Thinking about buying a macbook pro

18 posts in this topic

Ok well.. im a student who will be doing video game design at uni this september (horahh!) and my current laptop is great and all... but im very interested in a macbook pro. They look like they would be able to handle some 3d moddeling.. not the greatest machine to choose for the job (portably) but they are so cool!... so if they are cool and can handle it I am thinking about it.

My question is who here has got student discount off one? and how much roughly did you get? I know you can ring them up or order from the instution you work at but im not there yet so cant really do that...

and anyone here think im right in thinking these babies will be ok for 3d modeling? I wiill be having a 1 hour trip to uni there and 1 hour back.. so i can work in those times. What I also love about the macbooks are there battery life.. its outstandingly good so that would be useful too!

thanks guys

A MacBook Pro would be good for 3D modeling. You don't have to wait until you are actually at school to check the prices for a student. You can just go to http://www.apple.com/education/store . It looks like a base MacBook Pro is $1799 for students, or $200 off. Any upgrades bought with it will also be discounted (even a monitor).

yes I know about that education store link, but you get a much bigger discount if you do it from your instution for further education. The education store there just covers junior schools ect for the UK then higher education is for like college ect and further is for Uni. We get more discount for going to Uni.

yes I know about that education store link, but you get a much bigger discount if you do it from your instution for further education. The education store there just covers junior schools ect for the UK then higher education is for like college ect and further is for Uni. We get more discount for going to Uni.