Jump to content

Anyone mobile Kepler 6xxM working?


  • Please log in to reply
230 replies to this topic

#21
TeoTheCool

TeoTheCool

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
The HD4000 doesn't seem to be present anywhere, lspci should know, right?
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1e20] (rev 04)
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation Device [10de:0e1b] (rev a1)
00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 [8086:1e3a] (rev 04)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet [1969:1083] (rev c0)
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor DRAM Controller [8086:0154] (rev 09)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation HM77 Express Chipset LPC Controller [8086:1e57] (rev 04)
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0032] (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor PCI Express Root Port [8086:0151] (rev 09)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:1e10] (rev c4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 [8086:1e12] (rev c4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 4 [8086:1e16] (rev c4)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 5 [8086:1e18] (rev c4)
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 7 Series Chipset Family 6-port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] [8086:1e03] (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller [8086:1e22] (rev 04)
00:14.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Host Controller [8086:1e31] (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 [8086:1e2d] (rev 04)
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 [8086:1e26] (rev 04)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation Device [10de:0fd4] (rev a1)


#22
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,734 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
There is not, but this is not the point.
I was referring to the fact that the Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge systems, using the onboard video, or rather his bus, as a channel for the discrete on laptop PC.

Micky

#23
kraml

kraml

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

@kraml
I saw your post and I tried installing Chameleon r2137 but I still have the same problem :( Your K2000M and my 660m seem pretty close in specs so I don't know what's wrong. Could you please give more information about your system, like what OS X version you have, what nvidia drivers you have, etc?

I have ML 10.8.2. I have installed the late 2012 mac update, which is for newer macs that comes with newer nvidia chip. You can get it here: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1603

I use the nvidia driver included in this update, which is slightly newer than the retail driver.

For other information you may already know in the other post of mine.

#24
TeoTheCool

TeoTheCool

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Thanks kraml, but it still doesn't work. I guess this ghost HD4000, even though not present, is still influencing my osx somehow... I'll just give up already because I don't think I have the knowledge to go on lol

#25
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

Thanks kraml, but it still doesn't work. I guess this ghost HD4000, even though not present, is still influencing my osx somehow... I'll just give up already because I don't think I have the knowledge to go on lol


Be patience, my G74SX with sandybridge does not implement the intel HD3000 just the discrete GTX560M, I dont see why ASUS do a different thing with your G55, you need a driver that in deed include your GPU, and like you already suppose that will be 10.8.3 drivers. You tried the 12D32 build drivers, there is a newer 12d38 build and remember is still at beta stage, the 10.8.3 drivers must support the gtx660M because the new iMacs will have it.

Try the new 12d38 build and update with the results.

Good Luck

#26
TeoTheCool

TeoTheCool

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Just tried it and nothing changed... I'm still hoping though, because as you said, your G74SX shouldn't be too different from my G55 so my 660M is gotta start working sometime, right? :P

#27
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City
Can you share an ioregistryexplorer save?
What system definitions have you tried?

#28
SRSR333

SRSR333

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Singapore
Hey guys. Sorry for the little off-topic discussion, but I need help and a little explanation of why my laptop with a GT 525M, an Nvidia Fermi card, works like it does. My laptop is a Samsung RF411, with Optimus. Obviously, I can only use the Intel HD 3000 in OS X. But when I reboot from Windows to OS X, OS X recognises the Nvidia GPU. Check the link for more info:

http://www.insanelym...p/#entry1871531

As a side note, I have removed NVDAResman.kext because I get a kernel panic if it is installed. Again, something to do with graphics?


#29
TeoTheCool

TeoTheCool

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Can you share an ioregistryexplorer save?
What system definitions have you tried?


Sorry for taking so long, here's my IOReg dump made with DarwinDumper. And I'm using a MacBookPro10,1 smbios.

Attached Files



#30
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,985 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hey guys. Sorry for the little off-topic discussion, but I need help and a little explanation of why my laptop with a GT 525M, an Nvidia Fermi card, works like it does. My laptop is a Samsung RF411, with Optimus. Obviously, I can only use the Intel HD 3000 in OS X. But when I reboot from Windows to OS X, OS X recognises the Nvidia GPU. Check the link for more info:

http://www.insanelym...p/#entry1871531

As a side note, I have removed NVDAResman.kext because I get a kernel panic if it is installed. Again, something to do with graphics?


DST injection can en-able this card however you still can not switch to it.

#31
sslevski

sslevski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
Guys, any progress on this? I also have GTX 660M and i am stuck...

#32
slayer2333

slayer2333

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
The iMac 27" is not out yet, so we will still wait for their officiel release (right now delayed by 4 weeks) to get our 660m GTX to work.

#33
sslevski

sslevski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
So we need to wait at least 1 month... Are they going to run with official nvidia drivers or we have to wait for a new 10.8.x release? I'am wondering should I install ML 10.8.2 or should I wait for now?

#34
Rampage Dev

Rampage Dev

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,985 posts
  • Gender:Male

The iMac 27" is not out yet, so we will still wait for their officiel release (right now delayed by 4 weeks) to get our 660m GTX to work.


Please do not post untruthful information. iMac 27" is out and has been out for some time. It is just back ordered. Also once again.. THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR GPUS! Unrelated completely.

So we need to wait at least 1 month... Are they going to run with official nvidia drivers or we have to wait for a new 10.8.x release? I'am wondering should I install ML 10.8.2 or should I wait for now?


Do not listen to users who post misleading information. Once again if you can not turn off HD4000/3000 off in the BIOS you are wasting your time. Also your GPU has worked for several months under Mac OS X.

#35
slayer2333

slayer2333

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male

Please do not post untruthful information. iMac 27" is out and has been out for some time. It is just back ordered. Also once again.. THIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR GPUS! Unrelated completely.



Do not listen to users who post misleading information. Once again if you can not turn off HD4000/3000 off in the BIOS you are wasting your time. Also your GPU has worked for several months under Mac OS X.


Dude you're a bit rude about these information that i gathered through other forums and coming from experienced ppl. Anyways, hope this problem will be solved soon...

#36
IDDPioneer

IDDPioneer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Hi guys I have a laptop with a i7-3740QM and an HM76 Chipset and a Geforce GT 650M - 2GB, almost everything working, full HD resolution, full color, board identification but no qe / ci.

If anyone manage to put this card working with hardware acceleration please tell us.

Thanks in advance.

#37
TeoTheCool

TeoTheCool

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
Oh IDDPionneer, you're just making us jealous haha :D Please do share your specs and your OSX setup!

#38
IDDPioneer

IDDPioneer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Ok TeoTheCool here are my files, smbios, boot.plist, dsdt, and ioreg http://www.sendspace.com/file/p3u7qo, BUT read in my previous post that I explain I dont have QE / CI yet.

#39
IDDPioneer

IDDPioneer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Hy guys I´m here again, just to post new information for us all to compare.

1. In my notebook the output of lspci is like the one from TeoTheCool, but my chipset is HM76 against HM77.

2. Looking in Windows I see these details: (I put these lines below because I think we can use to inject the correct info about our card.
OBS: All of it was copied under device properties in Windows 7 - 64 Bits and the Latest nvidia driver.

DEVICE NAME: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M

LOCAL PATH: PCIROOT(0)#PCI(0100)#PCI(0000)

NAME OF DISPOSITIVE OBJECT: \Device\NTPNP_PCI0012

IDS:

PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0FD1&REV_A1 <------> Here includes the Revision number
PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0FD1 <------> Here are the vendor id and device id
PCI\VEN_10DE&CC_030000
PCI\VEN_10DE&CC_0300 <------> This is the class, 300 is video card
PCI\VEN_10DE
PCI\CC_030000
PCI\CC_0300

PATH OF INSTANCE: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0FD1&SUBSYS_006614C0&REV_A1\4&BE46047&0&0008

DEVNODE STATUS:

0180200A <------> ?? This I don´t know yet what is maybe framebuffer ?
DN_DRIVER_LOADED
DN_STARTED
DN_DISABLEABLE
DN_NT_ENUMERATOR
DN_NT_DRIVER

BUS RELATIONSHIP: DISPLAY\LGD01E9\5&21e3fb5b&0&UID1048848 <----> This is the display, my LCD.


FATHER: PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0151&SUBSYS_006614C0&REV_09\3&11583659&0&08 <----> This is a MUST SEE!! This is the Intel HD 4000 that is disabled, is showed here like a bridge to the Geforce. I found almost the same information on the iMac13,1 ioreg, there you can see the IGPU disabled working exactly like this one. So this is not a trouble, If anyone doubt this info I can put the ioreg from iMac13,1 here

CHILD: DISPLAY\LGD01E9\5&21e3fb5b&0&UID1048848 <----> The display again.

BROTHERS: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0E1B&SUBSYS_006614C0&REV_A1\4&be46047&0&0108 <----> And this is the HDMI Audio Controller of the Geforce.

And these are the Properties of the Geforce from 1 to 17 and then it skips to 25:
Property - Value (The " - " separates one of another)
1 - 00000005
2 - 00000000
3 - 00000003
4 - 00000000
5 - 00000000
6 - 00000001
7 - 00000001
8 - 00000002
9 - 00000001
10 - 00000010
11 - 00000003
12 - 00000010
13 - 00000002
14 - 00000003
15 - 00000001
16 - 00020101 <------> Video output cfg ? framebuffer ?
17 - <false>
25 - <false>

CLASSIFICATION OF INSTALLED DRIVER: 00E00001

PROPERTY NAME: {f0e20f09-d97a-49a9-8046-bbb6e22e6bb2e}[2]
VALUE OF ABOVE PROPERTY:

00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 51 00 00 00 05 01 04 05
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 A0 F8 FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 <------> NVCAP ? Other thing ?
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 10 00 00 00
F8 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

DEFAULT CLASS SECURITY:

00 04 90 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 14 00 00 00
00 1C 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 14 00 00 00 00 10 01 01 00 00 <------> ?
00 00 05 12 00 00 00

SDS OF ABOVE CLASS SECURITY: D:P(A;;GA;;;SY) <------> Maybe the outputs ?

DEFAULT CLASS DEVICE TYPE: 00000023

DEFAULT CLASS CHARACTERISTICS: 00000100 <------> This looks like the output ID, maybe another thing....

If anyone know how we can use these values, they may be useful, because they were taken from a fully working system (Windows of course), come on guys help on that !

#40
slayer2333

slayer2333

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
http://www.insanelym...-wifi-any-help/
Someone managed to get his 660m GTX to work nativelly in ML 10.8.2 but he did not add anything particular, he doesn't even use a DSDT! {censored} we have the same hardware IDs but still its not working for us, i will try to show him how to extract his IOReg and maybe we can figure out from that.

Could it have something to do with the Nvidia Rom ? Mine (with Asus G75VW) shows Enable to Shadow VBios in bootlog.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy