Jump to content

[Guide] Dell XPS 15 L502X (Early 2011) Snow Leopard Install (possibly L702x too)

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2976 replies to this topic

#1821
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@ahmed, there's a draft one posted around here, it's by batisk8 i think... i'll write one in the original tutorial post when i have time, this week.

#1822
pcwiz13

pcwiz13

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
I got the "official" release of ML up and running yesterday and thought I would share my experience/technique for doing so. I'm not promising this will work for anyone else, its just how I went about getting it running.

My setup:
I have 2 hard drives in my L502x a SSD that currently is my stable working Lion install, and the original hard drive in a caddy replacing the CD drive with 2 partitions on it, one windows, and one a "test" partition for osx.

I installed ML on the "test" partition of my second hard drive.

This is the procedure i used to get it up and running. Once I get it 100% I will copy it over to my SSD to become my primary OS.

I followed these instructions for downloading/creating a bootable install USB for Mountain Lion:

I Paraphrased the relevant information form this tread:
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=280756
**Denotes items I added/modified

Software
-The Chameleon boot loader, the latest version of which can always be found here (You want "The Latest Trunk PKG ~ Standard and Official Revision"):
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=231075

**DoiX's Lx02XLion_V1.2
http://www.insanelym...2

Kexts
1. FakeSMC – absolutely essential – tricks OS X into thinking it’s a real Mac (Use the "Snow" one)
http://www.osx86.net...?do=file&id=161
2. NullCPUPowerManagement – generally required initially to prevent kernel panics, may not be needed once AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement is patched after install.
http://www.osx86.net...p?do=file&id=16

**3. Mountain Lion MBR Patch
http://www.osx86.net..._mbr_patch.html

Creating USB Installer
A. Preparing the USB
1. In your working OS X install open Disk Utility
2. Click on your USB drive in the left sidebar
3. Click the “Partition” tab
4. Under “Partition Layout” click “1 Partition”
5. Click Options -> select “Master Boot Record”; check the format is set to “Mac OS X Extended (Journeled)”; name it “USB”
6. Click Apply

B. Creating the OS X installer on the USB drive
1. Show hidden files in finder by opening Terminal (in utilities) and typing (copy / pasting) the following:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES
then
killall Finder
2. Mount your Mountain Lion DMG. If using a copy downloaded from the app store: Navigate to Applications (which is where it will save your downloaded copy of ML by default) -> right click "Install OS X Mountain Lion" and click "Show Package Contents" -> Contents -> SharedSupport -> Double click "InstallESD.dmg"
3. Mount BaseSystem.dmg by typing the following in terminal:
open /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Install\ ESD/BaseSystem.dmg
4. Go back to disk utility and click on “Mac OS X Base System”, click the “Restore” tab then drag and drop your USB to “destination” and click restore then erase. This will take a while.
5. You’ll now have 2 “Mac OS X Base System”s present in Finder, right click them and “get info” to determine which is your USB drive (hint: look at the size).
6. Navigate to the one which is your USB drive, open it and go to /System/Installation. Delete the “Packages” link then create a folder called “Packages”.
7. Open a new Finder window and navigate to “Mac OS X Install ESD”. Copy everything inside the packages folder to the packages folder you have just created. This will take a while.
8. Copy mach_kernel from “Mac OS X Install ESD” to the root of your USB drive.

C. Patching the installer for a PC
1. Remember the two kexts we downloaded above? Copy "FakeSMC" and "NullCPUPowerManagment" to /System/Library/Extensions on your USB stick.
1.A. Install MBR Patch- Copy "OSInstall.mpkg" to /System/Installation/Package/OSInstall.mpkg
1.A. Install MBR Patch- Copy "OSInstall" to /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Install.framework/Frameworks/OSInstall.framework/Versions/A/OSInstall
2. Run the chameleon installation package and ensure to choose your USB drive as the destination.
3. Run Doix's Installer and ONLY install the keyboard trackpad kext's to the USB drive.

Installing OS
This is where I just ran with it and it worked out.

1.Booted to USB drive, installed Mountain Lion to the partition I wanted.
2.Booted back into my working Lion install.
2A. Used KextWizard to install the "FakeSMC" and "NullCpuPowerManagement" kexts onto the mountain lion once again.
2B. Ran the chameleon installer on the mountain lion install.
3. Reboot onto the Mountain Install using -v (for some reason I have to use -v to boot, I understand this basically just makes it show the command lines, but for some reason it works, I saw the work around for this posted by DoiX earlier, I have yet to try it.)
4. Everything worked fine except sound, battery indicator, and speed stepping. I used the battery and audio kext from DoiX and everything works great.

Next to get sleep/speedstep enabled (I asssume its the same process as it was in Lion, I just have yet to mess with it for fear of crashing my new working install.)

So have I missed anything? On another note, I have ZERO artifacts/freezes in my video anymore, that alone makes ML worth the upgrade to me.


**UPDATE 1: after a short while my graphics artifacts began to come back exactly like they did in 10.7.4, The last kext i had installed was the battery kext. Once i removed it, the graphics problems have gone away. I don't see how there is any connection between the two, but for reason thats whats happening. I was using a kext in a package called "battery fix - Lion". I'll look into the issue later.

has anyone heard of a connection between battery kext and graphics issues?

Edited by pcwiz13, 29 July 2012 - 01:00 AM.


#1823
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@pcwiz, i believe i explained here (or in another thread) that beside the usual memory leaks/over heating, those screen glitches appear when OS X doesn't like something you installed. Be it a battery kext, or a sound kext. Personally, voodoo keyboard kext unleashes hell on my screen.

ML Seems to be picky on this subject, more than Lion. Reverting back to Lion Graphics kexts won't work because the whole graphic frameworks got updated.

Another thing that increases the glitches: if i reset my system a couple times in a row, or if i improperly shut it down, at the next boot, or two, i will have loads of screen glitches.

#1824
scrappy_coco

scrappy_coco

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
Some people have managed to activate nvidia GT540M on Acer Aspire 4750G which has optimus and also uses Intel HD3000. So why is this nvidia card not working in our system ??

#1825
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Scrappy, i've answered this god damned question one too many times. Use the search function.

About ML install tutorial. I'm working on a little script to create the proper ML restore image (like pcwiz wrote in his tut, except it's for lazy people - like myself.)

#1826
maxey

maxey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
Hi,

Since i am STILL using the IAtkos_DVD to boot (:P somehow i am not capable of fixing that) i am thinking about installing ML at some point down the road.
Now i am interested in 2 things:
1. a)Is there a way to sort of save all the files i have in Lion (not the system configuration only the software and personal files) and then inserting them in a ML running system?
b ) or could i access all my files in i have in Lion from my ML installation? (is this to be recommended or would the file access time be too long?)

2. Is it possible to install ML on a SSD? I Know pcwiz didn't do it, but basically, could i run into different problems than installing it on my normal hd?

thanks

#1827
Cisar Alexandru Marius

Cisar Alexandru Marius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Medias, Sibiu
  • Interests:web design, programming
Hi,

I have a Dell XPS L502x and i changed my Intel Centrino Wireless with a Dell Wireless 1701 802.11 b/g/n from a Dell Inspiron N5050 (as far as others say it works with an Atheros AR5B95 kext). I tried to install the kext using KextWizard, fixed permissions and rebuild cache, restarted the laptop but the kext doesn't load. I then also installed a kext for Dell Wireless 1702 but it's the same, it doesn't load. The Wireless card get's recognised as Dell Wireless 1701 802.11 in the system information. Any1 ever tried this wireless card or has any ideea if something else must be done to get the kext loaded?

10x :)

#1828
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@Cisar, salut :)

I have the same card installed. It works out of the box if you're on Lion 10.7.2 or Mountain Lion GM. For lion 10.7.3 and above you need to rollback the IONetworkFamily kext (as stated in the install tutorial on page 6 or 11 (depending on your view). Remove whatever kext you installed, make sure the card is installed in the first PCI slot (instead of the original card) and don't forget to use the FN+F2 key to activate it.

@Maxey, It's possible to install it on a SSD without problems. I don't know about backing up... personally i just moved all important informations to another partition. I read that some users managed to update directly from lion to ML... best search the forums for this.

#1829
Cisar Alexandru Marius

Cisar Alexandru Marius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Medias, Sibiu
  • Interests:web design, programming
Hmm i downgraded ionetworkfamily to 1.10 and io80... from your package but it's still not loading. I got the ionetwork from osx86.net, i had no backup. Is it the wrong version? If so could you share yours? :>

Edit: ethernet is not working anymore after downgradeing ionetwork. Before downgrade i had version 2.1

#1830
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@Cisar Alexandru Marius, http://www.insanelym...2 download the installer and install only the atheros rollback from network.

Here it is: The Osx86 RetailDisk KitGen v1.0

It's a simple app that prompts the user to select a OS X Retail Disk Image then does the nasty, somewhat time consuming, job of making hidden files visible, mounting BaseSystem.dmg, restoring, copying packages and so on into a simple 3 click one!

It will even download and install FakeSMC.kext, NullCPUPowerManagement.kext, ApplePS2Controller/AppleACPIPS2Nub.kext and Enoch bootloader. All that's left for the user to do is restore the newly created image to the partition/thumb drive of choice or burn it on a dual Layer DVD!

Updated: included ApplePS2Controller.kexts (forgot the first time, my bad)
DOWNLOAD:
Attached File  Osx86 RetailDisk KitGen v1.1.zip   1.68MB   310 downloads

Guide updated.

Edited by DoiX, 30 July 2012 - 11:11 AM.


#1831
scrappy_coco

scrappy_coco

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
hmm seems like this GT540M will never work out. Anyway, our XPS 15 L502x has become old now with its old hardware. I'm getting a new laptop after couple of months. But I'm confused whether to buy Macbook Pro 15 Retina or Alienware 17x. Why don't you guys go for new laptop too ? My xps 15 lags now while playing games like battlefield 3 at high settings. It won't keep up with the new games.

#1832
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
If the L502x is old hardware then i got a PhD in Quantum Physics.

And some of us rarely have time for games, and anyway, who the hell buys a laptop to play games on High settings? Get a console or a desktop pc.

#1833
birdibird

birdibird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
What's the difference between the 'normal' chameleon and the Enoch version?

I upgraded Lion with ML and everything seems to work. Only sleep doesn't work (I have A06)
I will also install a clean version of ML to check which kext might be the problem

@scrappy_coco: not everyone has the money to buy a new laptop every year :wink2:

#1834
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@birdibird, Chameleon is basically Enoch (by fabio) Fabio keeps his branch updated constantly, the chameleon one gets updated last based on the updates applied to enoch branch. So... basically, there no real difference.

Sleep depends on the AICPUPM.kext, if it's patched then it should pretty much work... if not, i saw a new sleepenabler.kext (universal) on osx86.net, you could try that one and see if it's working. if it is, we could maybe finally update the bios and still have working sleep!

http://www.osx86.net..._universal.html Here's the link to the kext.

Edited by DoiX, 30 July 2012 - 11:14 AM.


#1835
birdibird

birdibird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
That did the trick indeed!
Good find :)

1 problem remaining: the security and privacy prefpane is not loading
also something weird: in network settings it says that I'm connected through Bluetooth PAN and that my 802.11n adapter has cable unplugged :mellow:

edit: I'll try and update to bios A11 to see if it still works...

#1836
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Hm, the pref pane bug could be related to the straight update. Possibly it got corrupted, but i'm not sure. See if it works after you reset your system.

About the network thing. I've noticed yesterday that it tends to misbehave when only on battery, it's definitely a bug, however i have no idea whats causing it.

#1837
birdibird

birdibird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
A11 bios still doesn't work (after back from sleep: black screen)
I noticed that the chameleon boot screen is out of proportion: I have it set to 1920 x 1080, but now it looked much more like 1024x768 because the chameleon them icons were huge.
It seems the A11 bios does something different with the display

I have no idea how to solve the prefpane bug, all other prefpanes except Security & Privacy work fine

the network bug happens both on ac adapter and on battery

edit: I also have the brightness bug. If I let my screen sleep and come back, it is much brighter

btw: smartbatterymanagement from your Lx02X installer is still not working. Only VoodoBattery works fine (notice: you have a typo there :))
Also, AppleHDA (first option) didn't work, but L702x option did

#1838
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Yeah, the display is fixed to min after A06, another thing i hate about the bios.

Well, for some reason it works for some people and doesn't for others. The AppleHDA binary is identical to the first option, the only difference is in the platforms. On Lion it didn't make a huge difference but on ML it's extremely picky on that subject.

Thanks for bringing my attention to the typo. I don't know how they keep slipping in :D

#1839
scrappy_coco

scrappy_coco

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
Its just my opinion. And its not just about games. I am currently studying computer science engineering and i have to work with 3D rendering. I also use photo editing and video editing. I do it in desktop in lab, but sometimes when i push it in XPS 15 its slow. For all these task the GT540M kinda seems old plus i only have 4GB of Ram. And I am also an iOS developer (jailbreaking stuff).

#1840
birdibird

birdibird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
How about upgrading to 8 GB, that will make a huge difference!

another thing which is interesting:
We talked before about the 2 finger scrolling.
I noticed that if I run windows and then boot into osx, 2 finger scrolling works flawless
If I go to sleep in osx and then return, it doesn't work as good anymore: i have to place my 2 fingers not at the same moment to let scrolling function





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy