Jump to content

[Guide] Dell XPS 15 L502X (Early 2011) Snow Leopard Install (possibly L702x too)

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2978 replies to this topic

#1081
birdibird

birdibird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
Just use DoiX v6 package to install it.
untick everything else and use 10.7.2 speedstep also for 10.7.3
You can choose 3 or 9 states whatever you prefer.

#1082
calreyru1978

calreyru1978

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
So I use Doix v6 and choose for example 3TS_SSDT, install just it and after I run speedstep (v.10.7.2) in terminal and MSRDumper to check if it worked.

And when I have to repair permisions and cache?? After v6 or at the end??

Edited by calreyru1978, 16 February 2012 - 01:23 PM.


#1083
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium

So I use Doix v6 and choose for example 3TS_SSDT, install just it and after I run speedstep (v.10.7.2) in terminal and MSRDumper to check if it worked.

It seems to be the best way of doing it :)

#1084
birdibird

birdibird

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

And when I have to repair permisions and cache?? After v6 or at the end??


always last thing before reboot :)

#1085
maxey

maxey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
Hey, anyone else realized that the system freezes sometimes? Especially when under heavy / moderate use. Happened to me twice when using Skype video call and browsing, surfing the internet (though actually compared to a heavy calculation for video decompressing or ps5 with some filters and tiff thats nothing :P )

I use the 9States and "reproduced" the freezing twice consecutively and once another time...
Is it the temperature? Skype? Or something else? :D

#1086
NotMeAgain

NotMeAgain

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts

Hey, anyone else realized that the system freezes sometimes? Especially when under heavy / moderate use. Happened to me twice when using Skype video call and browsing, surfing the internet (though actually compared to a heavy calculation for video decompressing or ps5 with some filters and tiff thats nothing :P )

I use the 9States and "reproduced" the freezing twice consecutively and once another time...
Is it the temperature? Skype? Or something else? :D


Try the 3 power state.

I use skype/facetime regularly and haven't experienced this issue.

I have however experienced occasionaly safari freezes, but this may be related to the content i'm viewing (Filthy adult stuff)

#1087
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
http://www.engadget....-depth-preview/ i smell new mbp line coming soon, i hope it has nvidia gpus!


I'm going to *try* it this weekend if i find it on the internet.

#1088
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
This will be Lion's successor? :) Doesn't seem to have so many changes, except the notifications & messages...

But I also really hope these will have nVidia GPU's too.

#1089
calreyru1978

calreyru1978

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
I'm not able to install speedstepp. I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

I use Doix v6 and just choose 3TS_SSDT.
I open termina and I type
sudo (drag the file speed_steepper_lion_1072)System/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement
(enter the password)

The answer is:

SpeedStepper v1.2 - © flAked 2011
for AICPUPM v167.0.0 - Lion 10.7.2

unable to open file, try running as root
: No such file or directory


I have also installed again AICPUPM, I don't know if the right version. i have also installed 10.7.3, I hope this is not an inconvenient.

Can you help me??

I guess my problem is that I do not have the right AICPUPM.kext v167.0.0?? Can someone send it to me or let me know how to get it.

Thanks.

#1090
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
I notice you didn't type the space bar after dragging the speedstep file and the file path is incorrect :

I open termina and I type
sudo (drag the file speed_steepper_lion_1072)System/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement
(enter the password)

The answer is:

SpeedStepper v1.2 - © flAked 2011
for AICPUPM v167.0.0 - Lion 10.7.2

unable to open file, try running as root
: No such file or directory

Rename the speedstepper file to "Speedstep" (without "...") and copy it (with the new name) to your OS X installation disk root (where you have "System", "Extra", ...). Then type it in your terminal :

sudo /Speedstep /System/Library/Extensions/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext/Contents/MacOS/AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement

Then enter your password and this would work!

#1091
calreyru1978

calreyru1978

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
And just in case can anyone send AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext v167.0.0??

Thanks for your patient with me!!

#1092
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
Here it is. I don't have the "unpatched" one.

This one is already patched with SpeedStepper.

Attached Files



#1093
calreyru1978

calreyru1978

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
I don't know if it is going to work, because mine is i7 2670.... but I'll try.

Anyway if someone else have AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext v167.0.0 unpatched... please..... :-)

#1094
Rockball73

Rockball73

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgium
I think you can find it in your 10.7.3 or 10.7.2 update .app if you "Show content" ;-) Make a search with spotlight in this file.

#1095
maxey

maxey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

Try the 3 power state.

I use skype/facetime regularly and haven't experienced this issue.

I have however experienced occasionaly safari freezes, but this may be related to the content i'm viewing (Filthy adult stuff)


I was told some posts earlier the 3 states might be a bit problematic for some users, thats why i used the 9 states. Could the freezing be related to my speedstepper not working correctly? Thus the CPU overheating or something?

#1096
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.

I was told some posts earlier the 3 states might be a bit problematic for some users, thats why i used the 9 states. Could the freezing be related to my speedstepper not working correctly? Thus the CPU overheating or something?


What? The SSDT files are made for i7 processors, more exactly the quad core versions 2630QM and 2635QM, if you're processor is exactly the same as one from a macbook pro 8 model then you don't need them. You only need EnablePStates=Yes and EnablerCStates=Yes (first handles power states second handles power conservation aka sleep)

#1097
maxey

maxey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts

What? The SSDT files are made for i7 processors, more exactly the quad core versions 2630QM and 2635QM, if you're processor is exactly the same as one from a macbook pro 8 model then you don't need them. You only need EnablePStates=Yes and EnablerCStates=Yes (first handles power states second handles power conservation aka sleep)


I do have an i7, the 2720QM. Dont know if is the exact one used in the MBP.
EDIT: Just saw it is the one used in the MBP.
If I would only have to use EnablePStates=Yes, should i usebit as a bootflag and remove the installed ssdt files?and also the speedstepper (which i anyway didnt really get to run i think and just stays on my desktop)?

#1098
TFN

TFN

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Quick question guys, I got 10.7.3 installed on my machine and I am currently running into 2 problems.

First, none of my USB ports are working. Whenever I insert a wireless network adapter into them nothing happens and when I insert a USB flash drive into one the OS crashes and I have to restart.

Second, I am having a boot0:error and have to boot using Rbootle every time. I found some info on how to fix it but it's not very intuitive where some of these files are supposed to be located.

Any ideas?

I have the same problem, kernel panic when attach an external drive to USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 does't fully work, same error with Boot0:error, I'v tried to reinstall Chimera, to change it with Chameleon, NOTHING HAPPENED.... I can Boot by using rBoot LE.... and need to apply GraphicsEnabler=No or it doesn't Boot.
I followed this instruction http://www.youtube.c...h?v=vFirQxxwfD8 Now I have Boot0:Done instead of Boot0:Error but nothing more happens.

#1099
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
You have GUID instead of MBR... i'm sure of this :) kernel panics with usb ports is related to DSDT, you either don't have one or you don't have a l502x model.

#1100
TFN

TFN

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

You have GUID instead of MBR... i'm sure of this :) kernel panics with usb ports is related to DSDT, you either don't have one or you don't have a l502x model.

Trust me! I have an XPS L502X bought last week check yourself if you don't trust me. the internal HDD has MBR flag (Windows is saying this, Gparted is saying this, Lion is saying this) and this is not the first time I Install OS X Lion-Snow Leopard on a PC... But this time I can't understand what's the problem





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy