Jump to content

Asus nVidia GeForce 210 1GB DDR3 Working!


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#1
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America
This is a guide to get an Asus nVidia GeForce 210 1GB DDR3 working with full acceleration. The PC I installed the nVidia 210 in works fine in 10.6.7 but I got the dreaded "pci configuration begin" message upon updating to 10.6.8. I don't know if its the card or the method of getting the card to work, YMMV.

First of all remove all graphics injectors. Remove GraphicsEnabler in your com.apple.Boot.plist file. This method worked in 10.6.3. It continued to work after updating to 10.6.7. And it works with updated nVidia drivers. There is no need to add the device ID to any kexts and indeed that may actually screw up the process.

First download OSx86 Tools from HERE.

Run the program. Click on the "Add EFI Strings/Boot Flag" button. Then click on the "GFX Strings" icon in the upper left. In the Graphics Card menu choose "custom GeForce." Then type in the name of your graphics card in the menu that pops up. I typed "nVidia GeForce 210." I don't know how important this is. It may be just cosmetic.

Posted Image

Then select the size of your RAM from the next menu. I chose a gig.

Posted Image

Now choose your output configuration. I chose DVI/VGA.

Posted Image

An EFI string will then be generated. Its the numbers in the lower window. Just copy the EFI string...

Posted Image

...and paste it into your com.apple.Boot.plist file. The com.apple.Boot.plist file is found in the /Extra folder. Make sure you add <key>device-properties</key> on the line before you insert the string.

Posted Image

Let me know if it works for you.

PS. I know some of you are going to be lazy so here is my EFI string. It should be one long string of characters. Line breaks were added for web presentation. There is no guarantee simply copying and pasting my string will work for YOUR setup.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
	 <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
	 <plist version="1.0">
	 <dict>
		 <key>GenerateCStates</key>
		 <string>Yes</string>
		 <key>GeneratePStates</key>
		 <string>Yes</string>
		 <key>Kernel</key>
		 <string>mach_kernel</string>
		 <key>Kernel Flags</key>
		 <string></string>
		 <key>Timeout</key>
		 <string>5</string>
		 <key>device-properties</key>
		 <string>640200000100000001000000580200000d00000002010c00d041030a00000000010106000001010106000
	 0007fff04001e00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900730069006f006e0000002a0000006e56696469612047654
	 66f72636520323130204f70656e474c20456e67696e65205b4546495d22000000400030002c0064006500760069006300
	 65005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c6179100000004e0056004300410050000000180000000400000
	 0000003000400000000000007000000000e0000006e0061006d00650000000b000000646973706c61791400000040003
	 0002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d41100000006d006f00640065006c00000016
	 0000006e5669646961204765466f726365203231300e0000004e00560050004d000000200000000100000000000000000
	 000000000000000000000000000000000000014000000400031002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c4
	 46973706c61792d4220000000400031002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e564441
	 2c4e564d6163220000005600520041004d002c0074006f00740061006c00730069007a006500000008000000000000402
	 0000000400030002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d6163220000
	 00400031002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c61791c00000064006
	 50076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000f0000004e5644412c506172656e74</string>
	 </dict>
	 </plist>

If the string worked you should be able to see the graphics cards name in the system profile. Click the apple icon and then select About This Mac, then more information or system report or something like that. You should see something like this...

Posted Image

#2
OceanMindedBoy

OceanMindedBoy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I just signed for this forum to say "you are a genius!"

The best way to do it is to create your own. Also, for people who doesn't have the com.apple.boot.plist file in the /extra folder then it can be found in /library/preferences/systemconfiguration/ and it will work as well.

Thank you so much. You rock

#3
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

I just signed for this forum to say "you are a genius!"

The best way to do it is to create your own. Also, for people who doesn't have the com.apple.boot.plist file in the /extra folder then it can be found in /library/preferences/systemconfiguration/ and it will work as well.

Thank you so much. You rock



Thanks for your feedback and praise. I'm glad you got it working. Also thanks for the additional information regarding the com.apple.boot.plist file. I'm sure somebody else will benefit from the information.

#4
Joekiko

Joekiko

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I tried to make a custom EFI string but the OSx86 Tools don't work propably :/ the Error message that appears is the following

AppleScript Error
Can't make "0" into type boolean.(-1700)


Is there a way to get around this message ?

#5
cpirius

cpirius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I tried to make a custom EFI string but the OSx86 Tools don't work propably :/ the Error message that appears is the following

AppleScript Error
Can't make "0" into type boolean.(-1700)


Is there a way to get around this message ?



I have not tired this, but I saw a note about that error message in this guide:

http://3rr0rists.net...ver-newbie.html

#6
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

I tried to make a custom EFI string but the OSx86 Tools don't work propably :/ the Error message that appears is the following

AppleScript Error
Can't make "0" into type boolean.(-1700)


Is there a way to get around this message ?



At what stage in the process are you getting this message?

#7
The Weez

The Weez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
So I'm a complete noob to macs and hackintosh. I've got 10.6.7 running and have been unable to get graphics acceleration working with my 512MB nVidia GeForce 210. I've tried a couple of the other methods but realized I was out of my league. So I tried your method; got the string from osx86 tools, put it in my .plist file, rebooted. Still stuck with one resolution and screenshots don't work.

Please forgive my noob questions. I don't know where to go from here, what else to try.

Does it matter that I use #####? I noticed some people use Chameleon/Chimera and I wasn't sure if it was one or the other.

#8
Chris230291

Chris230291

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
should this work on the 8400GS 512?
because it didn't for me :unsure:
i tried the custom method and also just choosing my card from the drop-down list, neither worked :/

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks

#9
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

So I'm a complete noob to macs and hackintosh. I've got 10.6.7 running and have been unable to get graphics acceleration working with my 512MB nVidia GeForce 210. I've tried a couple of the other methods but realized I was out of my league. So I tried your method; got the string from osx86 tools, put it in my .plist file, rebooted. Still stuck with one resolution and screenshots don't work.

Please forgive my noob questions. I don't know where to go from here, what else to try.

Does it matter that I use #####? I noticed some people use Chameleon/Chimera and I wasn't sure if it was one or the other.


Make sure you have removed all enabler kexts and rebuilt caches. Also make sure you do NOT have GraphicsEnabler=Yes in your com.apple.Boot.plist file.

Make sure that you have selected the correct output configuration for your card. I'm not sure whether it differs from one 210 to another but its worth tinkering with.

Also make sure <key>device-properties</key> appears in the line above where you insert the string.

What does your device properties for your graphics card show? Does it read "GeForce 210"?

should this work on the 8400GS 512?
because it didn't for me :unsure:
i tried the custom method and also just choosing my card from the drop-down list, neither worked :/

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks


When you say it didn't work what do you mean? Were you able to generate a string? Did you insert the string correctly into the com.apple.Boot.plist file? What video card does your system profiler show? How much VRAM does it show? Did you choose the right output configurations? Did you remove all enabler kexts and remove GraphicsEnabler=yes?

#10
The Weez

The Weez

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Make sure you have removed all enabler kexts and rebuilt caches. Also make sure you do NOT have GraphicsEnabler=Yes in your com.apple.Boot.plist file.

Make sure that you have selected the correct output configuration for your card. I'm not sure whether it differs from one 210 to another but its worth tinkering with.

Also make sure <key>device-properties</key> appears in the line above where you insert the string.

What does your device properties for your graphics card show? Does it read "GeForce 210"?

How do I identify which kexts to remove, and how to I rebuild caches?

I should mention that I tried setting up graphics through #####. It installed some stuff but didn't work. Is there anything I need to undo regarding that?

Where exactly do I look for device properties? REmember, I'm a TOTAL mac noob. ;)

Under "About this Mac" and "More info", here's what it says for display:

Display:

Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 32 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0a65
Revision ID: 0x00a2
Displays:
Display:
Resolution: 1024 x 768
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes


Update: It seems to be working now. I left out <key>device-properties</key> from the plist file.

Thanks!!!

Tim

#11
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Update: It seems to be working now. I left out <key>device-properties</key> from the plist file.

Thanks!!!

Tim


Sweet! Another satisfied customer. If you need to add kexts or rebuild caches or repair permissions look into Kext Wizard. Enjoy your Hackintosh my friend.

#12
doc_u

doc_u

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Thanks for the post!

Just followed this on an Asus 210 1GB silent and it runs great, enables 1920x1200 @ 60 on my 24" Dell display.
FrontRow opens and runs (under 10.6.7) so I assume that QE/CI are enabled...

Again, thanks for the help!

-doc

#13
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Thanks for the post!

Just followed this on an Asus 210 1GB silent and it runs great, enables 1920x1200 @ 60 on my 24" Dell display.
FrontRow opens and runs (under 10.6.7) so I assume that QE/CI are enabled...

Again, thanks for the help!

-doc


Nice. I put a "Silent" in my friend's computer. That's what kicked off this whole odyssey. It was a pain in the rear. Glad I could help. I hope I saved you some pain.

#14
saimadma

saimadma

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I setting in my Kalyway 10.5.2 a but!! VGA card driver not work is show apple logo and no loading

no gray srceen like crashed



Please help me!!!

My VGA Card is nVidia GeForce EN210

#15
Joekiko

Joekiko

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Sry, was on vacation for a week. I found a workaround in the guide that has been postet but the Problem is that ma graphics card isnt listed in"show package contents> contents> resources" :/ So i guess there is no way to get my card up and running ?
I will start to work on it again by today if i make progress somehow i try to provide Information ;)

#16
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Sry, was on vacation for a week. I found a workaround in the guide that has been postet but the Problem is that ma graphics card isnt listed in"show package contents> contents> resources" :/ So i guess there is no way to get my card up and running ?
I will start to work on it again by today if i make progress somehow i try to provide Information :D


You have to make sure that there is an OS X driver for your card. I first researched and made sure the nVidia 210 was supported. Once I knew there was a driver I tried out different ways to get the card to work.

I setting in my Kalyway 10.5.2 a but!! VGA card driver not work is show apple logo and no loading

no gray srceen like crashed



Please help me!!!

My VGA Card is nVidia GeForce EN210



What do you get when you boot verbose?

If the ONLY problem you have is our nVidia 210 not being recognized you should be able to boot to the desktop but in lo-res without acceleration. If you fail to even make it to the desktop you may have something else going on beyond your unrecognized graphics card.

Boot verbose and let us know what you find.

#17
munakib

munakib

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
@Hackintosh2000

You are fantastic man....I can confirm that this method works for my BioStar nVidia 210, 1GB DDR3 graphics card. I copied and pasted your plist too so its all good :D

Spread the word - 210 works - QE/CL!

#18
tanbk168

tanbk168

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
Asus EN210 512mb works on Snow Leopard and Lion. Use Graphicsenabler=yes and EFI strings.

#19
munakib

munakib

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Asus EN210 512mb works on Snow Leopard and Lion. Use Graphicsenabler=yes and EFI strings.


Hey tanbk168, how did you get past the pci configuration begin bit in Lion? Evreytime I use ##### I get into that trouble so I want to avoid using #####.....could you share the steps on how you get graphics enabler on?

#20
Hackintosh2000

Hackintosh2000

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Unites States of America

Hey tanbk168, how did you get past the pci configuration begin bit in Lion? Evreytime I use ##### I get into that trouble so I want to avoid using #####.....could you share the steps on how you get graphics enabler on?


Googled and found this "best fix is adding kernel boot flag npci=0×2000."

@Hackintosh2000

You are fantastic man....I can confirm that this method works for my BioStar nVidia 210, 1GB DDR3 graphics card. I copied and pasted your plist too so its all good :)

Spread to word - 210 works - QE/CL!


Thanks for the feedback. And thanks for testing out the copy and paste method. I suppose it works for some people. Happy Hackintoshing :)

Asus EN210 512mb works on Snow Leopard and Lion. Use Graphicsenabler=yes and EFI strings.


I'm guessing you mean using Graphicenabler=yes OR an EFI String, not both together?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy