Jump to content

How to squeeze Leopard to a SL-DVD


  • Please log in to reply
176 replies to this topic

#121
Cubric

Cubric

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Kapok Ville, Brunei
ok. so i just lock the image through the Get Info window and lock right? ive now wasted 3. :)

#122
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
Cubric: Yes. Thats exactly what i did. worked for me!

#123
Cubric

Cubric

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Kapok Ville, Brunei
Success. Locked it through the Get Info option and burnt it through Disk Utility. Im running Leo as we speak. cheers man. Hope this helps the others in need. its a dream come true. *tears* heheheh.

#124
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
Cubric: Nice to hear!. Enjoy Leopard!

When you Locked it through the Get Info option and burnt it through Disk Utility, is it still in sparseimage or you converted it first to dmg and burn it with disk utility?

#125
Cubric

Cubric

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Kapok Ville, Brunei
it was still in sparseimage when i burnt it . does it make any difference when converting into .dmg in terms of installation speed?

#126
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
No difference at all. im just a little mixed up arranging my files coz im deleting some of it. i might erase the SL-DVD leopard, thats why i ask just to make sure.

Regards!

#127
Greasy Breakfast

Greasy Breakfast

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Locking the DMG did not help, this SL Leopard disc just goes by unnoticed during startup :D

#128
Cubric

Cubric

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Kapok Ville, Brunei
did you burnt it through Disk Utility? and it doesnt have to be a .DMG file. you could burn it as .sparseimage.

#129
Greasy Breakfast

Greasy Breakfast

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

did you burnt it through Disk Utility? and it doesnt have to be a .DMG file. you could burn it as .sparseimage.



I did, both as a .dmg and a .sparseimage

the powerbook refuses to recognize it as a startup disc, the macbook refuses to boot past the gray apple logo.

My ripped original is good because it successfully produced a patched hackintosh install. I guess I should just get some dual-layer DVD's.

#130
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
Greasy Breakfast: where did you get the image of the sl-dvd? is it compress with a ZIP?

#131
Greasy Breakfast

Greasy Breakfast

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
It's a Toast rip from a retail DVD.

I used carbon copy to strip out Xcode and printer and language packages.

I'm beginning to think my rip must be bad. Attempting to burn a DL disc in Toast gives and 'ILLEGAL REQUEST' error.

Irritating!

#132
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
Greasy Breakfast:

There is an option to check for the BOOT in CArbon Copy. Be sure to Check that one. it's important, or else your image won't boot when you burn it

#133
Greasy Breakfast

Greasy Breakfast

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Cant find that BOOT option anywhere in Carbon Copy.

#134
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
Greasy Breakfast:

In Carbon Copy, Click on the Preferences button. This will open the Preference window. You will see the "Make Bootable" box. Check it

#135
Greasy Breakfast

Greasy Breakfast

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
So version 2.3 has this preferences option, but you cant dig into the folders to remove specific packages....

I'm really confused how anyone has actually used this successfully yet. Unless I go back to my original theory that my initial DVD rip is bad.

#136
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
Greasy Breakfast:

Just make a new image of the sl-dvd. maybe your initial dvd is bad

#137
Robbiem

Robbiem

    Masta of the Rasta

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sebastopol, California
  • Interests:Mac, Xbox360, Leopard, OSX86, Modding
ok so, i have done all the steps, ive copied osx 10.5 to dump.sparse, and then i deleted all necessary files, and then i made burn.sparse, but when i try to "restore" dump to burn, my dump file still says its 7.1 gbs, and i know its not, but i get a error saying it cannot restore to burn becuase selected drive is full. so just for kicks and gigles, i made burn.sparse, a 8 gb dl img. and then hit restore and it worked.. but obvously if i can do that id just burn to a dl dvd lol. which isnt the case. i need to burn to a sl dvd, any help please?

-Robbie

#138
Cubric

Cubric

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Location:Kapok Ville, Brunei
you deleted the xTools in the option folder?

#139
Robbiem

Robbiem

    Masta of the Rasta

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sebastopol, California
  • Interests:Mac, Xbox360, Leopard, OSX86, Modding

you deleted the xTools in the option folder?



yes i did, i deleted all the language packs, and i deleted all the printer packs, then i went into the volume/dump/system or w/e and went into options and deleted xcode pack.

#140
Onixs

Onixs

    Since 2007

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Gender:Male
Robbiem:

Empty Trash





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy