Jump to content

Guide for Installing OS X on Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p

* * * * * 9 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1367 replies to this topic

#1
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

bd2b11fd2cdad10a.png

 

 

Overview:

  • This guide is intended to help Lenovo Y510p users to try OS X for educational purposes. You should buy Apple computer to be able to use Apple software legally in compliance with Apple's macOS EULA.
  • It is very possible to install any OS X version from Yosemite (10.10.x) up to the most recent version Sierra (10.12.x). However, I only evaluate the most recent version on my system so I won't be able to support old versions.
  • As some may have different partition layout or different hardware, it should be noted this is not a definite guide and you must adapt according to the situation you have
  • For every step there might be other ways to do it better (or worse). The experts here in this forum may not agree with some of the steps mentioned here. This is what I had to do to get it working for my liking but comments and suggestions are very welcome indeed.
  • This guide will always be incomplete (this is not a mac anyway) and I will refine it overtime time as needed
  • The work introduced here is gathered and collected from many sources. My contribution is the least of all and I will try to give credit where it belongs as much as I remember. For any work I forgot to give credit I apologize for not remembering the source.

Disclaimer:

Although no one ever reported broken Y510p because of this guide, I still hold no responsibility for broken systems. Proceed at your own risk,
read, read again, and ask before attempting something you are not OK with. Whoever is going to use part or all of this guide, please backup
everything you are going to tinker with first.​

What Works and What Does not
Simply put, almost everything works if the post-installation fixes are followed carefully. In summary:

What Works  :thumbsup_anim: 

  • Graphics with full acceleration QE/CI (using Intel GPU only) + HDMI Video
  • Audio using AppleHDA
  • HDMI Audio
  • Ethernet (LAN)
  • WiFi / Bluetooth (after replacing the Intel card (incompatible) with a compatible one like Broadcom BCM4352 for example
  • Sleep (also sleep on Lid Close)
  • Brightness
  • Battery
  • Keyboard / Touchpad
  • CPU Power Management
  • Web-Cam
  • All USB ports

Issues and What does not work  :thumbsdown_anim: 

  • Intel GPU / Restart issue: There is a problem related to graphics occurs when display goes off then on, like when system sleeps and wake or when changing display resolution for example, which results in no display on restart. These events requires re-initialization for the graphic driver but it seems the driver re-initialize incorrectly. As a result, the graphics related memory hold wrong data for some graphic registers which indirectly affects the restart functionality. Once the system is restarted in any of these scenarios, the POST (where Lenovo logo should appear) has no display and so is Clover and beyond if an OS is selected and booted using keyboard blindly. However, this is a graphic driver issue and has nothing to do with power or reboot function itself. Workarounds:

    • If you did not trigger the graphic-restart issue (no display off/on switch) then use Restart function as you wish.

    • If you triggered the graphic-restart issue then use Shutdown instead of Restart and Power on again. It is a good advice anyway not to hot-reboot between different OS's as some devices do not initialize properly.

    • If you triggered the graphic-restart issue and used Restart already and stuck in a black screen, calm down and do not panic. Just know you are on Clover bootloader and control it using keyboard:

      • If you were planning to boot OS X, blindly choose it using keyboard and hit Enter. Now press Ctrl+Shift+Eject to set the display to sleep then press any key and the display will return. [Eject key is mapped to Insert for VoodooPS2Controller.kext users]

      • If you were planning to boot Windows, blindly choose it using keyboard and hit Enter and wait until Windows boots completely. Now press Fn+F1 to set Windows to sleep, then press any key to wake up the machine and display will be back on.
  • VGA port: This will not work at all. A workaround when projecting to VGA display is to buy and use (male)HDMI-to-(female)VGA adapter. This adapter however have to be Active and NOT Passive to work.
  • Wake on LID open: Currently is not working but I believe this one can be fixed.
  • Nvidia GPU (built-in): This will have to be disabled as OS X does not support Optimus technology.
  • Nvidia GPU (external/ultrabay, for those who have it): This will have to be removed before using OS X. It was possible to boot with this GPU and the built-in Nvidia GPU without Intel GPU like it is possible in Windows / Linux. However, there are issues prevents configuring those Nvidia GPUs correctly. There is a work started in this thread to try booting OS X with this graphics configuration but the work is in very early stage and seem halt as well as the interest of the community is quiet low for this regard.
  • [Sierra 10.12 ONLY] Keyboard Issues: This is not specific to Y510p but a general Sierra problem. Apple introduced a lot of changes for keyboard in the latest update 10.12 resulted in the following problems:
    • Controlling volume and brightness using FN+Arrows is no longer functioning
    • Caps-Lock is unreliable. I'm using SmartTouchpad kext and I find Caps-Lock works now by double pressing the key. I.e. double pressing Caps-Lock turn it on and another double press turn it off. Not sure if VoodooPS2Controller work the same now.
    • Karabiner is not functioning anymore. The developer is aware and is currently developing the next generation of his software called Karabiner-Element.

1. Introduction

Spoiler

2. Preparing a Partition for OS X
Spoiler

3. Increasing EFI Partition Size
Spoiler

4. Preparing OS X USB Installer
Spoiler

5. Installing OS X
Spoiler

6. Post Installation
Once logged in, you will have a working system with full resolution 1920x1080 but with glitches and only 7MB (check Apple-Menu > About This Mac) which makes the experience awful. Also no Sound, no WiFi, no Brightness Control, no Battery Management, no Sleep, and more. Follow the steps below to fix most of the issues and have a better working system.
 
Many of these steps will require DSDT/SSDT patching to get things working and unfortunately it is wrong for one to use patched tables of another one so an easy way to patch tables was needed. Our forum member intruder16 came out with a brilliant tool to automatically patch the tables for us which made the installation process very easy for a lot of users.
 
As with everything, there will always be updates and new better ways to do things. Recently, there were some work initiated by the infamous Rehabman to revolutionize the DSDT/SSDT patching process in what is called SSDT-HACK. This method work by creating some patches through Clover's config.plist and using additional SSDT's to complement the native DSDT and SSDT's without touching them. This mean, using SSDT-HACK method allow us to share the same files without worry and no need to extract the native tables and patch them anymore. I have adapted this method and prepared the files to use which are already included in the CLOVER zip in the downloads section.
 
So here's a summarization of what to do to fix everything:

  •  
  • Have the CLOVER zip (attached in Downloads section) unzipped into EFI folder of your EFI partition. This will ensure you have the proper config.plist (including all kexts & acpi hot-patches among other important settings) in addition to the SSDT-HACK tables.
  • Install all recent versions of the following kexts (links in Downloads section) in /S/L/E using EasyKext Utility:
    07dc0618e55f283e.png
  • Get native Audio by fixing AppleHDA. Go to this page and follow the instructions. 
  • Done !

Note: The rest of this guide contain a lot of details about the post installation process for those who want to understand and learn. If you read on, you don't need to apply anything there as it will be already done and you may break things. Moreover, the some of the information given below might be outdated (newer patches are found or additional patches are needed). I was about to remove all that to keep the guide up-to-date but I thought to keep the whole thing FOR REFERENCE ONLY. 
 
6.1 Graphics

Spoiler

6.2 Audio
Spoiler

6.3 Ethernet (LAN)
Spoiler

6.4 Wi-Fi
Spoiler

6.5 Bluetooth
Spoiler

6.6 Proper CPU Power Management
Spoiler

6.7 Sleep
Spoiler

6.8 Brightness
Spoiler

6.9 Battery Management
Spoiler

6.10 Keyboard and Touchpad
Spoiler

6.11 Enabling SSD TRIM
Spoiler

6.12 USB 3.0
Spoiler

Links & Downloads
Spoiler

Need HELP??  :help: 
Spoiler

Credits
Sfairat, Mirone, intruder16, useletters, Rehabman, Mieze, vusun123, EMlyDinEsH, many more ....

Change Log
Spoiler


#2
soiggeli

soiggeli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Drawing,Game Design,Hiking & Whitling ^^

I was wondering am i using plist editor correctly when adding those patches ( http://www.macupdate...3/plistedit-pro )

 

EFI > Clover > config.plist  > Opened with plisteditor pro > KernelAndKextPatches > KextsToPatch > "Then i just made new child (Class String) and then i copy pasted to "value" this patch

<dict>
               <key>Comment</key>
               <string>QECI HD4600</string>
               <key>Find</key>
               <data>
               PYaAEgR0EOtd
               </data>
               <key>Name</key>
               <string>AppleIntelHD5000Graphics</string>
               <key>Replace</key>
               <data>
               PYaAFgR0EOtd
               </data>
</dict>

Edited by Allan, 18 May 2016 - 01:59 PM.
Code box added


#3
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Save yourself the hassle skip the top part of PlistEdit Pro, just edit the file code directly from the lower part:

 

Fqv_D8_YX.png

 

Make sure to put the code block in its place without breaking any tag.



#4
artas182x

artas182x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

I followed all steps in this guide, but i have strange problem. When i select OS X installer in Clover menu i get black screen. No verbose output (enabled of course), just black screen. Led on USB Flash isn't blinking, so it doesn't load anything.



#5
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

I followed all steps in this guide, but i have strange problem. When i select OS X installer in Clover menu i get black screen. No verbose output (enabled of course), just black screen. Led on USB Flash isn't blinking, so it doesn't load anything.

 

Post your config.plist



#6
artas182x

artas182x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Post your config.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>ACPI</key>
	<dict>
		<key>DSDT</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Debug</key>
			<false/>
			<key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Fixes</key>
			<dict>
				<key>AddDTGP_0001</key>
				<true/>
				<key>AddHDMI_8000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>AddPNLF_1000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>DeleteUnused_400000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_ACST_4000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_ADP1_800000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_RTC_20000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_S3D_2000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixAirport_4000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixDarwin_0002</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixFirewire_0800</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixHDA_8000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixHPET_0010</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixIPIC_0040</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixLAN_2000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixRegions_10000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixSBUS_0080</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixShutdown_0004</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixUSB_1000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>NewWay_80000000</key>
				<true/>
			</dict>
			<key>Name</key>
			<string>DSDT.aml</string>
			<key>ReuseFFFF</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>DropTables</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>DMAR</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>SSDT</string>
				<key>TableId</key>
				<string>CpuPm</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>SSDT</string>
				<key>TableId</key>
				<string>Cpu0Ist</string>
			</dict>
		</array>
		<key>HaltEnabler</key>
		<true/>
		<key>SSDT</key>
		<dict>
			<key>DropOem</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Generate</key>
			<dict>
				<key>CStates</key>
				<true/>
				<key>PStates</key>
				<true/>
			</dict>
		</dict>
	</dict>
	<key>Boot</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Arguments</key>
		<string>-v slide=0 dart=0 darkwake=0 kext-dev-mode=1</string>
		<key>DefaultLoader</key>
		<string>boot.efi</string>
		<key>Legacy</key>
		<string>PBR</string>
		<key>Log</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Secure</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Timeout</key>
		<integer>5</integer>
		<key>XMPDetection</key>
		<false/>
	</dict>
	<key>Devices</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Audio</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ResetHDA</key>
			<true/>
		</dict>
		<key>FakeID</key>
		<dict>
			<key>IntelGFX</key>
			<string>0x0</string>
		</dict>
		<key>USB</key>
		<dict>
			<key>AddClockID</key>
			<true/>
			<key>FixOwnership</key>
			<true/>
			<key>Inject</key>
			<true/>
		</dict>
	</dict>
	<key>GUI</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Mouse</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Enabled</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Mirror</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>Scan</key>
		<true/>
		<key>ScreenResolution</key>
		<string>1280x1024</string>
		<key>Theme</key>
		<string>bootcamp</string>
	</dict>
	<key>Graphics</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Inject</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ATI</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Intel</key>
			<true/>
			<key>NVidia</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>InjectEDID</key>
		<true/>
		<key>ig-platform-id</key>
		<string>0x0a260006</string>
	</dict>
	<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
	<dict>
		<key>AppleRTC</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
	<key>RtVariables</key>
	<dict>
		<key>MLB</key>
		<string>C02032109R5DC771H</string>
		<key>ROM</key>
		<string>UseMacAddr0</string>
	</dict>
	<key>SMBIOS</key>
	<dict>
		<key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
		<string>10/29/13</string>
		<key>BiosVendor</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>BiosVersion</key>
		<string>MBP111.88Z.0138.B03.1310291227</string>
		<key>Board-ID</key>
		<string>Mac-189A3D4F975D5FFC</string>
		<key>BoardManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>BoardType</key>
		<integer>10</integer>
		<key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
		<string>MacBook-Aluminum</string>
		<key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>ChassisType</key>
		<string>08</string>
		<key>Family</key>
		<string>MacBook Pro</string>
		<key>Manufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>Mobile</key>
		<true/>
		<key>ProductName</key>
		<string>MacBookPro11,1</string>
		<key>SerialNumber</key>
		<string>C02L34Q7FGYY</string>
		<key>Trust</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Version</key>
		<string>1.0</string>
	</dict>
	<key>SystemParameters</key>
	<dict>
		<key>InjectKexts</key>
		<string>Detect</string>
		<key>InjectSystemID</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

EDIT: Never mind. Now it boots on Nvidia card using this config:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Boot</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Arguments</key>
		<string>-v slide=0 dart=0 darkwake=0 kext-dev-mode=1 -x nv_disable=1</string>
	</dict>
	<key>Devices</key>
	<dict>
		<key>FakeID</key>
		<dict>
			<key>IntelGFX</key>
			<string>0x0</string>
		</dict>
	</dict>
	<key>GUI</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Mouse</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Enabled</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Mirror</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>ScreenResolution</key>
		<string>1920x1080</string>
		<key>Theme</key>
		<string>bootcamp</string>
	</dict>
	<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
	<dict>
		<key>AppleRTC</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
	<key>SMBIOS</key>
	<dict>
		<key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
		<string>10/29/13</string>
		<key>BiosVendor</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>BiosVersion</key>
		<string>MBP111.88Z.0138.B03.1310291227</string>
		<key>Board-ID</key>
		<string>Mac-189A3D4F975D5FFC</string>
		<key>BoardManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>BoardType</key>
		<integer>10</integer>
		<key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
		<string>MacBook-Aluminum</string>
		<key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>ChassisType</key>
		<string>08</string>
		<key>Family</key>
		<string>MacBook Pro</string>
		<key>Manufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>Mobile</key>
		<true/>
		<key>ProductName</key>
		<string>MacBookPro11,1</string>
		<key>SerialNumber</key>
		<string>C02L34Q7FGYY</string>
		<key>Trust</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Version</key>
		<string>1.0</string>
	</dict>
	<key>SystemParameters</key>
	<dict>
		<key>InjectKexts</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

Here are also some drivers for Nvidia cards. Nvidia has recently released aternate drivers, maybe it will work with 750m/755m SLI.

http://www.hackintos...yosemite-10100/

http://www.nvidia.co...spx/81212/en-us

 

Also for ASUS ROG notebooks (with 765m or 770m card) there is DSDT patch. These notebook has disabled Intel card. https://github.com/A...s/GFX0-765m.txt



#7
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

I would first try these:

  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>Fixes) with its <dict> ... </dict>
  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>DropTables) with its <array> ... </array>
  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>HaltEnabler) with its <true/> value

Also set CStates and PStates to <false/> for now.



#8
artas182x

artas182x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

I would first try these:

  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>Fixes) with its <dict> ... </dict>
  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>DropTables) with its <array> ... </array>
  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>HaltEnabler) with its <true/> value

Also set CStates and PStates to <false/> for now.

 

Clover adds its own stuff which breaks booting. Now i'm thinking of bringing up 750m/755m card on SLI configurations. Now system boots only with disabled Nvidia kexts. Now they released their own drivers for Mac (my previous post).



#9
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Clover adds its own stuff which breaks booting.

Which is not holly and can be customized to allow better boot. Actually, this is one of Clover's advantages. When I said try removing them, that's because you do not need them as I did not.

Now i'm thinking of bringing up 750m/755m card on SLI configurations. Now system boots only with disabled Nvidia kexts. Now they released their own drivers for Mac (my previous post).

I would not be so optimistic but I will look into these links. As the current status of our notebook, you should be able to boot wheather disabled discrete nvidia card in bios or not without messing with any kext. The extra card have to be removed until any proven progress is made for this regard.

#10
soiggeli

soiggeli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Drawing,Game Design,Hiking & Whitling ^^

I followed all steps in this guide, but i have strange problem. When i select OS X installer in Clover menu i get black screen. No verbose output (enabled of course), just black screen. Led on USB Flash isn't blinking, so it doesn't load anything.

I have the same problem!

 

I would first try these:

  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>Fixes) with its <dict> ... </dict>
  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>DropTables) with its <array> ... </array>
  • Remove the key (ACPI>DSDT>HaltEnabler) with its <true/> value

Also set CStates and PStates to <false/> for now.

I did not notice any difference even if I removed those things from .plist ( Sometimes i see apple logo and then computer restarts)

 

 

Btw here is my .plist

 

http://textuploader.com/65y1



#11
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

I have the same problem!

 

I did not notice any difference even if I removed those things from .plist ( Sometimes i see apple logo and then computer restarts)

 

 

Btw here is my .plist

 

http://textuploader.com/65y1

 

I see you are using a very recent build of Clover that I have not had much luck with. Try build 2999 (or around it) instead and give feedback here again.

 

Edit: your config.plist is really a mess. You are adding too many DSDT patches and injecting both Intel and ATI? Why would you inject ATI anyway? Also adding a patch for Nvidia in DSDT patches (which are too many by the way)? Where did you get this config from?



#12
soiggeli

soiggeli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Drawing,Game Design,Hiking & Whitling ^^

Well now i used Clover build 2999.

 

Now im getting

 

OsxAptioFixDrv starting ovverides for System/Library/Coreservices/boot.efi

Using relec  block: yes ,hiberate wake: no

Efi boot loaded from acpl(XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX something)

boot file path System/Library/Coreservices/boot.efi

.Using safe mode

*************************************

Root device ....................

****************************************

 

http://txt.do/6537

 

 

 

Im so confusef atm.. 



#13
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Well now i used Clover build 2999.

 

Now im getting

 

OsxAptioFixDrv starting ovverides for System/Library/Coreservices/boot.efi

Using relec  block: yes ,hiberate wake: no

Efi boot loaded from acpl(XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX something)

boot file path System/Library/Coreservices/boot.efi

.Using safe mode

*************************************

Root device ....................

****************************************

 

http://txt.do/6537

 

 

 

Im so confusef atm.. 

 

The config.plist looks fine to me. Would you list the items you have in EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI? 



#14
soiggeli

soiggeli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Drawing,Game Design,Hiking & Whitling ^^

The config.plist looks fine to me. Would you list the items you have in EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI? 

EmuVariableUefi-64 , FSInject-64 , HFSPlus-64 , OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 , OsxAptioFixDrv-64 , OsxFatBinaryDrv-64 , PartitionDxe-64



#15
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

EmuVariableUefi-64 , FSInject-64 , HFSPlus-64 , OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 , OsxAptioFixDrv-64 , OsxFatBinaryDrv-64 , PartitionDxe-64

 

Okay try the attached HFSPlus.efi instead of HFSPlus-64.efi you have, I think this is where your issue is. 

 

PS: though not related to the issue, you could safely remove OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 it is not needed.

Attached Files



#16
artas182x

artas182x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

I installed OS X succesfully using your guide. I found out how to enable AppleHDA. You need to apply these patches to DSDT: "Audio Layout 12" (change layout-id from 12 to 3) and "IRQ Fix". Then repleace AppleHDA.kext with this: http://www.mediafire...pleHDA.kext.zip. Using Kext Wizard repair permissions and rebuild cache.  If you have Voodoo kext remove it. This method is tested on Yosemite 10.10.1.

 

Something about Intel HD - I also applied GFX0 to IGPU patch to DSDT- my battery life is very good now. By the way there is graphic glitch on menu bar, but when i log off and log on again everything is OK.



#17
soiggeli

soiggeli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Drawing,Game Design,Hiking & Whitling ^^

Okay try the attached HFSPlus.efi instead of HFSPlus-64.efi you have, I think this is where your issue is. 

 

PS: though not related to the issue, you could safely remove OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 it is not needed.

Im still in same situation.. i deleted those files but did not work for me.  I tried many times to boot from my usb.. and 1time i got kernel error or something ?



#18
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

I installed OS X succesfully using your guide. I found out how to enable AppleHDA. You need to apply these patches to DSDT: "Audio Layout 12" (change layout-id from 12 to 3) and "IRQ Fix". Then repleace AppleHDA.kext with this: http://www.mediafire...pleHDA.kext.zip. Using Kext Wizard repair permissions and rebuild cache.  If you have Voodoo kext remove it. This method is tested on Yosemite 10.10.1.


I'm glad the guide helped. Regarding AppleHDA, I wanted to try getting it to work sometime ago but I had VoodooHDA working fine for my needs. It would be better of course to ditch VoodooHDA for a perfectly working AppleHDA and I'll try your suggestion.
 

Something about Intel HD - I also applied GFX0 to IGPU patch to DSDT- my battery life is very good now. By the way there is graphic glitch on menu bar, but when i log off and log on again everything is OK.

Yeah we have to use this patch and I didn't explicitly mention it assuming all would know about it. It's assumed being applied in Brightness fix section. There should not be any glitch if graphics are patched correctly. Have you changed the color profile? Have you applied 9mb patch for 0x0a260006? you can try other ig-platform-id as other Y510P users reported success with other values than 0x0a260006.

 

 

 

Im still in same situation.. i deleted those files but did not work for me.  I tried many times to boot from my usb.. and 1time i got kernel error or something ?


Zip your EFI folder from USB and attach it here.



#19
soiggeli

soiggeli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
  • Interests:Drawing,Game Design,Hiking & Whitling ^^

Zip your EFI folder from USB and attach it here.

 

Well here it is ... https://mega.co.nz/#...4TliHZIWelXFW4o



#20
ahmed_ais

ahmed_ais

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 782 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

 

I see many of the files within Clover folder and subfolders have modified date 5th December while all files in Clover v2999 have modified date as 5th November. I told you to install v2999 and you said you did but it seems the existing files belongs to a later version. I suspect you installed v2999 on top of the previous install which did not downgrade the files and now you have mixed install which might not work.

 

Backup your config.plist as I think it's fine and delete EFI/Clover folder from USB and reinstall Clover EFI v2999 so you have the correct files. Then, restore the backed-up config.plist and put HFSPlus.efi in place in addition to kexts. Regarding kexts, I see you have VoodooPS2Daemon in your kexts folder which is invalid. VoodooPS2Controller.kext only require that Daemon for the debug version which you do not need now, besides it's wrong location for that daemon anyway so remove it from the folder.







1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy