Building a new PC

23 posts in this topic

Hello!

This is my first post on this forum. I guess i am a noob but i am amazed on what you can build on your own! I want to build a PC, suited for OSX(first of all) and XP. I don't want to make to much tweeks(or no at all if its possible) and be sure that it will work after i buy the parts. I don't care for gaming so the graphic card doesn't have to be perfect.

Here is what i come up with so far:

Intel D975XBX2

Intel Core2 Duo E4400

Maxtor DiamondMax 21 250 GB (SATA II, 8MB cache, NCQ)

Lite-ON Super AllWrite DVD+/-RW LH-20A1S bulk (Serial ATA)

Kingston DDR2 1GB 667MHz CL5 ECC

GeForce 7200GS Asus 128MB (512MB)TV & DVI (PCI-E) Turbo Cache

I am not sure about the memory choice. I will also need some case, sound card?(i have sb live 4.1 in my old box - will that work?). I am waiting for your opinions and thanks!!

Thanks for feedback!!

Ok I am changing dvd for Pioneer DVD+/-RW DVR-112 bulk, the price is similar anyway.

About the graphic card. As i said before i don't care for gaming and i could always change for smth better, i just want something cheap and fully compatible.

If I buy this kind of machine what kind of tutorial would you reccomend for dual boot.

Once again. Thanks guys.

Here is what i come up with so far:

Intel D975XBX2

Intel Core2 Duo E4400

Maxtor DiamondMax 21 250 GB (SATA II, 8MB cache, NCQ)

Lite-ON Super AllWrite DVD+/-RW LH-20A1S bulk (Serial ATA)

Kingston DDR2 1GB 667MHz CL5 ECC

GeForce 7200GS Asus 128MB (512MB)TV & DVI (PCI-E) Turbo Cache

I am not sure about the memory choice. I will also need some case, sound card?(i have sb live 4.1 in my old box - will that work?). I am waiting for your opinions and thanks!!

The Bad Axe 1 and 2 (Intel D975XBX and D975XBX2) are great mobos, very compatible with OS X and very good in their own right.

As to the HD, personally I prefer the Seagate Barracuda.

Re RAM, I bought Crucial Ballistix for my hackintosh.