Jump to content

VoodooHDA - common problems


  • Please log in to reply
125 replies to this topic

#21
jazzyguy

jazzyguy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
Can you help me to enable HDMI audio with my graphics card? I have my speakers working fine, but I can't figure out my audio. This is my codec dump, which I think is what is needed.

#22
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Looks like a Linux codec dump, post a getDump (VoodooHDA).

#23
jazzyguy

jazzyguy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
Alright, here you go.

#24
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
This is IDT codec dump. To use HDMI audio set the device and vendor ID in Info.plist, create one entry for each card in IOKitPersonalities.

See trick from official topic

4. If you have two sound cards, for example other one is HDMI output on Video card then made info.plist

			<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x284b8086</string> -- place here deviceID of your sound card (Chipset HDA device, not a codecID!)
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>IOUserClientClass</key>
<string>VoodooHDAUserClient</string>
<key>NodesToPatch</key>
<array/>
<key>VoodooHDAVerboseLevel</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
<key>HDMI</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>
<key>IOMatchCategory</key>
<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0x033f1002</string> -- place here deviceID of your HDMI device on video card
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>IOUserClientClass</key>
<string>VoodooHDAUserClient</string>
<key>NodesToPatch</key>
<array/>
<key>VoodooHDAVerboseLevel</key>
<integer>1</integer>
</dict>
</dict>
_linenums:0'><key>IOKitPersonalities</key> <dict> <key>SoundCard</key> <dict> <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key> <string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string> <key>IOClass</key> <string>VoodooHDADevice</string> <key>IOMatchCategory</key> <string>VoodooHDADevice</string><strong class='bbc'> <key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key> <string>0x284b8086</string> -- place here deviceID of your sound card (Chipset HDA device, not a codecID!)</strong> <key>IOProviderClass</key> <string>IOPCIDevice</string> <key>IOUserClientClass</key> <string>VoodooHDAUserClient</string> <key>NodesToPatch</key> <array/> <key>VoodooHDAVerboseLevel</key> <integer>1</integer> </dict> <key>HDMI</key> <dict> <key>CFBundleIdentifier</key> <string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string> <key>IOClass</key> <string>VoodooHDADevice</string> <key>IOMatchCategory</key> <string>VoodooHDADevice</string><strong class='bbc'> <key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key> <string>0x033f1002</string> -- place here deviceID of your HDMI device on video card</strong> <key>IOProviderClass</key> <string>IOPCIDevice</string> <key>IOUserClientClass</key> <string>VoodooHDAUserClient</string> <key>NodesToPatch</key> <array/> <key>VoodooHDAVerboseLevel</key> <integer>1</integer> </dict> </dict>



#25
jazzyguy

jazzyguy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
Right, but I believe they both come from the same device 8086 1c20. So what do I do?

#26
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Are you sure? If that's the case, I have no idea what you can do.

The Linux dump says "Vendor Id: 0x80862805". Check with this app
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=219584

#27
jazzyguy

jazzyguy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
Well shoot. It is one. So I can't do anything for it?

#28
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
No idea, sorry. It's the first case I see.

#29
Sanky18

Sanky18

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi there,
My linux dump says that the audio codec is conexant CX20585 and the system info app tells me that i have Intel high definition audio (0x3b568086). Also get dump tells me that i have nvidia audio codec (0x0be310de) . I edited my dsdt and inserted the pin configurations for conexant in it and in system profiler it shows intel high definition audio with audio id : 20585. So what should i do?? Also can somebody please edit the nodes info? Would be really helpful. Thanks in advance. I have attached my linux codec dump.

Attached Files



#30
tepaks

tepaks

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Sinclair ZX Spectrum 48 +
    x86/x64 PC
    x86/x64 iHack
Hi everyone,

Using VoodooHDA 2.7.2 and this guide I got my onboard AD1988b working almost perfect. All outputs work, even headphone jack switch works but there are two issues.
First MIDI setup resets after reboot/wake to 192 kHz/24bit This is really annoying because my amp cannot play beyond 96kHz/24bit so i have to reset it each and every time.
Second problem is with volume level after wake, it doesn't remember volume setting and wakes with loud plop at near maximum.

Does anyone know how to fix this or at least can point me in right direction?

#31
Sanky18

Sanky18

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
hello,
I managed to get 2.7.3 working on 10.7.2. There are no KP's :). I have the conexant CX20585. Speakers, Headphones and mic are working. But can't get the external mic to work (mic jack). Was hoping for some help. I tried to read about the nodes to patch guide but didn't understand much. Any help would be really appreciated. I have attached my get dump output. Thanks in advance. :D

Attached Files



#32
Mr Props

Mr Props

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Hello friends,

is there a way to save "Use SSE2" anywhere? Always when i reboot, its not checked anymore and i have to do it manually ... would be cool if anyone can tell me how!

Thank you!

#33
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,i have a kernel panic whit this kext.
I try with a delete applehda with no result.
After i overwrite in the contest.plist with this
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0269x10ec</string>
But when i rebuild cache i have an error message about voodoohda.kext.
What i wrong?
PS My graphic card is not recognise,i work with an integrated intel hd 3000

#34
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

hello,
I managed to get 2.7.3 working on 10.7.2. There are no KP's :). I have the conexant CX20585. Speakers, Headphones and mic are working. But can't get the external mic to work (mic jack). Was hoping for some help. I tried to read about the nodes to patch guide but didn't understand much. Any help would be really appreciated. I have attached my get dump output. Thanks in advance. :D

All your nodes have the same default association (f), you have to fix that in NodesToPatch.

Hello friends,

is there a way to save "Use SSE2" anywhere? Always when i reboot, its not checked anymore and i have to do it manually ... would be cool if anyone can tell me how!

Thank you!

Enable the Vectorize key in Info.plist instead.

Hi,i have a kernel panic whit this kext.
I try with a delete applehda with no result.
After i overwrite in the contest.plist with this
<key>IOPCIPrimaryMatch</key>
<string>0269x10ec</string>
But when i rebuild cache i have an error message about voodoohda.kext.
What i wrong?
PS My graphic card is not recognise,i work with an integrated intel hd 3000

Repair kext permissions before rebuilding cache.

#35
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
I's sorry,i wrote wrong,the error show in repair kext permission

#36
restafora

restafora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
hi, i'm working on a alc662 on a asus laptop. whit voodoo 2.7.2 everything work good but i have a problem:every sound entering on the mic it's repeated on the speakers of the laptop...very boring all the noises produced by my hand touching near to the mic.
how can i prevent this? in the voodoo pref pan i can see only the hdmi sound from the ati card...
i wanted to edit the IOPCIPrimaryMatch key but i think that my ven id & my dev id is wrong because in the System info app it show me only an HD audio controller from intel (devid:293e venid:8086) and if i try to put 0x293e8086 after reboot my sound card isn't working anymore.
any help please?
(sorry for my english...i'm from italy)

#37
teeodor

teeodor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
Whit voodoohda 2.7.3 the card woork good but i have kernel panic on boot.
Windows see 2 sound card,one realteak and one intel.
After that i have modified info.plist with 0x026910ec but the system recognize not my card.
I try also with 0x28058086
When i put the modified kext in sle i have an error messagge,but after run kext utility the error don't show it anymore.

#38
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
You also have to replace IOPCIClassMatch by IOPCIPrimaryMatch.

#39
restafora

restafora

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

You also have to replace IOPCIClassMatch by IOPCIPrimaryMatch.


thank you very mooch for your help...but it doesn't work anyway...can the code of my sound card be wrong? because i guess that my sound card have to be a realtek...but the only code i can find whit system info is a intel code...meaby System info can't see the right code...anyway this is my info.plist inside voodoo kext...can you check it please?


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>VoodooHDA</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundleName</key>
<string>VoodooHDA</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>KEXT</string>
<key>CFBundleShortVersionString</key>
<string>2.7.2</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>2.7.2</string>
<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>VoodooHDA</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>org.voodoo.driver.VoodooHDA</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>
<key>IOMatchCategory</key>
<string>VoodooHDADevice</string>
<key>IOPCIClassMatch</key>
<string>0x293e8086</string>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>IOUserClientClass</key>
<string>VoodooHDAUserClient</string>
<key>InhibitCache</key>
<true/>
<key>MixerValues</key>
<dict>
<key>iGain</key>
<string>90</string>
<key>iMix</key>
<string>0</string>
</dict>
<key>NodesToPatch</key>
<array>
</array>
<key>Noise</key>
<integer>2</integer>
<key>Vectorize</key>
<false/>
<key>VoodooHDAEnableHalfVolumeFix</key>
<false/>
<key>VoodooHDAEnableVolumeChangeFix</key>
<false/>
<key>VoodooHDAVerboseLevel</key>
<integer>0</integer>
</dict>
</dict>
<key>OSBundleLibraries</key>
<dict>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOAudioFamily</key>
<string>1.1fc9</string>
<key>com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily</key>
<string>2.1</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.iokit</key>
<string>9.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.libkern</key>
<string>9.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.mach</key>
<string>9.0.0</string>
<key>com.apple.kpi.unsupported</key>
<string>9.0.0</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

#40
oldnapalm

oldnapalm

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 6,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

<key>IOPCIClassMatch</key>
<string>0x293e8086</string>

It must be IOPCIPrimaryMatch.

ID from System Info (Intel) is PCI ID. Codec ID (Realtek) is another thing.

Run sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions to update caches after editing the plist.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy