Jump to content

NEW INSTALL: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R


  • Please log in to reply
767 replies to this topic

#601
Eliade

Eliade

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male

im on 4gb of ram if i was gonna up to 8gb will notice a difference?
Also what is a good case and PSU for QUIET SETUP.

Thanks.


as seanmcd said you probably don't need it if you are asking ;)
one way to check is to open the "activity monitor", use spotlight you'll find right away...
do that in the middle of your usual activity, not right after startup that would be useless...
at the bottom of the window go to the System memory tab if your "red" and "orange" together are close to the full 4GB then a little more memory may help.
the blue is memory saved from program you opened then closed, so they can open faster afterward. For example after running photoshop once and fully quitting it, the second time photoshop loads, it's ready to use in less than 4 seconds (I remember photoshop opening in almost a minute years ago).

I upgraded to 8GB but I use softwares that uses it
on average my usage is between 4GB and 6GB

---

the case is one thing but the fan you use are even more important
Antec p182 is known to be quiet, but too expensive for my taste
I just switched my case, bought a "Cooler Master 690", still not a cheap one but affordable, around $80 (http://www.compsourc...ler_Master_110/)
it's a good alternative to the p182, the case is very open, so if your fan are loud it won't be great, but the fact that it's open you can use a lot of fan running at low speed, making it a quiet case...

For me auto timed is still not functioning properly.


did you try the fix xgenius posted today, about firefox being the issue

#602
cwall64

cwall64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 81 posts

as seanmcd said you probably don't need it if you are asking :)
one way to check is to open the "activity monitor", use spotlight you'll find right away...
do that in the middle of your usual activity, not right after startup that would be useless...
at the bottom of the window go to the System memory tab if your "red" and "orange" together are close to the full 4GB then a little more memory may help.
the blue is memory saved from program you opened then closed, so they can open faster afterward. For example after running photoshop once and fully quitting it, the second time photoshop loads, it's ready to use in less than 4 seconds (I remember photoshop opening in almost a minute years ago).

I upgraded to 8GB but I use softwares that uses it
on average my usage is between 4GB and 6GB

---

the case is one thing but the fan you use are even more important
Antec p182 is known to be quiet, but too expensive for my taste
I just switched my case, bought a "Cooler Master 690", still not a cheap one but affordable, around $80 (http://www.compsourc...ler_Master_110/)
it's a good alternative to the p182, the case is very open, so if your fan are loud it won't be great, but the fact that it's open you can use a lot of fan running at low speed, making it a quiet case...
did you try the fix xgenius posted today, about firefox being the issue

Yes, I did try the Firefox setting. One question, I am not using the UUID.kext from the package, what is it's purpose?

#603
Eliade

Eliade

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male

Yes, I did try the Firefox setting. One question, I am not using the UUID.kext from the package, what is it's purpose?


it removes the "uuid error 35" seen in the console

#604
hendricius

hendricius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi,

Successfully installed iDeneb 10.5.6 like 3 weeks ago, everything was fine.
But now I decided to upgrade to 10.5.7 with the regular software update from mac itself, and now there are no output devices to choose from in the sound menu. Input is still there and working from my logitech vision pro webcam (awesome cam btw =D).

I've tried the 16 May package from eliade, but it didn't seem to fix it. I haven't really installed any other kexts, except for the shutdown fix and alcinject from the very first post from the thread (and ofcourse video, ethernet drivers etc.)
Everything works, just the output -.- ghey

Anyway, anyone else having this problem? If so do you know how can I fix it? I have a working backup from time machine just in case.

Thanks in advance.

pc specs:
CPU: Intel Q6600
GPU: geforce 8600 GT
MOBO: GA-EP45-UD3R
MEM: 4 Gigs

#605
Eliade

Eliade

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi,

Successfully installed iDeneb 10.5.6 like 3 weeks ago, everything was fine.
But now I decided to upgrade to 10.5.7 with the regular software update from mac itself, and now there are no output devices to choose from in the sound menu. Input is still there and working from my logitech vision pro webcam (awesome cam btw =D).

I've tried the 16 May package from eliade, but it didn't seem to fix it. I haven't really installed any other kexts, except for the shutdown fix and alcinject from the very first post from the thread (and ofcourse video, ethernet drivers etc.)
Everything works, just the output -.- ghey

Anyway, anyone else having this problem? If so do you know how can I fix it? I have a working backup from time machine just in case.

Thanks in advance.

pc specs:
CPU: Intel Q6600
GPU: geforce 8600 GT
MOBO: GA-EP45-UD3R
MEM: 4 Gigs


the problem is that you are using a modified OSX DVD, in this thread almost all of us uses the original unmodified Retail DVD that you can buy in an apple store, and everything I do is targeted for the retail install...
Modified DVD are great for hardware that does not support the original kernel, but our board fortunately does, so the Retail is much better...
and chameleon is the best boot loader for retail install

you may have selected the chameleon or not in your ideneb install...
anyway I'll try to help you

in your case since you system is already "messed up" (with the retail install we try to modify as little as possible in the system itself, ideneb probably butchered it...)
so you might as well just use kexthelper, and drag the three sound kext to it (the ones from my latest pack that you already donwloaded...) and click install

that should fix your sound problem...

if it doesn't work than I'd suggest re-installing osx but this time using the original retail disk... because the issue is due to a modification made by idened, and not having an ideneb system right in front of me I can't really help you much more...

if you absolutely want to use a modified osx install (which I don't recommend, retail install isn't hard at all) then use XxX osx DVD
someone in this thread used it and is able to use my pack like any retail install...


good luck

#606
seanmcd

seanmcd

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
Tmongkol has updated his audio kext pack with 10.5.7 versions for the UD3R!
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=140941

I'm back in business with front headphones and rear sound, no popping so far. (all legacy kexts in the Extra\Extensions folder)

#607
Eliade

Eliade

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male

Tmongkol has updated his audio kext pack with 10.5.7 versions for the UD3R!
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=140941

I'm back in business with front headphones and rear sound, no popping so far. (all legacy kexts in the Extra\Extensions folder)


cool, I'll update the pack tomorrow

#608
hendricius

hendricius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

cool, I'll update the pack tomorrow


Hey thanks for the help! I've been on the forums a while, but never really posted ;)
Anyways Kexthelper worked, kudos!

#609
Bolded

Bolded

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
Quick question my PC was a little loud, so I ended up buying a new PSU, which helped A LOT reducing noise and etc..
Now the problem is, the fan on my xFx 9800GT, the fan is on loud all the time so i think its on at 100% load, is there anyway i can reduce the fan speed or what are my options here.

#610
Eliade

Eliade

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male
UPDATED PACK with new sound:

Attached File  Pack_for_10.5.7___May20.zip   1.74MB   210 downloads

I added a bunch of readme I just made: how to use this pack, tips and tricks, how to install from retail disk , etc...
don't hesitate to edit/update/add more detail to the readmes and how to's, I did it quickly and I'm sure it can be improved... then post them so that I can replace them in the pack
that will lower the number of repeated usual questions... in this thread

#611
GIBRONGIB

GIBRONGIB

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:jamaica

UPDATED PACK with new sound:

Attached File  Pack_for_10.5.7___May20.zip   1.74MB   210 downloads

I added a bunch of readme I just made: how to use this pack, tips and tricks, how to install from retail disk , etc...
don't hesitate to edit/update/add more detail to the readmes and how to's, I did it quickly and I'm sure it can be improved... then post them so that I can replace them in the pack
that will lower the number of repeated usual questions... in this thread


thanks very much this is a nice pack, i know its a lot of work but if you could add bios setting and include
over clocking it would be complete.
why this so nice because ive read all of this forum and sometimes its hard to remember exactly where
to find something so to have all instruction and kext in one place is sweet. im really glad i switch to this board. thanks irie man

#612
Eliade

Eliade

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts
  • Gender:Male

thanks very much this is a nice pack, i know its a lot of work but if you could add bios setting and include
over clocking it would be complete.
why this so nice because ive read all of this forum and sometimes its hard to remember exactly where
to find something so to have all instruction and kext in one place is sweet. im really glad i switch to this board. thanks irie man



thanks

bios setting are already there in the "How to install OSX retail" step 4 :)

as for overclock info
it's different for everyone (even for two identical cpu with the same stepping), and pretty much out of topic, so this is something I'll never add sorry...
I did add some overcklock related info, but only stuff related directly with OSX (like the fact that at least with Q6600 at FBS 400 the system does not wake up from sleep in 10.5.7... but if you lower the FBS to 390 sleep should work again, or that voodoo.kext won't let you boot at "lower" overclock, in my case over a 600Mhz overclock voodoo doesn't let me boot, without it I can do a 1200Mhz overclock, unfortunately my CPU cooler won't allow it, it boots, seems stable and everything but load temps gets too high for my taste: over 71C)

#613
Bolded

Bolded

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
Alright so i got another IDE HDD and tried to install Windows 7 i got errors and found out i need to unplug my Sata HDD so i did and i got 7 installed on my IDE HDD and it boots fine.
So i enabled AHCI and plugged in my mac Sata HDD and it co mes to the Chameloen bootloader and i see the mac and the windows.
Mac works.
when i click on Windows i get the error "BootMGR is missing"
Any help to resolve the issue?

#614
boreas

boreas

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
I have tried to configure 5.1 output using consolation "HOW TO" , but without any success.
It is anybody succeeded that?

#615
grice

grice

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
Hi,
Well, I am a bit stumped at the moment. After my previous working install, I've installed Leopard with Chameleon 2.0 on my second testbed harddrive. I much prefer this method because I can use smbios.plist & a GFX string in the Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist to identify the Mac and my 9800GT without needing to use nvinject or having to change the S/L/E folder at all. I used Eliade's 10.5.7 kext pack (thanks man) and put everything into Extra/Extensions. At this point, I've not updated this install from 10.5.6 to 10.5.7 yet.

The problem now is that I can't get Time machine to work although I used UInstaller to write the Ethernet Time machine fix (to the Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist ; and having the GFX string to work.

Basically, I can have either the GFX string working or Time machine working, but not both.

I've tried writing the Ethernet TM fix to the com.apple.Boot.plist in the Extra folder and keeping a clean (unchanged) com.apple.Boot.plist in SystemConfiguration, but it doesn't work.

Here's my current extra/com.apple.Boot.plist . Can someone (Eliade?) show me what I've written wrong?



<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string></string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1200x32</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a0100000001010600041c0
01060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>cd0300000100000001000000c10300001500000002010c00d041030a010000000101060000010
01060000007fff040014000000400032002c006e0061006d00650000001100000073656e736f722d
06172656e74220000005600520041004d002c0074006f00740061006c00730069007a00650000000
0000000000002036000000400032002c00680077006300740072006c002d0070006100720061006d
073002d00760065007200730069006f006e00000008000000000000021c000000640065007600690
630065005f0074007900700065000000100000004e5644412c4765466f7263650e0000006e006100
d00650000000f0000004e5644412c506172656e7422000000400030002c006400650076006900630
65005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c6179100000006d006f00640065006c0000
01a0000004e5649444941204765466f726365203938303020475422000000400031002c006400650
76006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c617912000000400032002c
07200650067000000080000000000000222000000400032002c006400650076006900630065005f0
74007900700065000000120000004e5644412c6770752d64696f646520000000400032002c006300
f006d00700061007400690062006c0065000000160000004e5644412c73656e736f722d706172656
7422000000400032002c002300730069007a0065002d00630065006c006c00730000000800000000
0000020000000400031002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5
44412c4e564d616314000000400030002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973
06c61792d413a000000400032002c0068007700730065006e0073006f0072002d007000610072006
006d0073002d00760065007200730069006f006e000000080000000000000226000000400032002c
023006100640072006500730073002d00630065006c006c007300000008000000000000011400000
400031002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d42200000004000
0002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d61631
00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900730069006f006e0000000900000033313732611000
0004e00560043004100500000001800000004000000000003000c00000000000007000000000e000
004e00560050004d0000002000000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
00000</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>-f</key>
<string></string>
</dict>
</plist>

The TM string fix is this :



<key>device-properties</key>
<string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a0100000001010600041c0
01060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>


I've tried writing it in both the system config/com.apple.Boot.plist and the Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist and also writing it in one and not the other. Still no luck. :rolleyes: I'm staying with Chameleon 2.0 but I also want TM to work, with the GFX string (the loooooong hex string.)

#616
gmacman

gmacman

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, California

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string></string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1200x32</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a0100000001010600041c0
01060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>cd0300000100000001000000c10300001500000002010c00d041030a010000000101060000010
01060000007fff040014000000400032002c006e0061006d00650000001100000073656e736f722d
06172656e74220000005600520041004d002c0074006f00740061006c00730069007a00650000000
0000000000002036000000400032002c00680077006300740072006c002d0070006100720061006d
073002d00760065007200730069006f006e00000008000000000000021c000000640065007600690
630065005f0074007900700065000000100000004e5644412c4765466f7263650e0000006e006100
d00650000000f0000004e5644412c506172656e7422000000400030002c006400650076006900630
65005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c6179100000006d006f00640065006c0000
01a0000004e5649444941204765466f726365203938303020475422000000400031002c006400650
76006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c617912000000400032002c
07200650067000000080000000000000222000000400032002c006400650076006900630065005f0
74007900700065000000120000004e5644412c6770752d64696f646520000000400032002c006300
f006d00700061007400690062006c0065000000160000004e5644412c73656e736f722d706172656
7422000000400032002c002300730069007a0065002d00630065006c006c00730000000800000000
0000020000000400031002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5
44412c4e564d616314000000400030002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973
06c61792d413a000000400032002c0068007700730065006e0073006f0072002d007000610072006
006d0073002d00760065007200730069006f006e000000080000000000000226000000400032002c
023006100640072006500730073002d00630065006c006c007300000008000000000000011400000
400031002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d42200000004000
0002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d61631
00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900730069006f006e0000000900000033313732611000
0004e00560043004100500000001800000004000000000003000c00000000000007000000000e000
004e00560050004d0000002000000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
00000</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>-f</key>
<string></string>
</dict>
</plist>

The TM string fix is this :

<key>device-properties</key>
<string>4b00000001000000010000003f0000000100000002010c00d041030a0100000001010600041c0
01060000007fff0400160000006200750069006c0074002d0069006e0000000500000001</string>


A few things. One thing is that you have two Graphics Mode keys. Not sure if that's okay or not. You may want to remove the first one since the string is blank, that is, if you are set on the 1920x1200 setting ( I don't have that setting and instead just have the blank one and everything works fine).

Second, you have Kernel Flags = Yes, I believe you need to specify what flags you want on not just "yes".

The only other thing I can think of is that both the TM fix and your graphics need to be within one device-properties string. But again, not really sure if that matters. But to get them both at the same time I have Uinstaller add them once. Meaning when using UInstaller check the box for the Ethernet/Time Machine fix AND select your video card efi string.

Oh, and keep in mind that the com.apple.Boot.plist in the /Extra folder will always overwrite the real one in the Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration folder so you can have that one the original Apple one. Also remember that UInstaller changes the one in the /L/P/SC folder NOT the one in the /Extra folder. You must manipulate those (i.e., copy them from one place to the other) for yourself.

#617
xgenius

xgenius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
What CPU cooler do you guys use ? I have a E8500 (Core 2 Duo) and using the stock cooler. I am tired of the whine from the noisy stock fan. Planning to get rid of it, any suggestions? It need not be the quietest, but better than the stock Intel cooler, and something that will fit in the mb layout

Thanks in advance !


@grice :

I think gmacman is right. I have only one device-properties entry (for both GFX and Time machine fix) in Boot.plist file. Definitely give that a try

#618
Edkroket

Edkroket

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Interests:Music, I'm a bass player

What CPU cooler do you guys use ? I have a E8500 (Core 2 Duo) and using the stock cooler. I am tired of the whine from the noisy stock fan. Planning to get rid of it, any suggestions? It need not be the quietest, but better than the stock Intel cooler, and something that will fit in the mb layout

Thanks in advance !


@grice :

I think gmacman is right. I have only one device-properties entry (for both GFX and Time machine fix) in Boot.plist file. Definitely give that a try


I hhave a Q6600 2,4GHz and just bought this week a non stock cooler. I have a Scynte Mugen 1000.
It keeps my CPU very nice cool with no extra noise! Running at 3,6 GHz, 1.4125 V, FSB400, idle temps are 35
full load they are 58. I realy love it!!
Today I reached 3,8GHz with good temp as wel but not stable yet.

EdPosted Image

#619
grice

grice

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

The only other thing I can think of is that both the TM fix and your graphics need to be within one device-properties string. But again, not really sure if that matters. But to get them both at the same time I have Uinstaller add them once. Meaning when using UInstaller check the box for the Ethernet/Time Machine fix AND select your video card efi string.




:)


I knew I could get the answer here! Heh, I'm an idiot. Used UInstaller to select both TM fix & "custom Nvidia" for my 9800 GT (enter details) at the bottom of the list, instead of getting the GFX string from hex out & then writing that into the Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist - which is what I had been doing wrong. Now everything works. I think this is the better method. Thanks guys!

#620
wildchild

wildchild

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Hey everyone,

I just wanted to say thanks to everyone whose been involved with this particular project. It has been a great help.

I tried for the first time to install a retail copy of 10.5.6 but it cannot locate my HDD.

I have purchased a separate 40 GB Western Digital SATA 7200RPM drive for this use, but anytime I boot into the retail install screen, it cannot identify the Hard drive at all.

Even when I go into the disk utility, all it sees is the DVD drive with the retail disc.

When I attempt to boot with my 320GB WD SATA HDD, it comes up perfect with the 2 partitions I already have on there and detects everything just fine.

I have browsed these forums and others and have tried everything possible, including creating two partitions, setting up an "id=af" partition through diskpart to no avail.

Any help would be much appreciated.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy