Jump to content

GMA X4500


  • Please log in to reply
1614 replies to this topic

#321
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

I still got a blank screen on Thinkpad t400-a98, using "-rf 2a42"

So which kexts are u guys used to patch, the original from 10.5.7 update DMG?

Could anyone give me a clue?


I used the iAtkos v7 install as it was, without any additional kexts. It worked fine, only having some mouse pointer problems as you can read above.

Ahh-- I misread your post (caffeine hadn't kicked in yet).

@Laci, Icompletely missed where you said it was working, but not visible. You might try playing with the VoodooPS2 preferences and then redoing the patch4500 script afterwards. See if there's a setting for hardware acceleration and try turning it off. I don't remember much of their preferences setting as it didn't work well for me, so I deleted it.

Having the dongle in/out will make no difference. I'm pretty sure your supposition that it's related to hardware versus software handling of the mouse is correct.

Do you have lspci working? I'd like to have someone test whether it finds the correct device id from your hardware. Since I don't have a 4500, I can't test that part (patch4500 gets my device id, then says sorry, you don't have a 4-series and quits, so I have to use -f in testing).


If by lspci working, you mean the script running without any -v or -f ****, then no, it says something about missing x4500 accelerator, and a few lines of missing methods. the only way i could get the script to do anything was with the -f selector.

I couldnt find anythins useful in the plist files inside the voodoo kext, so i'm now reinstalling iAtkos with another ps/driver (i was missing audio, power management, even ethernet anyway), and see if it works.

#322
coldequation

coldequation

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
It patches whatever is installed on your system. Tienneke has tested it with the stock 10.5.7 kexts and native resolution is enabled when the 2A42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext is deleted, which is what the -r switch does.

However, it is possible that the AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext is getting loaded somehow (perhaps you hexedited it before Trauma posted his script?). So just in case, try moving AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext out of /S/L/E and seeing if that helps.

It's also possible that this native resolution fix ONLY works with 10.5.7. I don't know, since the people who have reported success, have not posted what versions of the kexts they started with.

Lastly, are you sure that 2A42 is the device id you have? Some 4500MHDs have device id of 2A43. If you have lspci installed on your system (install pcwiz's OSx86Tools and it will install it for you, once you run it and click View PCI Device/Vendor Info and click the button to install lspci) just let the patch4500 script determine your device id itself.

So type: patch4500.bash -vr

Also, make sure you have the most recent version I uploaded.

-u

I still got a blank screen on Thinkpad t400-a98, using "-rf 2a42"

So which kexts are u guys used to patch, the original from 10.5.7 update DMG?

Could anyone give me a clue?



#323
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Well, installing apple's ps2 driver from iatkos v7 dvd didn't change anything, even though i can't find voodoo ps/2 kext in the extensions folder anymore, still, after using the script, the result is the same, native resolution working, but no pointer. I just heard about osx86tools for the first time, so i'm gonna play with it a little.

#324
coldequation

coldequation

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
Could you post the output when you just use patch4500.bash -vr (without the -f option)?

If by lspci working, you mean the script running without any -v or -f ****, then no, it says something about missing x4500 accelerator, and a few lines of missing methods. the only way i could get the script to do anything was with the -f selector.

I couldnt find anythins useful in the plist files inside the voodoo kext, so i'm now reinstalling iAtkos with another ps/driver (i was missing audio, power management, even ethernet anyway), and see if it works.


VoodooPS2 includes an (optional, I believe) preferences panel in System Preferences. That is what I was referring too (but it would just set something in the plist files anyway).

Do you think the problem may actually be that Leopard thinks you are connected to an external monitor?

#325
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Could you post the output when you just use patch4500.bash -vr (without the -f option)?



VoodooPS2 includes an (optional, I believe) preferences panel in System Preferences. That is what I was referring too (but it would just set something in the plist files anyway).

Do you think the problem may actually be that Leopard thinks you are connected to an external monitor?



Wow, i didn't know that there should be one in the system preferences. I installed it from the iatkos v7 dvd, and there isn't such a panel. Any idea how make it appear?
I cant find anything about leopard thinking about a second monitor in the displays panel in syspref.

I ran the bash with -vr and it worked, but after reboot, no pointer.

Can you tell me how to undo it? I thought -r will remove it, then i deleted the kext. This is what is should do?

Attached Files



#326
mnelson

mnelson

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Well, installing apple's ps2 driver from iatkos v7 dvd didn't change anything, even though i can't find voodoo ps/2 kext in the extensions folder anymore, still, after using the script, the result is the same, native resolution working, but no pointer. I just heard about osx86tools for the first time, so i'm gonna play with it a little.


When you install iAtkos v7 READ the manual. You will see it during the installation prosess. There is an information regarding PS/2 mouse problems and some advises regarding this issue. When I installed v7 for the first time my keyboard and mouse were not recognized. But than I chose Voodoo PS/2 (if I remember correct) kext and keyboard and mouse are ok now.

@ GMX 4500MHD driver developers
I have HP dv4t laptop. Here is my hardware info from lspci if it would help to diagnose and fix the 4500MHD driver problem. Everything works fine (out of the box -- wireless, sound, usb) except graphic card.

linux-tgmz:~ # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
05:00.0 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. SD/MMC Host Controller
05:00.2 SD Host controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. Standard SD Host Controller
05:00.3 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. MS Host Controller
05:00.4 System peripheral: JMicron Technologies, Inc. xD Host Controller
linux-tgmz:~ #

#327
Benjan

Benjan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
Still, Black screen

I'm on 10.5.7(updated from iPC 10.5.6),

with 2a428086(comfirmed from lspci output),

and use the original kexts extracted from official MacOSXUpd10.5.7.dmg.

Waiting for someone with t400 to confirm the result.

Anyway, thanks for all your help.

#328
coldequation

coldequation

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
Download the latest from the voodoolabs forum. The preferences panel is in the download.

Wow, i didn't know that there should be one in the system preferences. I installed it from the iatkos v7 dvd, and there isn't such a panel. Any idea how make it appear?
I cant find anything about leopard thinking about a second monitor in the displays panel in syspref.

I ran the bash with -vr and it worked, but after reboot, no pointer.

Can you tell me how to undo it? I thought -r will remove it, then i deleted the kext. This is what is should do?


-r only deletes the newly created 24A2AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext. If you want to go back to what you had before running patch4500, then you need only delete the 24A2AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext.

I will consider adding an -u undo option at some point.

@mnelson - you need to run lscpci -nn to see the device id. Your output doesn't include it.

-u

#329
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Download the latest from the voodoolabs forum. The preferences panel is in the download.



-r only deletes the newly created 24A2AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext. If you want to go back to what you had before running patch4500, then you need only delete the 24A2AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext.

I will consider adding an -u undo option at some point.

@mnelson - you need to run lscpci -nn to see the device id. Your output doesn't include it.

-u


Thank you, i've found it in the meantime, but there are nothing in the preferences panel about hardware mouse, or anything related.

#330
Leo Puoci

Leo Puoci

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Hey guys,

Let be clear "blue screen for a few seconds, black screen for one second, then blue screen again, and finally login window.." means the framebuffer runs fine, and the resolution as been changed from VESA boot one to the NATIVE os x desktop one. Tienneke and I even been able to recover the screen EDID through IOReg while the framebuffer was running. We can easily re inject that at the right place, i've done some tests one my GMA 950 and it don't hurt.

I've noticed that revision ID of the X3100 is "03000000" when the X4500 one is "07000000", we may need to patch that in the drivers and Natit too.

I've also read many time that AppleIntegratedFrameBuffer.kext may interfere with X3100 kexts when using Natit.... Since we don't need it, let's delete All GMA 950 related kext and see is this help. Or lets have a look at your system profiler to see if some GMA 950 kext are loaded. ( i've already seen X3100 kext loaded along side of my GMA 950 graphics drivers).

Another idea i had, maybe a wrong one :) But who knows.... Why not try to patch Intel GMA 950 kext to see what's happen ?

Cya.


Hi, I`ve looked at my system profiler and no GMA950 kext are loaded. But as you can see in the attachement, there are the two x3100 kets loaded, besides of the 2A42AppleIntelGMA3100FB kext

You guys are "masters of OSX86" ! I really thank you very much, it`s first time I´ve got a 1380x800 resolution!!!!

Muchachos son muuuyyy capos!!! Felicitaciones por todo el esfuerzo y la dedicación que ponen para desarrollar este driver

Thank you, i've found it in the meantime, but there are nothing in the preferences panel about hardware mouse, or anything related.



Varadi, try the one i`ve attached. It`s important that you delete the Appleps2controller and the AppleACPIps2Nub kexts from the extension folder before you install it.
BTW, you`ll find appleACPIps2Nub in /S/L/E/AppleACPIplatform.ket/contents/plugins

good luck

Attached Files



#331
coldequation

coldequation

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
Need detailed lspci output.

Hi,

I need to see the output of lspci from three different setups:

1. Hackintosh using an X3100 card with QE/CI.
2. MacBook using X3100 card
3. Hack using 4500MHD card

The command to run is:

lspci -vvxxx >lspci-out.txt

Thanks.
-u

#332
Monkey D. Luffy

Monkey D. Luffy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:I will become the Pirate King!
I tried the lspci

bash-3.2# lspci -vvxxx >lspci-out.txt
lspci: Cannot find any working access method.

I have the X3100 Sony Hack - working QI/CE

Did I do something wrong?

#333
Váradi László

Váradi László

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Varadi, try the one i`ve attached. It`s important that you delete the Appleps2controller and the AppleACPIps2Nub kexts from the extension folder before you install it.
BTW, you`ll find appleACPIps2Nub in /S/L/E/AppleACPIplatform.ket/contents/plugins

good luck


Thank you for the idea, but neither of these files exist, i guess because i've already installed the package you attached (it's the same version, but if yours is modified somehow, i'll give it a try). I did not remove the two files you mentioned, so probably the installer removed them (i'm sure the first one was in the extension folder, i saw it), the second one(with the complicated path) i wasn't looking for, but they both don't exist now for sure. These three files are in the plugins folder where appleACPIps2Nub should be:AppleACPIButtons.kext, AppleACPIIEC.kext, and AppleACPIPCI.kext.

So i don't have the appleps2controller.kext in the extensions folder, but (since i installed the voodoo package), there is a VoodooPS2controller.kext. The syspref panel works fine, but at launch it misses ApplePS2SynapticsTouchpad, then loads perfectly. I can modifiy a lot of things, but there are no references to hardware mouse. Even with this ps2 driver, the mouse disappeares after using the script and rebooting with native resolution, therefore i'm beginning to think it doesn't matter which ps2 driver i use, it could be more of a hardware mouse rendering issue with the x3100 driver, still, it's strange noone ever had this kind of problem before with that driver...

#334
Leo Puoci

Leo Puoci

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
Here`s mine, it`s from a GMA4500 hackintosh

Attached Files



#335
Maxcielle

Maxcielle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Need detailed lspci output.

Hi,

I need to see the output of lspci from three different setups:

1. Hackintosh using an X3100 card with QE/CI.
2. MacBook using X3100 card
3. Hack using 4500MHD card

The command to run is:

lspci -vvxxx >lspci-out.txt

Thanks.
-u


NOW I AM CONFUSED! :) do i have 2a40? 2a42 or 2a43? wowwwww! :D

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub [8086:2a40] (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2a42] (rev 07)
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:2a43] (rev 07)


my lspci.txt its attached.

Attached Files



#336
Monkey D. Luffy

Monkey D. Luffy

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US
  • Interests:I will become the Pirate King!
darn, why am I having errors in doing lscpi?

It is now FIXED:

Attached file Sony CR laptop with 965Chipset and X3100 GMA working with Qi/Ce

Attached Files



#337
coldequation

coldequation

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
Thanks for the various lspci outputs. Now I have to study them.

Hoping to find a way to patch in the different addresses, size etc. Might need another kext like the one Slice did for ATI...

Later,
-u

#338
nomi81

nomi81

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saudi Arabia
Hello there,

I've been really watching this thread since last two weeks or so and running almost all the tests which others have. But I'm get frustrated now, I've tested the patch by coldequation as well and it did patch the kexts actually but I could not get the native resolution at all, in-fact I got the blue and then black screen after the restart then at the end I had to delete the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext to get back into my OSX installation.

I am running it on a dell laptop E6400 please see my lspci file and my system logs as well. I really appreciate the help of you guys doing to us. I just need this display to be giving me at least native resolution and as all are greedy QE/CI will be perfect .

Attached Files



#339
coldequation

coldequation

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts
2a40 is a bridge memory controller. 2a42 is your GMA 4500MHD graphics core. 2a43 should be the chipset (probably GM45)

You need to rerun your lspci and post it. It doesn't have all the info. Run it with the following:

lspci -vvxxx >lspci.txt

Thanks.

NOW I AM CONFUSED! ;) do i have 2a40? 2a42 or 2a43? wowwwww! :hysterical:
my lspci.txt its attached.



#340
Leo Puoci

Leo Puoci

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Hello there,

I've been really watching this thread since last two weeks or so and running almost all the tests which others have. But I'm get frustrated now, I've tested the patch by coldequation as well and it did patch the kexts actually but I could not get the native resolution at all, in-fact I got the blue and then black screen after the restart then at the end I had to delete the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext to get back into my OSX installation.

I am running it on a dell laptop E6400 please see my lspci file and my system logs as well. I really appreciate the help of you guys doing to us. I just need this display to be giving me at least native resolution and as all are greedy QE/CI will be perfect .



Some questions:
have you tried after you`ve got the black screen rebooting with the -x and deleting the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext? (I mean not the one ending with FB)
It happened the same to me but deleting the 2a42AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext i got my native resolution.
BTW, what distro are you running? I believe that it should be one of the 10.5.7...





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy