Jump to content

ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 now WORKS CI/QE !


  • Please log in to reply
247 replies to this topic

#21
newentry79

newentry79

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Your're right but, have you ever tryied it?


yes, I tryied, but kernel panic... ;) If you look the IDs in info.plist of ATIX1000.kext, are similar to 0x71xx, like x2300.. But in info.plist of atix2000.kext are very different ( if I remember well, like 0x21xx ...)

But I'm a noob in osx86 world.. If someone want to try ...

#22
GTOnizuka

GTOnizuka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
No problem man, i suppose it's ok because i read that X2000 is used for HD series, not X series, so i think that we have to study better X1000, so we can provide a full working driver for this stupid device :(

#23
brzdidi

brzdidi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AUSTRALIA
Hi newentry79,

I saw another person got 1280x800 resolution. "For sure you are in the right way dealing with the ATIX1000.kext due compatibility between X1450 and the X2300".

I noticed that your X2300 shows VRAM (Total): 64MB while mine shows VRAM (Total): 128MB. Do you think because they are the same cards but they have different memory chip I'm and others are have problems to go to 1280x800?

Do you mind to post here all your files that are concern to this X2300 configuration/resolution?

Regards,

brzdidi

#24
jsl

jsl

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts

At me the image is transferred automatically to the external monitor as though does not see the internal LCD panel: (Can you know as to change a priority of displays. To the main things to put internal.

Did it enable CI/QE functions by hardware ?
Besides this new Natit.kext have you installed ATY.Lamna in your PlugIns of ATINDRV.kext ?
Could you check it for me ? Thanks.

I am using ATI Mobility HD2600 (512Mb) in Asus F8Sa laptop.

#25
GTOnizuka

GTOnizuka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
In effect, brzdidi is right. I suppose as the beginning when i made the kext that our chipsets were different. So i tryied running a little app that tell me anything about my graphic card(you can also try it if you're running windows), and with a little surprize i got that i hadn't had M64 chipset but M54, so similar to X1400, not X1450 as all tell.
So get it and post your results, as i'm going to be., to verify better this :thumbsup_anim:

DOWNLOAD IT

My results:
Posted Image

#26
brzdidi

brzdidi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AUSTRALIA
My Results:

And this is my results using everest:

[ ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 ]

Video Adapter Properties:
Device Description ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
Adapter String ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
BIOS String BK-ATI VER009.012.001.024.000000
Chip Type ATI Mobility Radeon X1450 (0x718A)
DAC Type Internal DAC(400MHz)
Installed Drivers ati2dvag (6.14.10.6648 - ATI Catalyst 6.11)
Memory Size 512 MB


B01 D00 F00: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (Asus) Video Adapter

Offset 00: 02 10 8A 71 07 00 10 00 00 00 00 03 08 00 00 00
Offset 10: 08 00 00 F0 01 B0 00 00 00 00 FF FE 00 00 00 00
Offset 20: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 43 10 49 14
Offset 30: 00 00 FC FE 50 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 10 01 00 00
Offset 40: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 43 10 49 14
Offset 50: 01 58 02 06 00 00 00 00 10 80 11 00 A0 0F 00 00
Offset 60: 10 08 00 00 01 0D 00 00 43 00 01 11 00 00 00 00
Offset 70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 80: 05 00 80 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset 90: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Offset F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

Attached Files



#27
brzdidi

brzdidi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AUSTRALIA
Hi All,

Here more information about X2300. Note that using Everest, it reports the GPU as M64:

[ PCI Express x16: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (Asus) ]

Graphics Processor Properties:
Video Adapter ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (Asus)
BIOS Version 009.012.001.024.000000
GPU Code Name M64
PCI Device 1002-718A / 1043-1449
Process Technology 80 nm
Bus Type PCI Express x16 @ x16
Memory Size 128 MB
GPU Clock 479 MHz (original: 480 MHz)
RAMDAC Clock 400 MHz
Pixel Pipelines 4
TMU Per Pipeline 1
Vertex Shaders 2 (v3.0)
Pixel Shaders 4 (v3.0)
DirectX Hardware Support DirectX v9.0c
Pixel Fillrate 1916 MPixel/s
Texel Fillrate 1916 MTexel/s

#28
GTOnizuka

GTOnizuka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
Yeah also mine tell that...ok then i'm going to focus my study in another direction...

PCI Express 1.0 x16: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (Asus)

Field Value
Graphics Processor Properties
Video Adapter ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (Asus)
BIOS Version 009.012.001.027.000000
BIOS Date 08/13/07,23:47:4
GPU Code Name M64
PCI Device 1002-718A / 1043-1449 (Rev 00)
Process Technology 80 nm
Bus Type PCI Express 1.0 x16 @ x16
Memory Size 128 MB
GPU Clock 479 MHz (original: 480 MHz)
RAMDAC Clock 400 MHz
Pixel Pipelines 4
TMU Per Pipeline 1
Vertex Shaders 2 (v3.0)
Pixel Shaders 4 (v3.0)
DirectX Hardware Support DirectX v9.0c
Pixel Fillrate 1916 MPixel/s
Texel Fillrate 1916 MTexel/s

But look carefully at this value:
PCI Device 1002-718A / 1043-1449 (Rev 00)

Our GPU has 2 dev-ids, anyone have to tell me ALL dev-ids present into X1000 and X2000 because i'm not with leo at the moment (or if he can post them both).
Thanks.

//EDIT: Note that if you go into "PCI/AGP Video" section, you'll get this information:
Device Description Device Type
ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (M64M) Video Adapter
ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (M64M) 3D Accelerator

that tell us that our chipset now is an M64M...

#29
sinnsyk

sinnsyk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
I've been screwing around some more with all possible drivers, and in the end i now don't know what was my original etc etc. I've opened and edited all kinds of kext's, and now the whole MacOSX doesn't do a thing anymore.. lol

Lucky me i didn't have files on that disk that were unreplaceble, so i'm installing a fresh iATKOS dvd again.


Here are my specs:

===================================================
GPU Caps Viewer v1.4.2
http://www.ozone3d.n...pu_caps_viewer/
===================================================


===================================[ System / CPU ]
- CPU Name: Intel® Core™2 CPU T5300 @ 1.73GHz
- CPU Core Speed: 1729 MHz
- CPU Num Cores: 2
- Family: 6 - Model: 15 - Stepping: 2
- Physical Memory Size: 2046 Mb
- Operating System: Windows Vista ver.6.0 build 6000 [No Service Pack]
- DirectX Version: 10.0


===================================[ Graphics Adapter / GPU ]
- OGL Renderer: GDI Generic
- Drivers Renderer: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- DB Renderer: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- Device Description:
- Adapter String:
- Vendor: Microsoft Corporation
- Vendor ID: 0x1002
- Device ID: 0x718A
- Drivers Version: Unknown version
- ATI Catalyst Version String:
- ATI Catalyst Release Version String:
- GPU Codename: M54
- GPU Unified Shader Processors: 0
- GPU Vertex Shader Processors: -1
- GPU Pixel Shader Processors: -1
- Video Memory Size: ***N.A.***
- BIOS String: ***N.A.***
- Current Display Mode: 1280x800 @ 60 Hz - 32 bpp


===================================[ OpenGL GPU Capabilities ]
- OpenGL Version: 1.1.0
- GLSL (OpenGL Shading Language) Version: Not Supported
- ARB Texture Units: 1
- Vertex Shader Texture Units: 0
- Pixel Shader Texture Units: 0
- Geometry Shader Texture Units: 0
- Max Texture Size: 1024x1024
- Max Anisotropic Filtering Value: X1.0
- Max Point Sprite Size: 0.0
- Max Dynamic Lights: 8
- Max Viewport Size: 16384x16384
- Max Vertex Uniform Components: 0
- Max Fragment Uniform Components: 0
- Max Varying Float: 0
- Max Vertex Bindable Uniforms: 0
- Max Fragment Bindable Uniforms: 0
- Max Geometry Bindable Uniforms: 0
- Frame Buffer Objects (FBO) Support:[no]
- Multiple Render Targets / Max draw buffers: 0
- Pixel Buffer Objects (PBO) Support:[no]
- S3TC Texture Compression Support:[no]
- ATI 3Dc Texture Compression Support:[no]
- Texture Rectangle Support:[no]
- Floating Point Textures Support:[no]
- OpenGL Extensions: 2 extensions
<li>GL_WIN_swap_hint
<li>GL_EXT_bgra


I think i need to update my vista drivers as well, there are too much empty fields i guess..

but i have the M54 GPU, in my ASUS A8Jr

#30
littleman

littleman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
This is my card info:

===================================================
GPU Caps Viewer v1.4.2
http://www.ozone3d.n...pu_caps_viewer/
===================================================


===================================[ System / CPU ]
- CPU Name: Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00GHz
- CPU Core Speed: 1995 MHz
- CPU Num Cores: 2
- Family: 6 - Model: 15 - Stepping: 13
- Physical Memory Size: 2045 Mb
- Operating System: Windows Vista ver.6.0 build 6001 [Service Pack 1]
- DirectX Version: 10.0


===================================[ Graphics Adapter / GPU ]
- OGL Renderer: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- Drivers Renderer: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- DB Renderer: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- Device Description: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- Adapter String: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
- Vendor ID: 0x1002
- Device ID: 0x718A
- Drivers Version: 8.372.0.0 - ATI Mobility Radeon X2300
- ATI Catalyst Version String:
- ATI Catalyst Release Version String: 8.372-070501a-047690C-Sony
- GPU Codename: M54
- GPU Unified Shader Processors: 0
- GPU Vertex Shader Processors: -1
- GPU Pixel Shader Processors: -1
- Video Memory Size: 64 Mb
- BIOS String: BK-ATI VER009.012.001.030.026268
- Current Display Mode: 1280x800 @ 60 Hz - 32 bpp


===================================[ OpenGL GPU Capabilities ]
- OpenGL Version: 2.0.6570 Release
- GLSL (OpenGL Shading Language) Version: 1.10
- ARB Texture Units: 8
- Vertex Shader Texture Units: 0
- Pixel Shader Texture Units: 16
- Geometry Shader Texture Units: 0
- Max Texture Size: 4096x4096
- Max Anisotropic Filtering Value: X16.0
- Max Point Sprite Size: 8192.0
- Max Dynamic Lights: 8
- Max Viewport Size: 4096x4096
- Max Vertex Uniform Components: 512
- Max Fragment Uniform Components: 512
- Max Varying Float: 44
- Max Vertex Bindable Uniforms: 0
- Max Fragment Bindable Uniforms: 0
- Max Geometry Bindable Uniforms: 0
- Frame Buffer Objects (FBO) Support:[yes]
- Multiple Render Targets / Max draw buffers: 4
- Pixel Buffer Objects (PBO) Support:[yes]
- S3TC Texture Compression Support:[yes]
- ATI 3Dc Texture Compression Support:[yes]
- Texture Rectangle Support:[yes]
- Floating Point Textures Support:[yes]
- MSAA: 2X
- MSAA: 4X
- MSAA: 6X
- OpenGL Extensions: 84 extensions
<li>GL_ARB_depth_texture
<li>GL_ARB_draw_buffers
<li>GL_ARB_fragment_program
<li>GL_ARB_fragment_shader
<li>GL_ARB_multisample
<li>GL_ARB_multitexture
<li>GL_ARB_occlusion_query
<li>GL_ARB_point_parameters
<li>GL_ARB_shader_objects
<li>GL_ARB_shading_language_100
<li>GL_ARB_shadow
<li>GL_ARB_shadow_ambient
<li>GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp
<li>GL_ARB_texture_compression
<li>GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
<li>GL_ARB_texture_env_add
<li>GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
<li>GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar
<li>GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
<li>GL_ARB_texture_float
<li>GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat
<li>GL_ARB_texture_rectangle
<li>GL_ARB_transpose_matrix
<li>GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object
<li>GL_ARB_vertex_program
<li>GL_ARB_vertex_shader
<li>GL_ARB_window_pos
<li>GL_ATI_draw_buffers
<li>GL_ATI_fragment_shader
<li>GL_ATI_separate_stencil
<li>GL_ATI_texture_compression_3dc
<li>GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3
<li>GL_ATI_texture_float
<li>GL_EXT_bgra
<li>GL_EXT_blend_color
<li>GL_EXT_blend_func_separate
<li>GL_EXT_blend_minmax
<li>GL_EXT_blend_subtract
<li>GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array
<li>GL_EXT_copy_texture
<li>GL_EXT_draw_range_elements
<li>GL_EXT_fog_coord
<li>GL_EXT_framebuffer_object
<li>GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays
<li>GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil
<li>GL_EXT_packed_pixels
<li>GL_EXT_point_parameters
<li>GL_EXT_rescale_normal
<li>GL_EXT_secondary_color
<li>GL_EXT_separate_specular_color
<li>GL_EXT_shadow_funcs
<li>GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
<li>GL_EXT_subtexture
<li>GL_EXT_texgen_reflection
<li>GL_EXT_texture3D
<li>GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc
<li>GL_EXT_texture_cube_map
<li>GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp
<li>GL_EXT_texture_env_add
<li>GL_EXT_texture_env_combine
<li>GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3
<li>GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
<li>GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias
<li>GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp
<li>GL_EXT_texture_object
<li>GL_EXT_texture_rectangle
<li>GL_EXT_vertex_array
<li>GL_KTX_buffer_region
<li>GL_NV_blend_square
<li>GL_NV_texgen_reflection
<li>GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap
<li>GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp
<li>GL_SGIS_texture_lod
<li>GL_WIN_swap_hint
<li>WGL_EXT_swap_control
<li>WGL_ARB_extensions_string
<li>WGL_ARB_pixel_format
<li>WGL_ATI_pixel_format_float
<li>WGL_ARB_multisample
<li>WGL_ARB_pbuffer
<li>WGL_ARB_render_texture
<li>WGL_ARB_make_current_read
<li>WGL_EXT_extensions_string
<li>WGL_ARB_buffer_region


===================================[ Related Graphics Drivers ]
- Latest Catalyst XP/Vista @ oZone3D.Net
- Guru3D Catalyst Downloads
- ATI Catalyst Tweak Guide


===================================[ Related Graphics Cards Reviews ]

#31
GTOnizuka

GTOnizuka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thx for the information, retry using Everest now :D

#32
newentry79

newentry79

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi all,

these are my data:

- Everest

[ PCI Express 1.0 x16: ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (Sony) ]

Graphics Processor Properties:
Video Adapter ATI Mobility Radeon X2300 (Sony)
BIOS Version 009.012.001.029.024619
BIOS Date 03/30/07,11:07:3
GPU Code Name M64
PCI Device 1002-718A / 104D-9015 (Rev 00)
Process Technology 80 nm
Bus Type PCI Express 1.0 x16 @ x16
Memory Size 64 MB
GPU Clock 479 MHz (original: 480 MHz)
RAMDAC Clock 400 MHz
Pixel Pipelines 4
TMU Per Pipeline 1
Vertex Shaders 2 (v3.0)
Pixel Shaders 4 (v3.0)
DirectX Hardware Support DirectX v9.0c
Pixel Fillrate 1916 MPixel/s


- GPU Caps Viewer

Attached File  gpu_caps_viewer.JPG   55.6KB   73 downloads


As said GTOnizuka, GPU Caps show M54 Gpu and 256 Mb Memory size while Everest show M64 Gpu and 64 Mb Memory size, like in Leopard ...

#33
pere

pere

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 726 posts
Hi to all!

Sony cr11s with x2300 here too, im enjoying so much the CI and QE, thanks, thanks, thanks.

About the 64 Vram, i have chequed on http://nvinject.free.fr/, they use a solution for that adding this line to the Nvidia kexts info.plist , but i have done too on ATIRadeonX1000.kext:

VRAM,totalsize 00000010 (You have to use PLIST EDITOR)

This line makes the VRAM appear as 256MB on Leopard, if you want more info about that, visit the downloads page of that website, they explain it better than me :rolleyes:
Tried to use switchresx to change resolution but no success.

Hope this helps...
If you need people for testing things, just tell me and i will help as much as i can.
I have attach a pic of my system profiler as proof of 256 Vram.

Attached Files



#34
sinnsyk

sinnsyk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Pere what's ur maximum resolution?

I installed iATKOS againa and checked some options with kernels and stuff just to experiment, but it didn't even load. So, before I give it yet another try (the 5th time), I want to be sure the x2300 is working with 1280 x 800 resolution... it didn't work for me even with the tutorials here and the .kext in this thread.. :)

where can i find some info about programming for mac? I used to program some stuff for windows and now i wanna try on mac..

#35
pere

pere

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 726 posts

Pere what's ur maximum resolution?

I installed iATKOS againa and checked some options with kernels and stuff just to experiment, but it didn't even load. So, before I give it yet another try (the 5th time), I want to be sure the x2300 is working with 1280 x 800 resolution... it didn't work for me even with the tutorials here and the .kext in this thread.. ;)

where can i find some info about programming for mac? I used to program some stuff for windows and now i wanna try on mac..


HI! :help:

My maximum (and only) resolution is 1280x800, i am trying games and they worked perfectly as other video programs.
Dont know where you can learn something about mac programming...

Can you post your steps installing? Maybe we can find why you cant get running your x2300.

#36
brzdidi

brzdidi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AUSTRALIA
Hi,

I have ATI X2300 and everything working (QE/CI) but only in 1024x768 resolution. I couldn't make 1280x800 working at all.

I noticed that I don't have ATIinject.kext in my Extensions folder.

Do you guys have this file? Should we have it to have this resolution working?

Tks

#37
GTOnizuka

GTOnizuka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
I think thay have it because it become a bridge between graphic card and the os(like directx) so we command it like we want...anyway i'm also waiting for a response.

#38
pere

pere

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 726 posts

I think thay have it because it become a bridge between graphic card and the os(like directx) so we command it like we want...anyway i'm also waiting for a response.


Is this the info you need?
Devices id included in this 2 kexts.
ATIRadeonx1000.kext
0x718A1002 0x72101002 0x71DE1002 0x71461002 0x71421002 0x71091002 0x71C51002 0x71C01002 0x72401002 0x72491002 0x72911002

ATIRadeon2000.kext
0x94001002 0x94011002 0x94021002 0x94031002 0x95811002 0x95831002 0x95881002 0x94c81002 0x94c91002 0x95001002 0x95011002 0x95051002 0x95071002 0x95041002 0x95061002

If you need more info from LEO or this is not the one you need, please tell me.

#39
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
who ever is saying that X1000 isn't the real drivers has smoked {censored}. X2300 is based on X1400 series so even on windows it uses X1000 drivers and not X2000.

Why do you have some artifacts and no resolution change ? Because framebuffer isn't loaded. Lots of them are in ATINDRV.kext/Contents/PluGins.

For instance ATY_Wormy is ATI X1600 framebuffer, ATY_Alopias is X1800 i think, ATY_Lamna is HD2600, ATY_Iago is HD2400, etc....

If no framebuffer is loaded, you won't be able to change the rez, that's all. Don't try to fix anything with X1000.kext cause there isn't anything to fix : the kext is working 100% fine and provides you QE/CI (OpenGL) and that's what it is for.

I'm not sure any of the ATY_ kexts are a good framebuffer for X2300 but you never know, it's worth trying (what does natit is recognize your card and run ATY_Lamna for example if you have a HD2600, etc.. so just edit natit & try)

#40
GTOnizuka

GTOnizuka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
@pere: thank you very much, they are precious info =) I'll try to extract something from there.

@cyclonefr: good info man, now that we have the road we're going to cross it :) but are you sure of that? i'm continously reading some users post that change ALL "aty_*" strings to "display" to get it working...maybe we also have to do that? Someone can try it?
Instructions for it: http://forum.insanel...mp;#entry114957 FOLLOW ONLY POINT 2, 4(not sure if needed, honestly i don't know what X1000GA kext do) 5 AND 6(remember to backup files you'll edit!!)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy