HELP !!! Catalina Install on HP Zbook 14u G6

AJC

115 posts in this topic

I have been trying to install Catalina on my zbook for a month now and nothing works.

Im new to hackintoshing, I have followed every guide I can find to do this install on both clover and OC but every guide I follow the install ends up with kernel panics and stops loading.

the laptop I'm trying to Hackintosh is an

HP Zbook 14u G6 with an i5-8365u processor ,

HD 620 Graphics

500gb nvme m.2 ssd 

the bios on the hp is R70 Ver. 01.06.00 08/03/2020

PLEASE HELP !!

My suggestion is to stick with one guide/method, and try to work through the errors or ask for help with those. Going back and forth between different methods tends to waste a lot of time and ultimately end up in frustration I've found.

My personal recommendation is to go through the Dortania guides and use OpenCore - but whichever guide or bootloader you use is up to you. Looking at your device, there shouldn't really be that many surprises so it should go together fairly easily.

I've followed the Dortania guide several times and for what ever reason its not working. I don't know enough about what's going on to figure out what I'm doing wrong.

also don't know what the errors are or how to " work through them". 

any ideas would be greatly appreciated , or if anyone els has hacked this machine and could share how they did it would be greatly helpful 

Welcome, and thanks for having explained what you want to do in your title rather than just calling for "help".

But to give any meaningful help it is necessary to know what the kernel panic is (fully readable debug messages) and what you've done (EFI folder, or at least the config.plist—with serial numbers redacted out, per forum rules).

As it stands, I second 1Revenger1: Work carefully through Dortania's guide for a minimal setting for your hardware. Refer to Troubleshooting to work issues out. Be methodic when trying alternative settings.