Jump to content

AppleHDA patching in Mountain Lion

AppleHDA ML .xml.zlib

  • Please log in to reply
237 replies to this topic

#101
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 1,704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

@Micky, in my case, Lion AppleHDA is working fine in ML but it messes up the UseKernelCache=No load thus why i wanted to get the ML drivers patched.

HDAInject isn't working in my case, could be because of the DSDT or Clover is just force injecting the hda id instead of what i chose to inject.

You can post your working AppleHDA 10.7.4 version?

......for curiosity ...... :construction:

#102
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Here it is, inject layout id 665.

Attached Files



#103
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male

Here it is, inject layout id 665.

Hey, DoiX, care to try this one for ML? Has been put together by 04152viki over at applelife. Layout has to be set as 65.
I believe you also have an XPS L502x ?
Original post: AppleHDA from Mountain Lion

Also post number £495 from the linked thread describes how to get rid of most assertion errors for this codec...

#104
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@TimeWalker, tested it, does not work. For the moment only layout id 88 is working, hell if i know what gives. I saw in the thread something about no sound after sleep. But i'm not sure what it was said, google translate says "demons and tumours" :D

#105
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
DoiX,
Thats really odd, considering the hardware is the same.
The "no sound after sleep" issue is related to EAPD (External Amplifier Power Down) for some codecs, like my ALC269 and ALC665, used on Dells mostly.
For you laptop the amplifier is located at node 0x15 according to 04152viki.It doesn't get enabled after sleep therefore we loose audio ... so in a nutshell we have to send a verb command to the chip, to re-connect the EPAD pin and send a command to the codec to reenable the speakers (node 0x15 for you?) thereafter.

On boot we do it by adding an extra entry to a pinconfig of a speaker node 01470C02
02 - EAPD Status Update
70C - Extra Verb Base?
14 - Speaker Node (for you it would be 15 I guess)
0 - Codec Number

When power state changes however, this verb command is not executed, therefore we loose audio.

I dont see how layout number can affect your codec. In theory (and I had tested a couple of layouts already) you can use any layout number from resources.

#106
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Thanks, i did as you said. Guess what, it doesn't work. I swear this laptop has it's own personality.

Actually, i just realized something. My DSDT is modded to power off the nvidia card since it's not usable. At the beginning this caused some problems (sleep, usb compatibility) but i ironed out the bugs in the end or so i've thought. It's possible it still affects to some degree the system and ML is too sensitive to those changes.

Edited by DoiX, 13 August 2012 - 11:16 AM.


#107
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
I have tried to correct the applehda Mountain Lion for ALC887 codec but I have achieved I know I have to use a layout and vanilla pathmaps can only go 0-4? where I could be wrong? and q should be fixed in the binary from what I saw changed many things.

#108
AV81c14cc

AV81c14cc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
Can you tell me where i can get a kext that works with realteck alc662 mountain lion????

#109
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Can you tell me where i can get a kext that works with realteck alc662 mountain lion????

try http://www.osx86.net...sertion_...html

#110
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
TimeWalker75a could instruct me how I should fix the binary that works for me Applehda use ALC887 wonder what should I replace occurrences in binary and also what codec should I replace for my ALC887. thank you! :help:

#111
DirectXtraOrdinary

DirectXtraOrdinary

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria
I own an Acer Aspire 5920G, Ubuntu shows ALC1200. Even from Windows I see the same:

Posted Image

Now I got the PinConfig from Windows and applied them into my DSDT but the HDA does not get loaded but shows as device ID 12.
I tried the ICHx suggested method from here too, but no success. Seems like a bin patch is missing or something.
Any ideas?

Attached Files



#112
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

I own an Acer Aspire 5920G, Ubuntu shows ALC1200. Even from Windows I see the same:

Posted Image

Now I got the PinConfig from Windows and applied them into my DSDT but the HDA does not get loaded but shows as device ID 12.
I tried the ICHx suggested method from here too, but no success. Seems like a bin patch is missing or something.
Any ideas?

Please try this kext and tells me if it worked for you.
Change your Layout Id HDEF in your DSDT patch for 1200 there is an attached file.

Attached Files



#113
DirectXtraOrdinary

DirectXtraOrdinary

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria

Please try this kext and tells me if it worked for you.
Change your Layout Id HDEF in your DSDT patch for 1200 there is an attached file.


Thanks, after the DSDT mod I see ID 0 now, still no sound.

#114
Dojomann

Dojomann

    Mach popcorn

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Windsor, Ontario
i posted in another thread, but anyways.. does anyone have audio working with ad2000b in 10.8.1? I lost audio when I updated and haven't been able to get it back since. (my motherboard is an asus p6t deluxe v2)

#115
DirectXtraOrdinary

DirectXtraOrdinary

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria

i posted in another thread, but anyways.. does anyone have audio working with ad2000b in 10.8.1? I lost audio when I updated and haven't been able to get it back since. (my motherboard is an asus p6t deluxe v2)


Hi Dojomann,

the 10.8.1 update does not contain an AppleHDA.kext, so it should not be changed ; )
please post your DSDT.

#116
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Thanks, after the DSDT mod I see ID 0 now, still no sound.

Supramac hello, you must have done something wrong with the relationship you have dsdt was for 1200 and not 0 layout try again and tell me if something happens.
Note: This is a Lion Kext if everything is going well so modify it to Mountain Lion.... :)

#117
DirectXtraOrdinary

DirectXtraOrdinary

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mödling, Austria

Supramac hello, you must have done something wrong with the relationship you have dsdt was for 1200 and not 0 layout try again and tell me if something happens.
Note: This is a Lion Kext if everything is going well so modify it to Mountain Lion.... :)


Hi mirone23,

I replaced the section _DSM like described, now I don't know why it shows ID 0 and it looks like that:

			Device (HDEF)
			{
				Name (_ADR, 0x001B0000)
				OperationRegion (HDAR, PCI_Config, 0x4C, 0x10)
				Field (HDAR, WordAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
				{
					DCKA,   1,
					Offset (0x01),
					DCKM,   1,
						,   6,
					DCKS,   1,
					Offset (0x08),
						,   15,
					PMES,   1
				}
	   		 Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
				{
					0x0D,
					0x03
				})
				Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
				{
					Store (Package (0x0C)
						{
							"built-in",
							Buffer (One)
							{
								 0x00
							},
							"layout-id",
							Buffer (0x04)
							{
								 0xB0, 0x04, 0x00, 0x00
							},
							"PinConfigurations",
							Buffer (One)
	 					   {
								 0x00
							}
						}, Local0)
					DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
					Return (Local0)
				}
			}


but anyway I was very shure ID 12 = ALC1200 would be:

"layout-id",
							Buffer (0x04)
							{
								 0x0C, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
							},

Am I wrong?

#118
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Hi mirone23,

I replaced the section _DSM like described, now I don't know why it shows ID 0 and it looks like that:

			Device (HDEF)
			{
				Name (_ADR, 0x001B0000)
				OperationRegion (HDAR, PCI_Config, 0x4C, 0x10)
				Field (HDAR, WordAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
				{
					DCKA,   1,
					Offset (0x01),
					DCKM,   1,
						,   6,
					DCKS,   1,
					Offset (0x08),
						,   15,
					PMES,   1
				}
	   		 Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
				{
					0x0D,
					0x03
				})
				Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
				{
					Store (Package (0x0C)
						{
							"built-in",
							Buffer (One)
							{
								 0x00
							},
							"layout-id",
							Buffer (0x04)
							{
								 0xB0, 0x04, 0x00, 0x00
							},
							"PinConfigurations",
							Buffer (One)
	 					   {
								 0x00
							}
						}, Local0)
					DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
					Return (Local0)
				}
			}


but anyway I was very shure ID 12 = ALC1200 would be:

"layout-id",
							Buffer (0x04)
							{
								 0x0C, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
							},

Am I wrong?

Hi supramac, I'll review the values ​​and step later if you fix something.

#119
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Hi supramac this is the version of the Mountain Lion AppleHDA for ALC1200 codec test and see if it works for you.
Note: Change to 1 layoutId HDEF in the DSDT.

Attached Files



#120
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,428 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
kext that worked for you SupraMac?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: AppleHDA, ML, .xml.zlib


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy