[HowTo] From VMWare To Native!

616 posts in this topic

Hi all.

[intro] Okay, I've realised alot of people have had many troubles trying to boot the OSx86 DVD's, don't have DVD burners or blank DVD discs available. So, doing it through VMWare is an easy option to take. This quick guide/HowTo shows you the basic steps needed to create a Virtual Machine that can handle OS X, what needs to be selected, etc... You can then go ahead and install it to a physical HDD (partition or separate), and boot off it! :D

I wrote this because of the amount of problems people were having, and the fact that I wanted to give something back to the community that has helped me ever so much! I love you InsanelyMac / OSx86Project! :P [/intro]

From VMWare to Native Guide

Please note: I am no longer providing support for this guide (as of 2nd March '07). This guide should still work fine with the latest version of VMWare, however, due to simpler installer methods (booting from the DVD) I have decided to stop working on this guide. This is still very useful and informative for people who lack DVD-RW drives or discs.

Time to set up (once all required files are downloaded and installed): 15 Minutes. Time to install OSx86 through VMWare: 20 - 30 Minutes. Total: Approx. 45 Minutes.

===============================================

You will need:

Hardware Requirements (more will be added later):

• SSE2 capable processor. Use CPUz to find out.
  • At least 4GB of available space, on a separate partition or hard disk drive. Recommended: 10GB or more.
  • Recommended: At least 512MB of physical RAM.

Software Requirements:

Step 1

Open Daemon Tools. Right-click the D-Tools task icon in the System Tray, make a Virtual CD/DVD-ROM, and mount the ISO image (set number of devices to 1, then select the device, and mount the ISO on it):

daemon-tools-screenshot.png

Step 2

Load up VMWare Workstation. Create a new Virtual Machine:

File => New => Virtual Machine.

Options you must select: