Image ISO to USB Flash

~pcwiz

10 posts in this topic

This sounds like a complete noob question but how do I image a bootable ISO onto a usb flash drive in OS X? I've already tried restoring the ISO to the usb drive using Disk Utility but I get an error something like "cannot validate source"

This sounds like a complete noob question but how do I image a bootable ISO onto a usb flash drive in OS X? I've already tried restoring the ISO to the usb drive using Disk Utility but I get an error something like "cannot validate source"

If you don't care about the extra space left over and the probability that you will need to repartition/format before using the key again then try as root.

dd if=/path/to/file.iso of=/dev/disk?

Replacing the disk? with the value you see from diskutil list for the key. Now whenever I write a disk image to floppy in Linux you need the disk to be unmounted as your working on a raw block device and the image is supposed to have the file system contained within it that is written to the disk so I imagine the same applies in OS X's version of dd. Also never done it with a USB key so if there is a special way that it needs to be partitioned that is out of the normal way of doing it then you'll need to know how recreate that before proceeding. It really should be as simple as a reverse process first namely before the .iso write.

dd if=/dev/disk? of=/path/to/saved/usb.img

Then after you are done your testing write the usb.img back to the key to restore the contents as it was before you started.

the problem is with the iso, fiddle with it, some ISOs will resotore, some won't. you can try using the "scan for restore" function, converting it to .dmg with hdiutil, and stuff like that.