.Net Development on Mac

11 posts in this topic

First off, Im not sure if it should go in this thread or in the Mac Development thread. I dropped it in here since I am going to bring up MB vs MBP and the development is not FOR mac, only on a mac.

Ok, Let me get into it. I am a software developer, Im in the market for a new laptop and Ive fallen in love with my Hackintosh (thank you everyone who helped me get that running). Since I am now a big fan of Mac's I am looking to get a Mac laptop.

I have researched .Net development on OS X and come up with some pretty good answers to programing fine within VM Fusion or Parallels on VS2008.

Having only used my Hackintosh for a while I am turning to your collective brainpower to help me figure out what would be my best purchase (I would go to an Apple store but saddly none are near me) And I have done research outside of this forum but would apreciate your opinions. And anyone who has done development on a Mactop I would greatly apreciate your input.

I am looking at either the Black MacBook with upgraded RAM to 4GB, or a MacBook  Pro 15" 2.4GHz with RAM upgraded to 4GB as well.

The benefits of the Black MacBook for me would obviously be price. I am personaly not a huge fan of its small screen real estate but the screen is smaller so it makes sense. The lack of LED backlit and no multitouch are a bit of a letdown since th

MBP has them, but hell, again not a deal breaker. My MAJOR concern with the Black MacBook is the graphics. Would the lack of a more powerful mobile GPU cause issues with Parallels/VM Fusion or even the basic OS X interface? (again, these questions could easily be answered at an Apple Store but Im not looking to drive for hours to get to one)

The benefits of a MacBook Pro to me would be larger screen real estate, Multitou

h (Im very used to it on my iPhone and find myself trying to use multi-touch on my current laptop trackpad). GPU is a big bonus to me, unless I am told