Jump to content

ATI 4570 - QE/CI enabled | Full Res | Dell Studio 1555 | Lion 10.7.2 ! (Need some Help too)

ATI 4570 Dell Studio Studio 1555 Lion

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
xzeil

xzeil

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Hi all ! I have been able to activate QE/CI in my Dell Studio 1555. [ my laptop's screen resolution is 1366 x 768 ]

Attached File  Screen Shot 2011-12-02 at 3.27.49 AM.png   466.23KB   628 downloads

My Cinebench benchmark score:

CORES = 2
LOGICALCORES = 1
MHZ = 2194.000000
PROCESSOR = Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T6600
OPENGLVENDOR = ATI Technologies Inc.
OPENGLCARD = ATI Radeon HD 4570 OpenGL Engine
OPENGLVERSION = 2.1 ATI-7.12.9
CBTYPE = 64 BIT
OSVERSION = OS X 10.7.2
CBCPU1 = 0.333157
CBCPUX = 0.524710
CBOPENGL = 10.686460
CBOPENGLQUALITY = 99.283073
C4DINFO =
C4DVERSION = 11.529
C4DBUILDID = CB25720demo


If you want to implement, to understand further you need to go through this post thoroughly :weight_lift:
Here are my dumps and mods I have done :




$ sudo lspci -nnvd 0x1002: | grep -B2 Subsystem


01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc M92 [Mobility Radeon HD 4500 Series] [1002:9553] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Dell Unknown device [1028:02be]
--

01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc R700 Audio Device [Radeon HD 4000 Series] [1002:aa38]
Subsystem: Dell Unknown device [1028:02be]
---------------------------
raedon_bios_decode:


ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x02be
IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
Filename: BR32787.001
BIOS Bootup Message:
BR32787-001 M92 GDDR3 64bit 500e/800m									  
PCI ID: 1002:9553
Connector at index 0
Type [@offset 45712]: VGA (1)
Encoder [@offset 45716]: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (0x15)
i2cid [@offset 45774]: 0x95, OSX senseid: 0x6
Connector at index 1
Type [@offset 45722]: HDMI-A (11)
Encoder [@offset 45726]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
i2cid [@offset 45797]: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2
Connector at index 2
Type [@offset 45732]: LVDS (7)
Encoder [@offset 45736]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
i2cid [@offset 45824]: 0x90, OSX senseid: 0x1

----------------------------
raedon dump

Mapping DIG1 encoder to KLDSKP_UNIPHYE
Crtc[0]: found native mode from Monitor[LVDS Panel]:
Modeline "1366x768"  69  1366 1398 1430 1486  768 770 774 782
Connector "PANEL" uses Monitor "LVDS Panel":
RHDValidateScaledToMode
rhdModeValidateCrtc
DxModeValid: ATOM CRTC 1
rhdAtomOutputModeValid
Listing modesetting layout:
ATOM CRTC 1: tied to Atom PLL 1 and LUT A:
Outputs: AtomOutput UniphyE (PANEL)
ATOM CRTC 2: unused
Unused Outputs: AtomOutput DACA, AtomOutput UniphyB
------------------------

So,

CRTC0>DIG1>UNIPHYE>LVDS Encoder= 0x00 Transmitter = 0x12
CRTC1>DAC > DACA >VGA Encoder=0x10 Transmitter = 0x00
CRTC1>DIG2>UNIPHYB>HDMI Encoder= 0x01 Transmitter = 0x20

What I have concluded:


02000000 40000000 0901 0000 12 00 00 01  (LVDS)
10000000 10000000 0001 0000 00 10 01 06  (VGA)
00080000 00020000 0001 0000 20 01 02 02  (HDMI)


020000004000000009010000120000011000000010000000000100000010010600080000000200000001000020010202


Other mods:
1. DSDT:
[ First add Method DTGP ]

Device (M86)
				{
					Name (_ADR, Zero)
					Name (SWIT, One)
					Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
					{
						Store (Package (0x1E)
							{
								"@0,compatible",
								Buffer (0x0E)
								{
									"ATY,Shrike"
								},
								"@0,device_type",
								Buffer (0x08)
								{
									"display"
								},
								"@0,display-connect-flags",
								Buffer (0x04)
								{
									0x04, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
								},
								"@0,display-dual-link",
								Buffer (0x04)
								{
									0x02, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
								},
								"@0,VRAM,memsize",
								Buffer (0x04)
								{
									0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x20
								},
								"@0,display-type",
								Buffer (0x04)
								{
									"LCD"
								},
								"@0,name",
								Buffer (0x0E)
								{
									"ATY,Shrike"
								},
								"@1,compatible",
								Buffer (0x0E)
								{
									"ATY,Shrike"
								},
								"@1,device_type",
								Buffer (0x08)
								{
									"display"
								},
								"@1,VRAM,memsize",
								Buffer (0x08)
								{
									0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x20
								},
								"@1,name",
								Buffer (0x0E)
								{
									"ATY,Shrike"
								},
								"device_type",
								Buffer (0x14)
								{
									"ATY,ShrikeParent"
								},
								"hda-gfx",
								Buffer (0x0A)
								{
									"onboard-1"
								},
								"VRAM,totalsize",
								Buffer (0x04)
								{
									0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x20
								},
								"model",
								Buffer (0x23)
								{
									"ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570"
								}
							}, Local0)
						DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
						Return (Local0)
					}
2. chameleon's(trunk rev 1703) /i386/libsaio/ati.c

{ 0x9552, 0x3000174B, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,  "ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series", kNull  },

{ 0x9552, 0x30001787, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,  "ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series", kNull  },

{ 0x9552, 0x300017AF, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,  "ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series", kNull  },

{ 0x9553, 0x02BE1028, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,  "ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570",  kShrike  },  // added

{ 0x9581, 0x95811002, CHIP_FAMILY_RV630,  "ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series",  kNull  },

{ 0x9581, 0x3000148C, CHIP_FAMILY_RV630,  "ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series",  kNull  },

{ 0x9583, 0x3000148C, CHIP_FAMILY_RV630,  "ATI Radeon HD 3600 Series",  kNull  },



If you have any improvements/suggestion or got any mistakes above please share :)

problems:

***Black/dark gradients are very crapy in my screen - in wallpaper/pictures/videos I dont have a clue how to fix it. :wallbash:

Attached File  Screen Shot 2011-12-02 at 1.33.13 AM.png   571.05KB   610 downloads
can you see the distorted black in left side and also in lower part?

***When I open a game in fullscreen the screen gets stuck and I have to force reboot. :hammer:
***recently I have got a acer monitor [ 1366 x 768 ] but getting problem in using that one.whenever I try to extend using extend key(in my dell studio - F1 key) the display breaks and if I try in system preferences-> display It shows my laptop screen as both display 1 & 2 ! I don't know what to do.Cannot use VGA port.

***Are there any mod needed for openGL in 4570 because to make my QE/CI work I havn't edited any kext except ATI4600Controller.kext . I dont know if it supports all the openGL functions a 4570 should support . How to know if openGL has been supported fully and properly?

#2
ytrox

ytrox

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
I guess you can't do nothing. Just change monitor settings under system preferences.

#3
xzeil

xzeil

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Are there any errors in my mods ?

#4
ytrox

ytrox

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
I don't think so but the color space do not depends by your connector info i guess

#5
Pr8ik

Pr8ik

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Will you plz upload the patched kext , I am also on the same machine & same OS x 10.7 ....searched a hell for qe & ci ....here you are with hopes...😊😊

#6
xzeil

xzeil

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Will you plz upload the patched kext , I am also on the same machine & same OS x 10.7 ....searched a hell for qe & ci ....here you are with hopes...

Sure! Use Kext Helper or ##### to install or

Mannualy copy the ATI4600Controller.kext to /System/Library/Extensions.
Open Terminal and write

sudo chmod -R 755 /System/LibraryExtensions/ATI4600Controller.kext
give_your_admin_password
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions/ATI4600Controller.kext
sudo rm -R /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache
sudo rm -R /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
Reboot

Attached Files



#7
Pr8ik

Pr8ik

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi xzeil, thanks a lot for the kext, I installed it, repaired permissions but there is some problem (see image below) may be because of:

1.I have lion 10.7 dp4(11A480e)..and i am using chameleon boot loader ,
2. I don't have: a. com.boot.plist(still my pc boots with -v ncpi=0x2000 boot flags)
b. smbios.plist
c. patched dstd
e. ATI framebuffer.kext
f. ATY init.kext

I know i am very close to it thanks to you but i think something's missing , would you plz take a look at it.

Attached Files



#8
xzeil

xzeil

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Hi xzeil, thanks a lot for the kext, I installed it, repaired permissions but there is some problem (see image below) may be because of:

1.I have lion 10.7 dp4(11A480e)..and i am using chameleon boot loader ,
2. I don't have: a. com.boot.plist(still my pc boots with -v ncpi=0x2000 boot flags)
b. smbios.plist
c. patched dstd
e. ATI framebuffer.kext
f. ATY init.kext

I know i am very close to it thanks to you but i think something's missing , would you plz take a look at it.

For QE/CI in 1555 you have to use ATIframeBuffer- no need to edit it. Use GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Shrike boot flags while booting. You should patch dsdt.mod is given in 1st post. Edit it according to your GPU name and size.

#9
Pr8ik

Pr8ik

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi Xzeil, I did whatever you told me to do including:

1: Installed your patched kext along with the original ATIFramebuffer.kext from the lion dmg file.
2:Then I used boot flags GraphicsEnabler=Yes & AtiConfig=Shrike (I have included my com.boot.plist in the attached file.
3.Ya & I modified my DSDT with the help of DSDTSE utility, in that i needed to use Method DTGP(to eliminate all the errors) along with your mods as per the 1st step of this guide. I directly copy pasted your DSDT.mod in mine in the right place :angel_not: :angel_not: as my machine is also same as yours studio 1555 512MB ATI radeon HD 4570.
4. Then i was getting error in early boot screens as "ATI card posted ...this is not recoverable error", so i installed chameleon 2.0 rc5 r 780 trunk( given in zip file :wink2: :wink2: )
5. This new chameleon fixed my last error, and then while booting i got the same error ( one which i had posted yesterday.... the image ). It said ATI4600Controller.kext not loaded & then last but not least my display screen showed grey black patches in between the white color & I couldn't get to my desktop.
6. then again when i rebooted with GraphicsEnabler=No & checked system info.....voila i saw my graphics card was detected as ATI Radeon mobility HD 4570 512MB ....but no qe ci.


I don't know exactly what problem is... but 4600controller kext is not getting loaded. And still unsure about the DSDT.mod plz plz check it.

I was wondering if your & mine machine is same so if i used your dsdt.aml as it is....will that be ok? :thumbsup_anim:


& sorry for this all trouble.

Attached Files



#10
xzeil

xzeil

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Hi Xzeil, I did whatever you told me to do including:

1: Installed your patched kext along with the original ATIFramebuffer.kext from the lion dmg file.
2:Then I used boot flags GraphicsEnabler=Yes & AtiConfig=Shrike (I have included my com.boot.plist in the attached file.
3.Ya & I modified my DSDT with the help of DSDTSE utility, in that i needed to use Method DTGP(to eliminate all the errors) along with your mods as per the 1st step of this guide. I directly copy pasted your DSDT.mod in mine in the right place :angel_not: :angel_not: as my machine is also same as yours studio 1555 512MB ATI radeon HD 4570.
4. Then i was getting error in early boot screens as "ATI card posted ...this is not recoverable error", so i installed chameleon 2.0 rc5 r 780 trunk( given in zip file :wink2: :wink2: )
5. This new chameleon fixed my last error, and then while booting i got the same error ( one which i had posted yesterday.... the image ). It said ATI4600Controller.kext not loaded & then last but not least my display screen showed grey black patches in between the white color & I couldn't get to my desktop.
6. then again when i rebooted with GraphicsEnabler=No & checked system info.....voila i saw my graphics card was detected as ATI Radeon mobility HD 4570 512MB ....but no qe ci.


I don't know exactly what problem is... but 4600controller kext is not getting loaded. And still unsure about the DSDT.mod plz plz check it.

I was wondering if your & mine machine is same so if i used your dsdt.aml as it is....will that be ok? :thumbsup_anim:


& sorry for this all trouble.

No problem!
I think 4600Controller giving problem because its from 10.7.2[ 11C74 ] and yours is GM4 .. but not sure
I am giving my modded chameleon build(i386 folder) try to install this one..use org.chameleon.Boot.plist instead of com.boot.plist .. delete all unnecessary additions
Yeah sure! giving my dsdt I thinnk both our laptops are same. but still check It might be incompatible to your system,(My system is in my signature)

Attached Files



#11
Muhammad Adnan Asim

Muhammad Adnan Asim

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
I have Dell studio 1555 too and running 10.6.7 successfully. Except wifi everything working. I also like to try 10.7.2. May I ask what devices are your working and what are not? I mean Ethernet, audio, wifi, trackpad etc.

May I also request you to plz upload your EXTRA folder and other S/L/E kext too.

I will apreciate your help.

#12
restafora

restafora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
hi i'm working on a iaktos l2 (lion 10.7.2) for my asus laptop f6ve.
i have the same graphic card ATI Mobility RADEON HD 4570 whit GPU: M92 and 512mb of memory
i want to make qe/ci working...can you please help me to make that easier? i installed your patched kext but then?
i'm sorry but i'm a noob in mac world...:) any help i very appreciated...

#13
restafora

restafora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
ok....2 days later:
i added the 2 kext whit the help of kext utility...i modified the dsdt whit dsdtse adding the code in the first post...
then my BIG problem is how can i modify my chameleon /i386/libsaio/ati.c adding this string
{ 0x9553, 0x02BE1028, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710, "ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570", kShrike }, // added
???
anyone know how to do that? i just need this little help to make that graphic card working...

#14
McLGF

McLGF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York

then my BIG problem is how can i modify my chameleon /i386/libsaio/ati.c adding this string
{ 0x9553, 0x02BE1028, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710, "ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570", kShrike }, // added
???
anyone know how to do that? i just need this little help to make that graphic card working...


- Download and install XCode (3.2.x or 4.2.x depending on which OSX version you're running).

- Pull down Chameleon source code as follows:

- Fire up a Terminal window

- Type mkdir chamsrc (or whatever name you prefer to name it)

- Type cd chamsrc

- Type svn co http://forge.voodoop...g/svn/chameleon - this will pull the latest from trunk. If you have a specific version in mind, simply add the version number between co and http

. i.e. svn co 1700 http://forge...etc.

- Type cd chameleon/trunk/i386/libsaio

- Edit ati.c with your editor of choice (you could use XCode's).

- Search for string "9553" and you should come up with a section where 9553's are grouped together (I believe latest trunk has two or three definitions).

- If your line does not exist already, add it and save the file.

- Type cd .. twice and then pwd to make sure you are inside the "trunk" directory (Look at your prompt line, it will show which directory you are in).

- Type make clean to prep working folders using during compile.

- Type make to start compiling the bootloader, and wait until it's finished.


The next steps assume your current configuration has the loader installed in the MBR and the boot file in your OSX installation's root. If you have a different configuration (i.e. dedicated EFI partition), these steps will not work and you will have to refer to other guides you can find on the Internet (Google is your friend...). Also, if you don't want to type "sudo" every time, just type sudo -s once. This will have you rooted. Personally, I root on a "once and only if needed" basis.

- Type diskutil list and take note of the identifier assigned to your OSX installation partition (normally it is disk0s2 and that is what I used for these instructions. If yours is different you must make sure you replace when typing the commands below).

- Type cd sym/i386 and do a ls. You should have a bunch of boot files with different names, a "modules" folder, etc.

- Type sudo ./fdisk440 -f boot0 -u -y /dev/rdiskX << careful here, the X in rdiskX must be replaced to match the X in the diskXsZ part you noted from diskutil.

- Type sudo dd if=boot1h of=/dev/rdiskXsZ << again, X and Z from your diskXsZ you noted from diskutil. Normally you would type rdisk0s2 here...

You can make a copy of your current boot file, just in case. If you don't want to you can skip the next command.

- Type sudo cp /boot /boot.old

- Type sudo cp boot /

- Type sudo ./fdisk440 -e /dev/diskX << Need I say what N should be, again?

- Ignore any messages about the MBR and standalone folders...

- Type f 2

- Type write and again ignore any messages about exclusive access. If asked to reboot to complete changes then answer y.

- Type exit to return to your bash prompt.

- You may optionally copy the entire "modules" folder in /Extra. I don't use it (yet).

- Make sure you have your GraphicsEnabler=Y setting in your boot.plist file and reboot OSX.

- If you don't KP and the system comes back up, there's a chance or two you may have QE/CI.


I hope you do, and I hope this helps.



#15
restafora

restafora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

- Download and install XCode (3.2.x or 4.2.x depending on which OSX version you're running).

- Pull down Chameleon source code as follows
....


Thank you very much!! i'm going to try this as soon as possible...anyway is that way working on your graphic card to enable qe/ci??

#16
JamerTheProgrammer

JamerTheProgrammer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In the zone
  • Interests:Programming, mucking about with Linux and making Hackintoshes!
Does not work on the Sony Vaio NW11S sadly D:.

#17
McLGF

McLGF

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York

Thank you very much!! i'm going to try this as soon as possible...anyway is that way working on your graphic card to enable qe/ci??


No. I've been at it for almost four months now, and just a few nights ago I made some progress by achieving QE/CI on partially working outputs (actually HDMI and VGA are working properly, just LVDS is not).

#18
fabmercury

fabmercury

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello, my name is fabrizio, I have a sony vaio vgn-nw21ef, I followed the guide to enable qe/ci on ati hd 4570, but still have the resolution 1024x768 please help me...





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ATI, 4570, Dell Studio, Studio 1555, Lion


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy