Services to replace .Mac

ChocolateJeff

19 posts in this topic

Hi I'm fairly new to macs and OS X. I just got my new Macbook after a few months of using a Hackintosh ;)

I love my Macbook and I want to unleash its full potential and get the "mac" experience. I am sure most of you PC switchers can relate to my situation.

iChat.... EVERYBODY I know uses MSN Messenger... (no vid chat... webcam is not that useful anymore :P, still like taking pictures :D) If anybody wants to add me into their iChat mail me at chocolatejeff@gmail, I would love to use it because I think its an awesome messaging app except nobody uses it... (not that I know)

.Mac ... now I was very careful with this, I don't want to be wasting my money on stuff like this I guess.. I'm an engineer and I'm not sure I have to much time for "designing web" although I am also an artist and musician and would be happy to maintain a website.. ;) I know I can register for dot mac for free for like 60 days? or 30 days? I haven't used this feature since I started using my mac (6 months ago) though and I'm just curious if anybody here uses it and think its worth it...

Overall though, I love my mac and would love to use the ilife apps to capture my personal life and digitize it "Mac-style" to movies, songs, dvd and the internet :P I wonder if there are any free apps there to replace dot mac.. (backup, photo album, websites (how is the bandwich of .Mac like anyway?)) and if there is any vid possibilities for vid chatting with MSN contacts... (besides the "Windows" route ;) )..

MAC FOREVER.. p/s Vista can't never be as good as Leopard.. :P

Google for some of this info, it will help with the iChat to MSN thing.