaded though.