Jump to content

HP 6520s, 6720s, 6820s, 550 SL Install Package

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1442 replies to this topic

#921
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,615 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

@ juanerson & BlackCH:

I Thank you very much for your fast reply.
This is very Sad. I have buyed this Notebook 1/2 Year ago and the seller told me, that this Model has a GL965 Chipset :-(

But ok, i will look for a another Notebook.

Sleep doesnt work on my Notebook. After waking up, i have a black Screen and i can see only the Mouse Cursor.

Greetings from Munich.


You can still put a 667 fsb core 2 duo in there. They are cheap in ebay

#922
LSD_GPx

LSD_GPx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
Great job guys!
I have a 6720 and installing has been a walk in the park

thanks!

#923
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
[quote name='juanerson' date='Apr 5 2011, 04:15 PM' post='1666240']
Hi nick433, I have some questions. First: your laptop has the last BIOS (from hp site) running?. Second, are you using the dsdt v0.20 (provided), loaded from /Extra? So, you NEED those two conditions for proper functionality (in all aspects). Then (just in case), with the last BIOS installed, please can you upload a fresh dsdt.aml (save as .aml) from windows (everest or AIDA64 for that)? Maybe I can help you. Good Luck.

I have updated my bios to F.0D and I am using dsdt v02.20 when I add a widget to dashboard it ripples so I think the graphic so ok. I still can not figure out why I can not got it to sleep. I am uploading the dsdt i got from everest. Thank you for your time Attached File  acpi_dsdt.aml.zip   30.82KB   7 downloads

#924
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela

I have updated my bios to F.0D and I am using dsdt v02.20 when I add a widget to dashboard it ripples so I think the graphic so ok. I still can not figure out why I can not got it to sleep. I am uploading the dsdt i got from everest. Thank you for your time Attached File  acpi_dsdt.aml.zip   30.82KB   7 downloads

Great! I will take a better look and report back. It seems to be a little bit different than 6720s dsdt. I mean, talking about nomenclature, and the most important thing about "OperationRegion" sections for proper sleep function (For Example= mode 3 = memory + HDD), and specially the old pure ram sleep mode 0. Also, maybe the problem coming from the integrated graphic card. I will make a dsdt test file for you.

EDITED: Please, THIS = F.0D N (4 Nov 2008) sp41876.exe (2.4 MB) is the exactly BIOS version that you have installed? Has the two graphic variants inside (autoinstall), which are: 68MDU (for intel video), and 68MDD (for ATI video).

#925
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Great! I will take a better look and report back. It seems to be a little bit different than 6720s dsdt. I mean, talking about nomenclature, and the most important thing about "OperationRegion" sections for proper sleep function (For Example= mode 3 = memory + HDD), and specially the old pure ram sleep mode 0. Also, maybe the problem coming from the integrated graphic card. I will make a dsdt test file for you.

EDITED: Please, THIS = F.0D N (4 Nov 2008) sp41876.exe (2.4 MB) is the exactly BIOS version that you have installed? Has the two graphic variants inside (autoinstall), which are: 68MDU (for intel video), and 68MDD (for ATI video).


I have installed sp41876d the u version says it not for my system.

#926
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela

I have installed sp41876d the u version says it not for my system.

Are you attempting from vista or XP? I think from se7en it can't be installed. BTW, that BIOS sp41876 from the installer (2click) should works by autodetection for your motherboard video controller. I am almost sure about that.

#927
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Are you attempting from vista or XP? I think from se7en it can't be installed. BTW, that BIOS sp41876 from the installer (2click) should works by autodetection for your motherboard video controller. I am almost sure about that.

I have ran hpqRun application on windows 7 had to run in compatibility XP mode but it said BIOS is not newer then BIOS F.0D is this not the right BIOS for my computer?

#928
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela

I have ran hpqRun application on windows 7 had to run in compatibility XP mode but it said BIOS is not newer then BIOS F.0D is this not the right BIOS for my computer?

Repeat, I am almost sure you NEED XP Pro or Vista NATIVE OSs (see system requeriments) to run the bios application. Or make the upgrade from MS DOS (boot flashdrive), but see BlackCH instrucctions for reference, and do the BIOS patched procedure with the MDD file (IMPORTANT - your case). Please, read carefully the text file into .zip (first post of the thread).

#929
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Repeat, I am almost sure you NEED XP Pro or Vista NATIVE OSs (see system requeriments) to run the bios application. Or make the upgrade from MS DOS (boot flashdrive), but see BlackCH instrucctions for reference, and do the BIOS patched procedure with the MDD file (IMPORTANT - your case). Please, read carefully the text file into .zip (first post of the thread).

I have BIOS Version 68MDD Ver. F.0D is this right for my computer? I don't understand the patch part of instructions.

#930
yushir

yushir

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts
Look, if you've got an Intel GMA x3100 download the one that labels "Intel Video".

If you have, otherwise, an ATI X**** download the one called "Ati Video".

Those must be downloaded from the unofficial site, as Juanerson said!

If you still can't patch (doesn't matter he's on 7) you'll have to do it the freeDOS - way. Just grab a Pendrive and follow the instructions.

#931
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,615 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

I have BIOS Version 68MDD Ver. F.0D is this right for my computer? I don't understand the patch part of instructions.


Download the one for ATI graphics here:
http://forums.mydigi...the-bios/page29

(post #290)

Read the whole post. It has usefull info and links

#932
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Download the one for ATI graphics here:
http://forums.mydigi...the-bios/page29

(post #290)

Read the whole post. It has usefull info and links

Thank Blackch I got it installed sorry I'm so thick in the head. I still haven't managed to get sleep to work yet. I did put in a solid state drive now it boots up in 25 seconds so thats not so bad. I also tried the generic dsdt it seams to run the fans better stays much cooler.

#933
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela
nick433, please can you upload a new dsdt.aml extracted from windows? Maybe I can fix the sleep problem for your laptop.

NOTE: Just for record about SLEEP... Have you installed and running "sleepwatcher" (automatized daemon) to manage automatically the unload/load of the extension AppleACPIThermal.kext (for fan control)? See the Activity Monitor for check.
Attached File  sleepwatcher_monitor.png   99.47KB   55 downloads

#934
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

nick433, please can you upload a new dsdt.aml extracted from windows? Maybe I can fix the sleep problem for your laptop.

NOTE: Just for record about SLEEP... Have you installed and running "sleepwatcher" (automatized daemon) to manage automatically the unload/load of the extension AppleACPIThermal.kext (for fan control)? See the Activity Monitor for check.
Attached File  sleepwatcher_monitor.png   99.47KB   55 downloads

I have done a fresh install and have checked to see if the files you have asked for are installed and they are there. here is a aml file from todayAttached File  6820s_dsdt.aml.zip   30.82KB   20 downloads Thanks again for your help

nick433, please can you upload a new dsdt.aml extracted from windows? Maybe I can fix the sleep problem for your laptop.

NOTE: Just for record about SLEEP... Have you installed and running "sleepwatcher" (automatized daemon) to manage automatically the unload/load of the extension AppleACPIThermal.kext (for fan control)? See the Activity Monitor for check.
Attached File  sleepwatcher_monitor.png   99.47KB   55 downloads

I have done a fresh install and have checked to see if the files you have asked for are installed and they are there. here is a aml file from todayAttached File  6820s_dsdt.aml.zip   30.82KB   20 downloads Thanks again for your help

#935
TruongSinh

TruongSinh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Hi nick433,

I am not sure if my solution works for you, but just try it. Beforehand, make sure "Secured virtual memory" unchecked.

Firstly, put your hackin into sleep mode, then wake it up (then, it hangs). Push and hold down power button so that your hackin is totally shut down.

Push the power button again so your hackin will boot normally. It detects that an sleep image and will try to restore (as from hibernation). Note: Chameleon dose not support "secured virtual memory"

From this time on, you can make your hackin sleep properly.

PS: once you restart or shut down your hackin, you have to redo the above procedure.

We still don't know what the cause is, and I don't know whether the system log can help, or where to find it.

#936
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
TruongSinh I tried it but made no difference I think that my problem may be x1350 graphic card.

#937
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela
Please be patient, late today I will post a DSDT optimized for 6820s. Should resolve sleep (ATI video cause) and temperature (corrected thermalzones) related problems. Its almost from scratch work based on nick433 dsdt.aml. Thanks for provide it.

Notes:
- This is ONLY FOR 6820s USERS (ATI video).

- I recommend the testing process from a new folder. You can create for example a folder on root directory called "DSDTtest", so just copy the NEW dsdt.aml inside there, and call it on next restart with the chameleon flag: DSDT=/DSDTtest/dsdt.aml
By this way you don't touch your actual dsdt.aml in /Extra.

- Consider a Cold-Boot for better results. Both sections, graphic and temperatures are critical at this point.

- VERY IMPORTANT: Please guys I hope comments, and upload your .ioreg (save a copy as -- from IORegistryExplorer) BEFORE dsdt (v0.20 or other) and AFTER (v0.25 test1). I NEED THAT INFORMATION. The two files into .zip.

Good Luck.
EDITED: DSDT (test2) in my next post. Recommended for this laptop model.

#938
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
juanerson, I hope I have done this right attachment=91365:ioreg682...re_after.zip] my computer is cooling great with your dsdt for 6820 never gets hot now and now the fan runs while on battery. I still get no sleep when I go to sleep the fan slows down but can not wake up. thanks again for your hard work

Attached Files



#939
juanerson

juanerson

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,427 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tru, Venezuela
OK, I saw your problems from your own IOReg. Thanks for sharing. That help me a lot to make a better dsdt for the 6820s.

First of all, READ THE WHOLE THREAD PLAESE... so, after read the post you will understand that you don't need the X3100 (intel) plugin inside FakeSMC (show package content), please see the capture. You can erase it, wait about 3 minutes, and then rebuilt cache running kextutility.app once, that operation repair automatically the permissions too. I think, after reboot you should go to sleep w/o problems because that plugin is unnnecesary and problematic (for me, too many problems) give me randoms KP all the time, and from a couple a months Im back to using the netkas one (refake by me) attached, please consider that "tjmax" of my Merom CPU is 100C (info.plist). Note: all my .kext are installed on /S/L/E (OPTIONAL).

Attached File  FakeSMC_plugins.png   79.03KB   92 downloads

Second and I repeat: READ THE WHOLE THREAD PLAESE (at least from May 01/2010). So, when you try go to sleep, are you see the blue light blinking intermittently? Sorry but, are you sure you have SleepWatcher running?

Third, wait the dsdt.aml test2. I will correct/add/optimize the dsdt based in your .ioreg... I will post later today.

EDITED: DONE! Please upload new .ioreg Attached File  6820s_TZ_PEGP_ATI_dsdt_v025_test2.zip   33.25KB   204 downloads

Attached Files



#940
nick433

nick433

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Juanerson, Attached File  compaq_6820s_test2.zip   382.77KB   100 downloadsHere is my .ioreg with the test 2 dsdt. I'm over moon now I HAVE SLEEP working. Thanks for all your hard work





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy