Jump to content

Mobility Radeon HD 4650:Full Resolution with QE & CI working on Internal LVDS screen


  • Please log in to reply
692 replies to this topic

#41
Ccc

Ccc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male

Many thanks to bcc9 :( for his genius discovery and for his method for finding and editing framebuffer personalities
unfortunately i can't post in the ATI graphic section cause i don't have suffisant privilege :(
the proof in the attachements

Topics updated, the promised Guide (HowTo.rtf) in the attachements with some usefull files for quick editing

Now here is the Online guide:


I was planning to add this to bbc9 topics, but i couldn't add a replay only a new topic in new users lounge is allowed for me (I'm a member since 2006 ),so if a moderator can attach it it's welcome/
Most credit should go to bcc9 (radeondump & tutorial) & Dong (RadeonHD), this was not possible without his finding ,a previous knowledge of bbc9 method with some basic binary editing and terminal skills is a must have.
Sorry for my bad English and my Bad teaching skills, the most important is the IDEA
Any additional useful information and feed-back is welcome
The bootlaoder is chameleon rev 747 with modded ati.c with corrected default framebuffer to Shrike and model name for my DeviceId: 0x9480 (Kabyl boot file is no go for me)


My dell inspiron 1464 (mobility hd4330, 512M 0x95521002) finally supported with QE/CI.
I followed exactly your instruction.
LVDS and VGA works since I do not have hdmi monitor to test, so I changed only those two sections.
I tried Quali, flicker, kakapo, shrike and peregrine.
I did not get well until I notice that there's NullCPUPowerManagement.kext playing around causing blackscreen or timed out. After remove the kext the graphics worked, both internal and VGA!

Many thanks people!

#42
DonKurdi

DonKurdi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
i am new here and i want to know which tools should i use for having the patch for my FB.kext as i want to know how to get my

1- ConnectorType
2- ATY,ControlFlags
3- Features
4- Transmitter
5- Encoder
6- HotplugID
7- SenseID

#43
jsl

jsl

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 246 posts
Hi, mucha

Can you help me to find out why I can not make 3 display ports (HDMI, DVI, & VGA) working at the same time ?
My ATI HD 5770 is Asus EAH 5770.

./radeondump < Asus.HD5770.1024.100331.bin
ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1043 SubsystemID: 0x0344
IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
Filename: AC37500.103
BIOS Bootup Message:
68B8.12.20.0.4.AS02.U126

Connector at index 0 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 94
Connector at index 1 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector's i2cid: 93
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector's i2cid: 93
Connector at index 3 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 90

Personality: Uakari
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Effective address for ConnectorInfo table in hex: 111c0
155648+70904+0x111c0-0x111c0=226552

dd if=ATIFramebuffer of=/tmp/uakari bs=1 skip=226552 count=64
od -Ax -tx1 /tmp/uakari
0000000 10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 04 01 (VGA)
0000010 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 22 05 05 05 (HDMI audio)
0000020 00 02 00 00 14 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 06 04 (DVI)
0000030 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 22 05 05 03
0000040

If VGA and HDMI audio are working, there is no output from DVI.
If disconnect VGA, then both HDMI audio and DVI are working now.
I have tried many different parameters for its VGA port, and this one is the only working up to now.
Is there any secret to make all 3 display working according to your knowledge or experience ?
I hope Asus did not remove ATI Eyefinity function from this EAH 5770 card because it's the only 5770 card which is lack of DP port.
EDIT on 2011-11-23:
Asus had disabled ATI EyeFinity function of its EAH 5770 card, so only two ports can be displayed at the same time.

My MSI Hawk 5770 has the same problem:
Can you help me to find out why my MSI Hawk 5770 can not display 3 ports (DP, HDMI, & DVI) at the same time in SL_10.6.6 ?

./radeondump < 1002_68B8.rom.bin
ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1462 SubsystemID: 0x2140
IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
Filename: SV35125e.bin
BIOS Bootup Message: 113-MSITV214MS.114
JUNIPER BIOS UCODEV:122
Connector at index 0 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector's i2cid: 91
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 94
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector's i2cid: 93
Connector at index 3 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector's i2cid: 93
________________________________________________________
Personality: Uakari
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Effective address for ConnectorInfo table in hex: 12840
4096 + 75840 +12840 - 12840 = 79936

dd if=ATIFramebuffer of=/tmp/uakari bs=1 skip=79936 count=64
od -Ax -tx1 /tmp/uakari
0000000 00 04 00 00 04 06 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 04 02 (DP audio)
0000010 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 22 05 05 05 (HDMI audio)
0000020 04 00 00 00 14 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 01 12 01 04 (DVI)
0000030 00 02 00 00 14 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 06 01
0000040
_____________________________________________________________
Personality: Vervet
ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 4
Effective address for ConnectorInfo table in hex: 12880
4096 + 75840 +12880 - 12840 = 80000

dd if=ATIFramebuffer of=/tmp/vervet bs=1 skip=80000 count=64
od -Ax -tx1 /tmp/vervet
0000000 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 22 05 05 05 (HDMI audio)
0000010 00 04 00 00 04 06 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 04 02 (DP audio)
0000020 04 00 00 00 14 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 01 12 01 04 (DVI)
0000030 00 02 00 00 14 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 06 00
0000040
________________________________________________________________
Up to now only the first TWO of these Three ports working.
Unless I dis-connect either DP or HDMI at first, otherwise the third DVI port can not be activated.
I have changed their order, but still get the same result: Need disconnect 1st or 2nd port to make the 3rd working.

EDIT on 2011-11-23:
MSI Hawk 5770 can display 3 ports at the same time if I use an active EyeFinity DP->HDMI convertor or DP->DP cable in SL 10.6.6/10.6.7 and Lion 10.7.2 only. That means it fails in SL 10.6.8 and Lion 10.7.0/10.7.1

__________________________________________________________________________

#44
atlee

atlee

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South NSW, Australia
mucha awsome man, think i have worked out my encoder and transmitter values :thumbsup_anim: follwing bcc9's guide as well :whistle:

#45
checcco

checcco

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
Guys please help me...dong radeonhd doesn't work on my 5650...how can i get the information i need? I've tried ubuntu and xorg log file tell something about uniphy but cant understand it

#46
kokosnuss

kokosnuss

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey yanghy,

think i'm stuck at nearly the same piont as you are.

My Sony is a VPCEB3C5 with the same Video / Display Properties. So therefore my radeondump looks exactly the same

ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x104d SubsystemID: 0x9071
IOBaseAddress: 0xd000
Filename: BR36874.001
BIOS Bootup Message:
Sony M980 Madison LP DDR3 64Mx16 600E/790M LVDS/VGA/HDMI

Connector at index 0 type: LVDS (7)
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 94
Connector at index 2 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 90


I tried to get the 5650 on internal screen just like checco and atlee described here:

http://www.insanelym...t=#entry1652125

and i managed to get the external VGA-Display working (like checco described with 2 Screens found and divided Display and so on). So far so good. But after trying different FBs, i got stuck on this.

What seems strange ist, that on most external-working FBs, the Backlight of internal LCD is on, but black. Same for you? So the internal gets kinda signal... but something is missing.

Therefore i found muchas guide and am willing to try and test, but need more help with this. How do i know which connectortype, AtyControlFlag, SenseID etc. my lappy has or where can i find this? :)

We're so close, there is just little to get going. Let's do this together!

Thx
Kokosnussrasierer

#47
User x64

User x64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Any success with Mobility HD 3xxx series? Anyone?

#48
wmarsh

wmarsh

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts

Any success with Mobility HD 3xxx series? Anyone?

Have not heard of anyone trying. Reasonably likely to work though.

#49
sydlix

sydlix

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
Ok I tried this method without success, for sure I am doing something wrong.

First of all I don't really get how to switch between the framebuffer types (shrike, peregrine etc).

I opened the ATIFramebuffer binary in hexedit and I modified these sections:

00010F80
00010F90
00010FA0


I think they are for shrike, 64bit? (I am booting SL 64bit).

However I modified the values according to my WEIRD connector specs:

ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x0272
IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
Filename: BR034414.001
BIOS Bootup Message:
BR034414-001 M96 DDR3 128bit 400e/800m

Connector at index 0 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 95
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 90
Connector at index 2 type: LVDS (7)
Connector's i2cid: 94
Connector at index 3 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector's i2cid: 91


I used the first 3 connectors.
I am on a Dell Studio XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon 4670. I also don't know if I need GraphicsEnabler=YES? I think my device id (9488) is already in ATI4600 kext.

If someone can provide the informations I need as long as the right boot file maybe I can test this?

Thank you

#50
kokosnuss

kokosnuss

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi!

You can easily switch between framebuffers with this bootflag:

AtiConfig=FB

where FB is your desired Framebuffer (i.e. Shrike, Peregrine etc..) I think its case sensitive (pls. correct me, if not)

For this method you'll need a bootloader, which can handle this (i.e. cham RC 5 Ati .748) and bootflag GraphicsEnabler=Yes

I opened the ATIFramebuffer binary in hexedit and I modified these sections:

00010F80
00010F90
00010FA0


I think they are for shrike, 64bit? (I am booting SL 64bit).


You can find the Hex-binary for Shrike-FB in muchas textfiles. Open the ATIFramebuffer binary in Hex-Edit an search for your desired connector-entry. As mucha desribed, you'll find this twice (one for 32-bit one for 64). The different connector digits should follow one after another.

However I modified the values according to my WEIRD connector specs:

ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x0272
IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
Filename: BR034414.001
BIOS Bootup Message:
BR034414-001 M96 DDR3 128bit 400e/800m

Connector at index 0 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 95
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 90
Connector at index 2 type: LVDS (7)
Connector's i2cid: 94
Connector at index 3 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector's i2cid: 91


I think, these look just the way they should. What do you mean by "weird"? :D

Greets,
Kokosnuss

#51
network0771

network0771

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x104d SubsystemID: 0x9056
IOBaseAddress: 0xd000
Filename: BR33251.001
BIOS Bootup Message:
Sony_M850_M92S2_XT_GDDR3 M92 GDDR3 64bit 680e/800m

Connector at index 0 type: LVDS (7)
Connector at index 1 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 90
Connector at index 2 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 94


oops,there's no i2cid number with LVDS.why? how can i find the LVDS id?

#52
sydlix

sydlix

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
Based on this:

ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x0272
IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
Filename: BR034414.001
BIOS Bootup Message:
BR034414-001 M96 DDR3 128bit 400e/800m

Connector at index 0 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 95
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 90
Connector at index 2 type: LVDS (7)
Connector's i2cid: 94
Connector at index 3 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector's i2cid: 91

I modified the values from:

02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 02 01 00 03
02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 09 01 00 00 20 01 02 02
00 04 00 00 04 03 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 00 01 01

TO


10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 01 02 06
00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 01 01 01
02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 00 00 05

first VGA, then HDMI, then LVDS.

I booted with a modified boot file defaulting with shrike (I HOPE), GraphicsEnabler=YES

I am getting a corrupted screen going from the black of the verbose gradually to grey, like transparent to opaque???

What am I doing wrong?

#53
almuras

almuras

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
[quote name='mucha' date='Mar 14 2011, 08:02 PM' post='1655182']

The bootlaoder is chameleon rev 747 with modded ati.c with corrected default framebuffer to Shrike and model name for my DeviceId: 0x9480 (Kabyl boot file is no go for me)

Thanks for the great guide mucha!

Could you please give a link to your bootloader. I searched everywhere and I could not find it.

I have Dell Studio 1747 with Radeon mobility 4650 (0x9480). I made a modded Shrike for my laptop but it does not work for some reason :D .

Thanks in advance!

#54
almuras

almuras

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts

Thank you. :(

I was only able to figure out the ATY,ControlFlags but thanks to your excellent guide I now can know the rest. I make the assumption ATY,ControlFlags for HDMI is 0x204 based on the IORegistry when I'm using 10.7 kexts which the external monitor connected to HDMI was working. I guess I'm wrong. :)

I have downloaded your guide but do not have the opportunity to read it yet. I will read it to figure out how to make HDMI working without the interference with LVDS.


Kizwan, I was trying to follow your excellent guide at dell studio thread but could not get it to work.

I have Dell Studio 1747 with Radeon Mobility 4650 (0x9480)



My Radeon dump looks like this:
RHDAtomOutputAllocFree
Mapping DIG1 encoder to KLDSKP_UNIPHYE
Crtc[0]: found native mode from Monitor[LVDS Panel]:
Modeline "1600x900" 96 1600 1648 1680 1736 900 901 906 922
Connector "PANEL" uses Monitor "LVDS Panel":
RHDValidateScaledToMode
rhdModeValidateCrtc
DxModeValid: ATOM CRTC 1
rhdAtomOutputModeValid
Listing modesetting layout:
ATOM CRTC 1: tied to Atom PLL 1 and LUT A:
Outputs: AtomOutput UniphyE (PANEL)
ATOM CRTC 2: unused
Unused Outputs: AtomOutput DACA, AtomOutput UniphyA


And my Atom BIOS is:

ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x02ea
IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
Filename: BR034427.002
BIOS Bootup Message:
BR034427-002 M96 DDR3 128bit 550e/700m

Connector at index 0 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 90
Connector at index 1 type: LVDS (7)
Connector's i2cid: 96
Connector at index 2 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 91
Connector at index 3 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector's i2cid: 94


So I made my own framebuffer but it does not work. always black screen;

Here it is:

port0 >VGA=0x00000010 - ControlFlag=0x0010 - Features = 0x00 -----------Hotplug=0x00 - i2cid=90 > SenseLine=0x01
port1 >LVDS=0x00000002 - ControlFlag=0x0040 - Features = 0x09 -----------Hotplug=0x01 - i2cid=96 > SenseLine=0x07
port2 >HDMI=0x00000800 - ControlFlag=0x0200 - Features = 0x00 -----------Hotplug=0x02 - i2cid=91 > SenseLine=0x02
port3 >DP=0x00000400 - ControlFlag=0x0100 - Features = 0x00 -----------Hotplug=0x03 - i2cid=94 > SenseLine=0x05


CRTC0>DIG1>UNIPHYE>LVDS Encoder= 0x00 Transmitter = 0x12
CRTC1>DAC > DACA >VGA Encoder=0x10 Transmitter = 0x00
CRTC1>DIG2>UNIPHYA>HDMI Encoder= 0x01 Transmitter = 0x10



10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 10 00 01 VGA
02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 12 00 01 07 LVDS
00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 01 02 05 HDMI

I do not know what I am doing wrong :) .
Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated!!!

#55
sydlix

sydlix

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
Hi I've tried kizwan kext and boot file from this post: http://www.insanelym...p...t&p=1657833

It is not working on lvds, it is stuck in verbose/grey apple logo althrough the system is started (I can shut down via power button and enter). I cannot verify if it is correctly loading the kexts.

Some more info.

10.6.6 installed with latest boot cd from nawcom.
boot file you provided defaulting with vervet framebuffer.
com.apple.boot.plist with ONLY -v, GraphicsEnabler=Yes (maybe need to add something?)
ATIFramebuffer you provided, with modified vervet section.

All other kexts are stock. I also have NO NullCPUpower etc, only fakesmc, ps2 and ahci injectors.

I also repaired permissions on the partition. Do you think the problem is related to enc/trasmitter values or maybe I am doing something wrong.

I have a 1640, not a 1645, only differences from the bios dump are:

SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x0272 = 1640
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x02fe = 1645

IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
IOBaseAddress: 0x0000


BR034414-001 M96 DDR3 128bit 400e/800m
BR036993-002 M96 DDR3 128bit 400e/800m   





Thank you

Marco

#56
yanghy

yanghy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Hi kokosnuss,

It seems we have the same problem. However, I do not have VGA and HDMI
for testing.

When I use Nomascus without changing the other bytes, only the SenseID, from 02 to 04. I found only the 02 will bring the backlight "ON" with black screen.

So I guess 02 is the SenseID. Today, I got output from uBuntu as below.


[ 16.169116] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
[ 16.169118] [drm] Connector 0:
[ 16.169119] [drm] LVDS
[ 16.169120] [drm] Encoders:
[ 16.169122] [drm] LCD1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
[ 16.169123] [drm] Connector 1:
[ 16.169125] [drm] HDMI-A
[ 16.169126] [drm] HPD1
[ 16.169128] [drm] DDC: 0x6470 0x6470 0x6474 0x6474 0x6478 0x6478 0x647c 0x647c
[ 16.169130] [drm] Encoders:
[ 16.169131] [drm] DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1
[ 16.169132] [drm] Connector 2:
[ 16.169133] [drm] VGA
[ 16.169135] [drm] DDC: 0x6430 0x6430 0x6434 0x6434 0x6438 0x6438 0x643c 0x643c
[ 16.169137] [drm] Encoders:
[ 16.169138] [drm] CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1

Again insufficent information, need to test one by one. However, base on the UNIPHY, the possible "Encoder and Transmittor" combination should be as below.

00 00
10 00
20 00

I will test later today. By the way, what Framebuffer you are using?


#57
Derc

Derc

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi all!
Help me please with ATI Radeon Mobility 4570 512 mb on 10.6.6. I read the way the plant bcc9 and mucha but did not quite understand it. help to put all on the shelves. where to start? a loader, etc?
Here is my configuration:
ASUS k40ad
AMD Athlon II M300 2000 MHz
AMD SB700
ATI Radeon Mobility 4570 512 mb
VIA VT1708S
Realtek RTL8168D
Atheros AR9285

Thanks in advance for any help! Really count on you!
I apologize for my English!

#58
sydlix

sydlix

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
Hello, some progress here! But I'm struggling with the LVDS!
Hardware:
Studio XPS 1640 - Mobility 4670
Connector info:
ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x0272
IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
Filename: BR034414.001
BIOS Bootup Message:
BR034414-001 M96 DDR3 128bit 400e/800m

Connector at index 0 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 95
Connector at index 1 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 90
Connector at index 2 type: LVDS (7)
Connector's i2cid: 94
Connector at index 3 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector's i2cid: 91

I tried the booter from Kizwan that defaults with Vervet framebuffer for all 4 connections.
The original configuration of his modified framebuffer was:


Patched connection table:-
--> 00013880 02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 12 01 00 05 (LVDS)
--> 00013890 10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 10 01 06 (VGA)
--> 000138A0 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 20 00 02 01 (HDMI)
--> 000138B0 00 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 11 00 04 02 (DP)

This was giving me no display initialization, staying in command line, though system was booted.
So, according to linux Xorg logs, which said:
LVDS UNIPHY2(DIG0), VGA DAC1, HDMI & DP UNIPHY(DIG1). DIG0 should equal to mucha's DIG1 and DIG1 to mucha's DIG2.
I modified accordingly to:


Patched connection table:-
--> 00013880 02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 02 00 00 05 (LVDS)
--> 00013890 10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 10 01 06 (VGA)
--> 000138A0 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 02 01 (HDMI)
--> 000138B0 00 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 01 04 02 (DP)


VGA is working correctly. HDMI is working correctly. DP I don't know but I think so.
on HDMI I tried also 10 as transmitter and it works.
LVDS is giving me BLACK screem with acrive backlight. I can see from the HDMI output that the internal display is recognized, it even changes resolution, but it stays BLACK..
I have also tried changing the control flag on lvds to 0x100 but it gives corrupted screen and nothing works anymore.
I don't know if it has something to do with the features section, being a rgbled display, what can I try?

Please HELP!


#59
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

I have Dell Studio 1747 with Radeon Mobility 4650 (0x9480)

ATOM BIOS Rom: 
	SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x02ea
	IOBaseAddress: 0x2000
	Filename: BR034427.002
	BIOS Bootup Message: 
BR034427-002 M96 DDR3 128bit 550e/700m									  

Connector at index 0 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 90
Connector at index 1 type: LVDS (7)
Connector's i2cid: 96
Connector at index 2 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 91
Connector at index 3 type: DisplayPort (10)
Connector's i2cid: 94

My Radeon dump looks like this:
RHDAtomOutputAllocFree
Mapping DIG1 encoder to KLDSKP_UNIPHYE
Crtc[0]: found native mode from Monitor[LVDS Panel]: 
Modeline "1600x900"  96  1600 1648 1680 1736  900 901 906 922
Connector "PANEL" uses Monitor "LVDS Panel":
RHDValidateScaledToMode
rhdModeValidateCrtc
DxModeValid: ATOM CRTC 1
rhdAtomOutputModeValid
Listing modesetting layout:
ATOM CRTC 1: tied to Atom PLL 1 and LUT A:
	Outputs: AtomOutput UniphyE (PANEL)
ATOM CRTC 2: unused
	Unused Outputs: AtomOutput DACA, AtomOutput UniphyA
CRTC0>DIG1>UNIPHYE>LVDS Encoder= 0x00 Transmitter = 0x12
CRTC1>DAC > DACA >VGA Encoder=0x10 Transmitter = 0x00
CRTC1>DIG2>UNIPHYA>HDMI Encoder= 0x01 Transmitter = 0x10

That is correct but your Radeon dump doesn't look complete. Where is DisplayPort?

port0 >VGA=0x00000010 - ControlFlag=0x0010 - Features = 0x00 -----------Hotplug=0x00 - i2cid=90 > SenseLine=0x01
port1 >LVDS=0x00000002 - ControlFlag=0x0040 - Features = 0x09 -----------Hotplug=0x01 - i2cid=96 > SenseLine=0x07
port2 >HDMI=0x00000800 - ControlFlag=0x0200 - Features = 0x00 -----------Hotplug=0x02 - i2cid=91 > SenseLine=0x02
port3 >DP=0x00000400 - ControlFlag=0x0100 - Features = 0x00 -----------Hotplug=0x03 - i2cid=94 > SenseLine=0x05

10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 10 00 01 VGA
02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 12 00 01 07 LVDS
00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 01 02 05 HDMI

HDMI senseid is incorrect. It should be 0x02 not 0x05. What framebuffer are you using? Does the boot file you're using already set the same framebuffer for your card?

Since you have 4 connections, try Vervet framebuffer & patch it with these:-
10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 10 00 01 (VGA)
02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 12 00 01 07 (LVDS)
00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 01 02 02 (HDMI)
00 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 11 00 04 02 (DP)


Vervet locations in ATIFramebuffer are:-
32bit: offset 0x00037538 (length is 40 in HEX)
64bit: offset 0x00013880 (length is 40 in HEX)

Hello, some progress here! But I'm struggling with the LVDS!

Good job!

This was giving me no display initialization, staying in command line, though system was booted.

This is what you get when the ATIFramebuffer.kext doesn't installed properly. When it doesn't installed properly, it won't load.

So, according to linux Xorg logs, which said:
LVDS UNIPHY2(DIG0), VGA DAC1, HDMI & DP UNIPHY(DIG1). DIG0 should equal to mucha's DIG1 and DIG1 to mucha's DIG2.
I modified accordingly to:


Patched connection table:-
--> 00013880 02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 02 00 00 05 (LVDS)
--> 00013890 10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 10 01 06 (VGA)
--> 000138A0 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 02 01 (HDMI)
--> 000138B0 00 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 01 04 02 (DP)


[b]VGA is working correctly. HDMI is working correctly. DP I don't know but I think so.
on HDMI I tried also 10 as transmitter and it works.

Good job again! The patched ATIFramebuffer.kext I prepared just to help you to get started quickly. Only need to fixed the transmitter & encoder for your card, just like you did here.

[b]LVDS is giving me BLACK screem with acrive backlight. I can see from the HDMI output that the internal display is recognized, it even changes resolution, but it stays BLACK..

When you got blank on LVDS, does external monitor connected? Try unplugged all external monitor. See whether you got video on LVDS after unplugged the external monitor(s).

#60
sydlix

sydlix

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

That is correct but your Radeon dump doesn't look complete. Where is DisplayPort?

HDMI senseid is incorrect. It should be 0x02 not 0x05. What framebuffer are you using? Does the boot file you're using already set the same framebuffer for your card?

Since you have 4 connections, try Vervet framebuffer & patch it with these:-
10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 10 00 01 (VGA)
02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 12 00 01 07 (LVDS)
00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 10 01 02 02 (HDMI)
00 04 00 00 00 04 00 00 00 01 00 00 11 00 04 02 (DP)


Vervet locations in ATIFramebuffer are:-
32bit: offset 0x00037538 (length 40 in HEX)
64bit: offset 0x00013880 (length 40 in HEX)



This is what you get when the ATIFramebuffer.kext doesn't installed properly. When it doesn't installed properly, it won't load.

Good job again! The patched ATIFramebuffer.kext I prepared just to help you to get started quickly. Only need to fixed the transmitter & encoder for your card, just like you did here.

When you got blank on LVDS, does external monitor connected? Try unplugged all external monitor. See whether you got video on LVDS after unplugged the external monitor(s).

When my LVDS is blank, I can connect/disconnect HDMI, and it is recognized, but LVDS stays blank. System says the internal display is connected, gives resolution change, info, everything like it is working, but it is black! I don't know what to do, the dumps says that it is UNIPHY2 so I tried 0x02 0x12 0x22 as transmitters. With 0x12 if I remember correctly the display was recognized but after disconnecting and reconnecting hdmi was no more detected. So it seems that the most correct one is DUAL A+B = 0x02, althrough it gives black display. I am gonna try something with the features, like 0x08 (only backlight?).

If you have any suggestion let me know.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy