Jump to content

[GUIDE] Installing Snow Leopard/Leopard retail DVD on the GA-E7AUM-DS2H


  • Please log in to reply
758 replies to this topic

#581
olegischinski

olegischinski

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

So I went back to the dlach method in the first post (F3a bios, etc) and my machine is working great. Have video and audio all working. I would still like to get my 8gb of ram online too. So I'm considering buying a cheap video card instead of trying the aserebln method (given that I've lost HOURS on trying to get that to work).

Does anyone have a recommendation for an inexpensive plug and play video card?

hi shawndoggy,

good to see - I think it's most important, that you have a working installation.

If you do feel like playing arround, you can try out an installation as follows:
1. You need 2 USB memory sticks and my attached image file.
2. Download the image and place it on your Desktop.
3. Restore your Mac OS X Install DVD to the first USB stick, like described in serveral tutorials out there. (This is very usefull at all and speeds up boot and installation process.)
4. Prepare a ChameleonBoot Stick with the second one
4a. Plug in the stick and open DiskUtility.app
4b. Format it with one partition (fat) and be sure that under "Options" "Master Boot Record" is selected.
4c. Find out the device number of the stick (use Info button, it will show you e.g. disk2)
4d. Unmount the stick (not eject)
4e. Open Terminal.app and type
sudo dd if=Desktop/ChameleonBoot.dmg of=/dev/rdiskX
X = Number of stick you've found out in 4c.
This will takes about one minute, be patient. After dd has quit, it will give you a result message and OSX will mount the dumped stick automaticly. (Shown as "ChameleonBoot" on your Desktop)

If you had success with these steps, you can try out, if your OS X Install DVD Stick (3.) will boot.
You can use all your RAM, it won't touch your workin installation.
But you have to flash your BIOS to F4 before and make the right settings.

5. Switch out your PC, plug in both sticks. During boot hit F12, select Hard Disk as boot device, in the appearing sub menue select the Chameleon USB stick (it will shown with the manufactor's ID)
6. Chameleon Boot Menue comes up and you can select Mac OS X Install DVD. Now it should brings you into the Installation Environment.

Now you can decide to make an installation on your second HDD, later you can boot this installation with the ChameleonBoot stick too. (via F12 button)

If it fails go back to your working installation and don't forget to flash the BIOS to F3 in this case.

Good luck!

Edit Oct 03 2010
Doosje has uploaded a patched Chameleon-RC5, so I've modified the image for the stick with this bootloader.
If you're booting your installation with the ChameleonBoot stick, just create a new one with the attached image and speedstep should work.

Edit Jul 07 2011
For an image ready for Lion go here

Edit Aug 31 2012
For an image ready for Mountain Lion go here

Attached Files



#582
shawndoggy

shawndoggy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

hi shawndoggy,

good to see - I think it's most important, that you have a working installation.

If you do feel like playing arround, you can try out an installation as follows:


YES! Thank you oleg... that totally worked!

I've been running on 4gb of ram for 24 hours without issue.

Can I run the updates? Do I need any additional kexts? Audio and video both worked "out of the box" so I'm assuming not?

#583
shawndoggy

shawndoggy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
sweet, updated to 10.6.4 no problemo.

#584
olegischinski

olegischinski

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Can I run the updates? Do I need any additional kexts? Audio and video both worked "out of the box" so I'm assuming not?

... it is a really fast way to install OSX, isn't it? :-)
Yes you can run the updates, as you already test yourself.

You can use your "old" installation with the Boot stick too. Just delete /Extra and /boot on that partition.

Next step should be, to have a workin speedstep. The easiest way is, to place the VoodooPStat.kext in your /S/L/E and load it via Terminal.app (sudo kextload /System/Library/Extensions/VoodooPState.kext) Don't forget to remove xattr and set the right ownership and permissions. You can find the kext here (The download voodoopstate.v4 contains it.)
Or you edit the DSDT on your boot stick. For this you will find several information in our forum and in the topic linked above.

Further you can edit the com.apple.boot.plist on your boot stick (e.g. insert key "Graphics Mode") to make the boot process more comfortable and for cosmetic reasons. It's easy to find possible options and syntax out there.

At least you can install bootloader, kexts and DSDT on your HDD ... ;-)

#585
dlach

dlach

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts

hi shawndoggy,

good to see - I think it's most important, that you have a working installation.

If you do feel like playing arround, you can try out an installation as follows:
1. You need 2 USB memory sticks and my attached image file.
2. Download the image and place it on your Desktop.
3. Restore your Mac OS X Install DVD to the first USB stick, like described in serveral tutorials out there. (This is very usefull at all and speeds up boot and installation process.)
4. Prepare a ChameleonBoot Stick with the second one
4a. Plug in the stick and open DiskUtility.app
4b. Format it with one partition (fat) and be sure that under "Options" "Master Boot Record" is selected.
4c. Find out the device number of the stick (use Info button, it will show you e.g. disk2)
4d. Deactivate the stick (not eject)
4e. Open Terminal.app and type

sudo dd if=Desktop/ChameleonBoot.dmg of=/dev/rdiskX
X = Number of stick you've found out in 4c.
This will takes about one minute, be patient. After dd has quit, it will give you a result message and OSX will mount the dumped stick automaticly. (Shown as "ChameleonBoot" on you Desktop)

If you had success with these steps, you can try out, if your OS X Install DVD Stick (3.) will boot.
You can use all your RAM, it won't touch your workin installation.
But you have to flash your BIOS to F4 before and make the right settings.

5. Switch out your PC, plug in both sticks. During boot hit F12, select Hard Disk as boot device, in the appearing sub menue select the Chameleon USB stick (it will shown with the manufactor's ID)
6. Chameleon Boot Menue comes up and you can select Mac OS X Install DVD. Now it should brings you into the Installation Environment.

Now you can decide to make an installation on your second HDD, later you can boot this installation with the ChameleonBoot stick too. (via F12 button)

If it fails go back to your working installation and don't forget to flash the BIOS to F3 in this case.

Good luck!


Good job Olegischinski. I updated Post #1 to point to your post

#586
cleverjake

cleverjake

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Awesome, this is the first snow leopard install that actually worked for me. I am still not able to get VGA output though =\
i've tried patching the dsdt with tonymac's recommendations, as well as trying to generate an efi string and adding it's hex values to the boot.plist,and nvenabler, but nothing has worked thus far.

Any ideas as to what can be tried?

#587
olegischinski

olegischinski

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Awesome, this is the first snow leopard install that actually worked for me. I am still not able to get VGA output though =\
i've tried patching the dsdt with tonymac's recommendations, as well as trying to generate an efi string and adding it's hex values to the boot.plist,and nvenabler, but nothing has worked thus far.

Any ideas as to what can be tried?

hi cleverjake,

which installation method did you use?
Onboard graphics or any additional card?
Is there only a VGA cable plugged in or do you try out a dual head configuration?

#588
cleverjake

cleverjake

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

hi cleverjake,

which installation method did you use?
Onboard graphics or any additional card?
Is there only a VGA cable plugged in or do you try out a dual head configuration?


Sorry I wasn't more clear.

I used your latest dualusb installation method a few posts up.
It's the onboard graphics.
I've tried both just the VGA port, and dual dvi and VGA, neither work. They fully boot, but once it gets to the point where it would go to the desktop, it turns black and stays that way. The goal is dual in the end though.

I am able to ssh in while the vga port is connected, so it seems to only be a video issue.

#589
olegischinski

olegischinski

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Sorry I wasn't more clear.

I used your latest dualusb installation method a few posts up.
It's the onboard graphics.
I've tried both just the VGA port, and dual dvi and VGA, neither work. They fully boot, but once it gets to the point where it would go to the desktop, it turns black and stays that way. The goal is dual in the end though.

I am able to ssh in while the vga port is connected, so it seems to only be a video issue.

... there is only one OSX installation on your HDD, right?
There was a VGA (or DVI) output during installation?
Are you able to boot the vanilla installation (no modifications, no Extra folder nor DSDT) with this ChameleonBoot stick?

#590
cleverjake

cleverjake

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

... there is only one OSX installation on your HDD, right?
There was a VGA (or DVI) output during installation?
Are you able to boot the vanilla installation (no modifications, no Extra folder nor DSDT) with this ChameleonBoot stick?


I reinstalled and vga works alone now, but still no dual output

Snow leopard is the only thing on this disk. I have a seperate drive that I boot leopard off of.
Dvi and vga worked during installation, just not at the same time. Just like how it is now, when I have just a dvi plugged in and boot, it works, then when I plug in vga after it booted, both screens go black. if I unplug the vga the dvi works again. When I boot with vga now, the vga boots, but when I plug in a dvi after it has fully booted, both screen go black, and unplugging either cable doesnt help.

I removed the Extra folder from the chameleonboot usb that you supplied and it kernel paniced.

#591
olegischinski

olegischinski

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

I reinstalled and vga works alone now, but still no dual output

Snow leopard is the only thing on this disk. I have a seperate drive that I boot leopard off of.
Dvi and vga worked during installation, just not at the same time. Just like how it is now, when I have just a dvi plugged in and boot, it works, then when I plug in vga after it booted, both screens go black. if I unplug the vga the dvi works again. When I boot with vga now, the vga boots, but when I plug in a dvi after it has fully booted, both screen go black, and unplugging either cable doesnt help.

Sorry, in this case I can't help you, because I have only one screen. The only thing I've tested was a simple VGA or DVI output.

I removed the Extra folder from the chameleonboot usb that you supplied and it kernel paniced.

Here I was a little bit misty. Of course you need the Extra folder on the stick. (I meant a possibly existing folder on HDD.)

#592
cleverjake

cleverjake

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Sorry, in this case I can't help you, because I have only one screen. The only thing I've tested was a simple VGA or DVI output.


ah poo.
I really appreciate all the work youve done thus far. If you can think of anything worth trying, i'd be happy to test it for you.

#593
olegischinski

olegischinski

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

ah poo.
I really appreciate all the work youve done thus far. If you can think of anything worth trying, i'd be happy to test it for you.

poo too :-)

my only contribution is, to share may experiences on this board - the real work was done by others.
Would nice to see, that your dual head comes true ...

#594
cleverjake

cleverjake

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I got it to work with an efi string finally =]

removing graphicsenable and adding


[codebox]
<key>device-string</key>
<string>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</string>
[/codebox]


to the com.apple.Boot.plist in the Extra folder of the ChameleonBoot did the trick.

The only cavet is that this appears to removes Quartz Extreme. This doesnt really affect me, as I can still have dual screen and run netflix simultaneously withotu a problem.

#595
LJSeinfeld

LJSeinfeld

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Gender:Male
Minor development -- ran Onyx to do some system maintenance, and lost sound... again. Needed to run the following commands to get sound back (digital optical out).

I always have to execute the command from step 17 in 2 sections (copy/paste the first line, ENTER; copy/paste the second line), is that normal?

If possible I'd like to save the sequence described below as a script that I could invoke as needed... but I'm not sure how to handle the Step 17 part. Any guidance in that department would be appreciated.



16) Repair permissions on the directories BEFORE you regeneratte the extensions cache. In a terminal window:

sudo chown -vR root:wheel /Extra/ 
	  sudo chmod -vR 755 /Extra/Extensions

17) Rebuild your Extensions.mkext file running the following commands in a terminal window (thanks to rbonon/zhell):
sudo rm /Extra/Extensions.mkext 
	 sudo kextcache -v 1 -t -l -m /Extra/Extensions.mkext \ 
		/Extra/Extensions /System/Library/Extensions


18) For good measure, repair the disk permissions using the disk utility



#596
dlach

dlach

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts

Minor development -- ran Onyx to do some system maintenance, and lost sound... again. Needed to run the following commands to get sound back (digital optical out).

I always have to execute the command from step 17 in 2 sections (copy/paste the first line, ENTER; copy/paste the second line), is that normal?

If possible I'd like to save the sequence described below as a script that I could invoke as needed... but I'm not sure how to handle the Step 17 part. Any guidance in that department would be appreciated.



This works well. Pfix

#597
Warped

Warped

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
Hi *

I just upgraded my PC from GA-P35 (all hw+sleep fully working) to GA-E7UAM-DS2H by simple mobo replace. After adding nvkush.kext all hw seems to be working except shutdown & sleep.

After entering shutdown seems like OS and all hw correctly shutdowns and PC hangs exactly on hw power-off stage (video is off, hdd s off but mobo power is still on fans are still spinning).

Entering sleep cause hang on exactly the same stage (sleep sequence seems OK, video is off, hdd is off, but power still on)

All this suggest me issue is somewhere in very last steep - when system asks ACPI/hw to power off PSU.

I tried 3 different Halt/Restart kexts - no change.

Maybe somebody can point me which other kexts or sys components should I touch for resolving this issue ?

Sys is 10.6.4. HW is GA-E7UAM-DS2H; C2D E5400, 2G RAM, IGP9400 with 128MB VRAM.

thx in advance

#598
netcastle

netcastle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
Graphics update anyone?

#599
genzai

genzai

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco
Can anyone with the know-how patch the latest chameleon RC5 versions with the adidasprince 4gb fix so we can play with the cool new chameleon features?

or if someone can show me how to do it i can compile future releases and post them here.

Many thanks,
g\

#600
radov4n

radov4n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Location:Siberia
Does anyone have nForceLAN.kext working (including after resume from sleep) on 10.6.4?

I can't get it to work for the life of me (either 0.64.6 or 0.64.5). They won't even load. As for older versions, they do load, but I have no network present - card just sits there, but no functionality. (And yes, I removed nvenet.kext.)

nvenet.kext alone works fine, but the dreaded sleep issue..

Thanks in advance.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy