Jump to content

nForce LAN driver


  • Please log in to reply
731 replies to this topic

#681
RaMDaY

RaMDaY

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City

I was previously running 10.6.2 using this nForce driver and it was working fine. I took the jump up to 10.6.4 and it all went smoothly except I was getting a KernelPanic. It was in the nForceLAN.kext it was going bang :P By removing it I am now able to boot up and get everything working but that means I am network less.

Has anyone else hit a kernel panic after an upgrade to 10.6.4.


I get a kernel panic but only when trying to boot x64.

#682
kingdragon

kingdragon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I have test it work great but I am tired to download some software or movie on the torrent. it went stop download, even internet not work either. any idea ? I am on 2 nic built in evga nforce 680i sli.

#683
radov4n

radov4n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Location:Siberia
Does anyone have this working on E7AUM? both 0.64.5 and 0.64.6 pkgs install, but card does not show up..

#684
mapki

mapki

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Successfully installed Hazard 10.6.2 on this configuration:
MB: AsRock M3N78D (NForce 720d) - (http://www.asrock.co...sp?Model=M3N78D)
CPU: Athlon II X4 625
GPU: Geforce GTS 250
RAM: 4Gb DDR3
LAN: RTL8211CL

During installation I selected:

1) Kernels - Legacy
2) Audio-AppleHDA
3) Video - Graphics Enabler, NVInjector
4) AMD
5) Updates

My problem:

Every time after restarting PC Mac loses connection to LAN. To connect I have to go to the System Settings - Network. So that system automatically finds the lan. Each time the OS creates a new connection, rather than connects the old one. (Ethernet, Ethernet 1, Ethernet 2 ...)

#685
mapki

mapki

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Successfully installed Hazard 10.6.2 on this configuration:
MB: AsRock M3N78D (NForce 720d) - (http://www.asrock.co...sp?Model=M3N78D)
CPU: Athlon II X4 625
GPU: Geforce GTS 250
RAM: 4Gb DDR3
LAN: RTL8211CL

During installation I selected:

1) Kernels - Legacy
2) Audio-AppleHDA
3) Video - Graphics Enabler, NVInjector
4) AMD
5) Updates

My problem:

Every time after restarting PC Mac loses connection to LAN. To connect I have to go to the System Settings - Network. So that system automatically finds the lan. Each time the OS creates a new connection, rather than connects the old one. (Ethernet, Ethernet 1, Ethernet 2 ...)


SOLUTION:
Just remove nforce4lan.kext

#686
Blade__

Blade__

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
System Configuration
----------------------
Intel core2 2.13GHz
2.00 GB of RAM
MSI P6n sli Motherboard
nforce 650 chipset
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS

installed iatkos s3 10.6.3 mac os x but ethernet card and Creative SB Live! 5.1 Sound Card driver please help me

#687
keyth

keyth

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

nForceLAN is a recent development which used planetbeing's nForce4 0.3c driver as a framework to port the forcedeth 0.64 driver from linux 2.6.31 to OS X. nForceLAN should support all of the network adapters supported by the forcedeth 0.64 driver (listed below) and is a replacement for both forcedeth.kext and nForceEthernetController.kext. Please remove all installed versions of forcedeth.kext and nForceEthernetController.kext from your system if you are manually installing nForceLAN (not using the pkg). It is recommended, but not required, that all users upgrade to at least 10.5.5 (preferably 10.5.6) and AMD users install the Voodoo XNU kernel.

Please post comments in this thread on how well this works (or doesn't work for that matter) for various configurations.

The source code for this driver is released under the GPL.

The original nForce4 driver is posted here: nForce4 LAN driver

Features:
- Support for nForce NICs from the nForce1 to the MCP89.
- Sleep/wake functionality.
- Supports message signalled interrupts (MSI), line interrupts (Legacy), and multiple MSI interrupts.
- Supports manual selection of the network medium and max transfer unit (MTU).
- Supports hardware VLAN tagging.

Supported PCI ids:
0x01c310de, 0x006610de, 0x00d610de, 0x008610de, 0x008c10de, 0x00e610de, 0x00df10de,
0x005610de, 0x005710de, 0x003710de, 0x003810de, 0x026810de, 0x026910de, 0x037210de,
0x037310de, 0x03e510de, 0x03e610de, 0x03ee10de, 0x03ef10de, 0x045010de, 0x045110de,
0x045210de, 0x045310de, 0x054c10de, 0x054d10de, 0x054e10de, 0x054f10de, 0x07dc10de,
0x07dd10de, 0x07de10de, 0x07df10de, 0x076010de, 0x076110de, 0x076210de, 0x076310de,
0x0ab010de, 0x0ab110de, 0x0ab210de, 0x0ab310de, 0x0d7d10de

Recent updates:
- [0.64.0]Maintenance update (updated to match 2.6.31 forcedeth driver). New device support (MCP89).
- [0.64.2]Fixed 10.6 sleep/unload bug.
- [0.64.3]Some code cleanup. Rebuilt with 64-bit support.
- [0.64.4]Fixed setting the lladdr with ifconfig. Added an option to override the built-in or random MAC. To use the MAC override set (in the plist) MACOverride to true and add a string for OverrideMAC1 and/or Override MAC2. The string should be a standard IPv4 MAC in hexadecimal with pairs of digits separated by colons (ex. 01:23:45:67:89:ab).
- [0.64.5]Fixed a typo in nForceLAN::setHardwareAddress();
- [0.64.6]Some adjustments that appear to improve Snow Leopard support.


Posted Image

enjoy!
-Nate

Kernel extension:
0.64.6 (Snow Leopard + Leopard/Tiger)
0.64.5 (Snow Leopard + Leopard/Tiger)

Source:
0.64.6 Source
0.64.2 Source


thanksssssssss...work fine on ABIT I-N73HD ( MCP73 CHIPSET )

#688
eno

eno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts

SOLUTION:
Just remove nforce4lan.kext


Didn't know about that kext. I will update the pkg later this week to remove that one as well.

#689
lolipopka

lolipopka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
My problem is not working LAN. Cannot get dhcp-address, can't see no macs in `arp -an`.
nvenet is working, but doesn't awake correctly after sleep. netbook hp mini 311.
plz help!

dmesg:
[codebox]
bash-3.2# dmesg | grep nForce
nForceLAN: log verbosity to 2
nForceLAN: message signaled interrupts (MSI): enabled (if available)
nForceLAN: optimization mode: throughput
nForceLAN: timer IRQ: enabled
nForceLAN: probing...
nForceLAN: found nVidia MCP79 Ethernet Controller device 10de:0ab0 with flags 0x017cdf5e
nForceLAN: Version 0.64.6 starting
nForceLAN: supported media: 10BaseT(half) 10BaseT(full) 100BaseTX(full) 100BaseTX(half)
nForceLAN: no DMA interrupts found. using legacy interrupt.
nForceLAN: creating link timer.
nForceLAN: Ethernet address 00:26:9e:4e:15:fb
nForceLAN(en0): enabling interrupts with mask: 0x000000df and msiEnable: 0x00000000
nForceLAN(en0): Network link down.
nForceLAN(en0): Link speed now 100Mbps(duplex = Full, flow control = Yes), code 0x10064.
[/codebox]

lspci:
[codebox]
# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0a82 (rev b1)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0a88 (rev b1)
00:03.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aae (rev b3)
00:03.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa4 (rev b1)
00:03.2 SMBus: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa2 (rev b1)
00:03.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0a89 (rev b1)
00:03.5 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa3 (rev b1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa5 (rev b1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa6 (rev b1)
00:06.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa7 (rev b1)
00:06.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa9 (rev b1)
00:08.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0ac0 (rev b1)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aab (rev b1)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Ethernet (rev b1)
00:0b.0 SATA controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0ab9 (rev b1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0aa0 (rev b1)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0ac6 (rev b1)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0ac7 (rev b1)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0876 (rev b1)
03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
[/codebox]

#690
lolipopka

lolipopka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
anyone? :(

#691
eno

eno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 188 posts

anyone? ;)


It looks like another driver might be interfering (no DMA interrupts). Can you check if any of the following are installed (and remove them):
nvenet.kext
forcedeth.kext
forcedeth-d.kext
nforce4lan.kext

#692
geffen

geffen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Sorry Loli - beyond my comprehension. Good luck. Guiltily I'll just add my problem.

My story: 10.6.3 Atkios install upgraded to 10.6.4 on a Asus p5n32-SLI Premium (n590) board. Install found both NICs but couldn't populate DHCP. Manually setting literally killed the entire network. Found this thread and installed the pkg. At the end I get an "Extention could not be loaded" error and no longer see the NICs in Mac OSX at all.

I've tried reinstalling the pkg, as well as older versions. Don't always get the error but no NICs. I've tried repairing permissions to fix the ptext but no go.

I've done precious little via the command line as it seems the OS simple doesn't see the hardware. Any help or suggestions?

-[g]

PS - I've experienced ZERO kernel panics. Seems incredibly stable just missing important hardware.

#693
bluesonic

bluesonic

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland
I have Asus P5N32-E SLI motherboard, with 680i and MCP55 (n590?) chipsets. The driver reconizes 2 network interfaces, and detects link speed, whether cable is plugged or not, but no data is transferred or received - network interfaces are not able to get IP address from DHCP, and with manual IP address no data is sent or received either.

In Ubuntu 10.04, I have exactly SAME PROBLEM, with forcedeth driver - e.g. eth0/eth1 come up, but system is unable to get IP address or communicate on the network. Solution to this in Linux, is doing:
[codebox]
rmmod forcedeth
modprobe forcedeth msix=0 msi=0[/codebox]
and voila! - after that network works just fine ( - in Ubuntu 10.04).

I assume there might be same problem in OSX? I guess there are other people with same issue here... does anyone know if there would be way setting MSI (media signal interrupt?) values to 0 in OSX, by editing some plist file somehow, for example? or would forcedeth driver in osx behave same way, by adding those parameters to kextload?

I hope some wise person would have any insight on this, thanks in advance! :D


----
EDIT:

My apologies! I should have read this thread fully, before starting to spend days getting xcode and trying to understand your driver's sourcecode, eno :)

DisableMSI = true in the kext's plist fixes the issue, and the kext works like a charm. I'm happy. Btw, geffen, I'm sure this will also solve your problem because we have the exactly same motherboard, and your problem sounds just like the one I had.

----
EDIT2:

My onboard NIC worked just perfectly with DisableMSI, until I enabled my onboard audio... randomly after STOPPING sounds playing (for example closing iTunes while it's playing music), the ethernet adapter stops working, and becomes unable to renew DHCP or communicate... if I unplug the cable and put it back to same ethernet port - it stays unfunctional - if I plug the ethernet cable to different port, it works, until it goes unfunctional also. At first I thought this was VoodooHDAAudio's faut, but also AppleAzaliaHDAudio causes the same problem... so I guess there's is some kind of IRQ interrupt sharing conflict? :/ I tried DisableTimerIRQ, but it doesn't make any difference. The network adapter seem to go down always after this appears in Kernel Log:

kernel[0]: PCMDIR_PLAY: Stream setup nid=10: format=0x1831, digFormat=0x0001
kernel[0]: VoodooHDAEngine[0x7438000]::performAudioEngineStop
kernel[0]: calling channelStop() for channel 0
kernel[0]: VoodooHDADevice[0x7289000]::performPowerStateChange(2, 1)

could it be that sound driver is also powering down ethernet device accidentally? ...

#694
intmain123

intmain123

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
great work, I agree!!

however, I get random failures from the driver under 10.6.4 with the 10.4.0 legacy kernel (AMD proc). I'm running it in 32bit (arch=i386) and I have a MCP51 eth chip.
After booting it works fine, and when I have some traffic for a time (random, but tends to happen more often if I start heavy traffic apps such as skype) the whole eth just drops on my MacOS.
I mean, I can't even ping my router or my other computers in the LAN.
If I do a
ifconfig en0 down
and
ifconfig en0 up
it works again, but only for a limited time. Then it drops again.

I've tried so far disabling the use of these MSI things. still no fix.
about forcedeth or other drivers, no problem cause I did a retail install and just put in nForceLAN.kext, no other stuff.

kernel.log complains about some link problem (?)
Nov 11 22:05:22 grosser kernel[0]: nForceLAN(en0): enabling interrupts with mask: 0x000000df and msiEnable: 0x00000000  
 Nov 11 22:05:22 grosser kernel[0]: nForceLAN(en0): Network link down.
but I think this comes from my ifconfig's

It's strange because in Debian as well as in Win7 it works w/o any problems (triple boot ftw :D)

Should I try any more things or just buy a cheap realtek PCI card? :thumbsup_anim:

thx in advance.

#695
JuliusWang

JuliusWang

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
Thank you! This is a live saver!

The LAN on my Gigabyte M57SLi-S4 is working properly now~ W00t!


However, I also face the same situation with intmain123. The card would drop if heavy traffic occurs, i.e. first time software update. If there is any suggestions, I would be greatly appreciate it.

#696
JuliusWang

JuliusWang

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
OK, a bit poking around and I found another solution, which semi-works:
Basically, I removed the en0's LAN driver, and put the device string into the nForceEthernet.kext. Use osx86 tool, I install the nForceEthernet, reboot, and Viola, everything works great. I got great speed, great connection. But one caveat, I got kernel panic sometime, every hour or two. Sometimes it can be worse.

I am not quite experienced in dealing with KP, but I did some initial test around that problem. I re-installed en0' LAN driver and removed the nForceEthernet, things went back to normal. By normal, I mean internet drops every 80Mb is reached. Then I updated the IONetworkingFamily.kext to 1.6, with nForceEthernet. Didn't change the fact that KP still exists. I did also, learnt from somewhere, manually set the ethernet to 100TX. While this can definitely give me longer surfing and downloading time, it still can lead to KP every 2 hours.

Could anyone help me with the KP issue? I have a feeling that this is addressable, but I just didn't open the right door for now. Any help would be appreciated.

#697
THe KiNG

THe KiNG

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Retired Developers
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
@ eno

Hi,
Test machine HP Mini 311, 00:0a.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: nVidia Corporation MCP79 Ethernet [10de:0ab0] (rev b1)

I compiled the driver from latest source, and works but I have one major bug, on heavy load connection drops and remain like that until reboot, any idea how this can be fixed?

With original driver, no such issue but after sleep it fail to reenable interrupts.
Maybe I can do it using DSDT to write some registers.
So far I could enable MSI writing zero to Offset (0x4F), but no matter what I do I can't reenable interrupts, the register is locked or I miss something.


I saw you fixed such bug in own source, do you mind to share some tips?

Thanks!

#698
damkrat7

damkrat7

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi Guys ! After update from 10.6.0 to 10.6.5 my INTERNET stoped work, and write me this http://imglink.ru/sh...674d5c7912993ac. My motherboard is AsRock K10N78D and i have Nforce lan but before i not used any nForce kexts for internet, because net work withaut kexts. I try to use nForce.kext but not worked. What i need to internet start work ??
P.S Sorry for my bad English :D

#699
Gabriel Mannarino

Gabriel Mannarino

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
You`re the best!
Works great for me (M61SME-S2 - iATKOS V7). But the version 64.5.
The 64.6 didn`t worked.
I installed ok, rebooted, and was saying that the ext was`t properly installed.
THANKS MAN!!! I`m already at OS X network :)

#700
RaMDaY

RaMDaY

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City
64.6 doesn't work for me as well. Booting in 32bit mode, the system profile shows the lan port with an IP address and all that. It appears as everything is fine however there is no internet connect. Web pages will not load, I cannot sign onto AIM, system update does not work etc....





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy