Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 (First Hackintosh Install Progress)

mklein49

57 posts in this topic

Hi Folks,

This is my first attempt at creating a mackintosh. I'd like to track my progress here in order to obtain help for roadblocks and document my success for others.

Here is a list of my relevant hardware:

• Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 (F5c beta bios)
  • Intel Core i7-6700k
  • No dedicated Graphics Card
  • Samsung 840 Pro SSD
  • Samsung 951 NVMe m.2 SSD

What I've done so far:

• Created USB installer via createinstallmedia method
  • Installed Clover to USB Stick
  • Configured config.plist based on vonmolk and hashish.k
  • Added the following kexts the 10.11 folder in clover
    • FakeSMC.kext
    • USBInjectAll.kext
  • Disabled IOAPIC Entries in BIOS per Pike's recommendation
  • Installed El Capitan 10.11.1 onto Samsung 840 Pro SSD Sata drive
  • Installed Clover to SSD
  • Copied the same config.plist and kexts used with the USB installer to EFI partition on SSD
  • Added AppleIGB.kext to SSD Kext folder

Hurdles overcome:

• Could not get passed "Still waiting for root device" error attempting to boot the installer form the usb 3.0 port with my usb stick
    • Moved USB stick to usb 2.0 header via USB port on case and installer came up
  • Installer hung at the "about 1 second remaining screen" for a number of minutes
    • Finally waiting long enough for the installer to reset
  • NIC did not work out of the box when booting into the installed OS, had to add the AppleIGB.kext

Current State:

• Able to boot to OS and use network on one NIC
  • I don't believe the integrated 530 graphics are working correctly
    • I have some screenshots attached that hopefully are useful
    • This is my first install, so I'm not really sure what to try next. I've looked at some of Pike's blog, but it's not clear to me what I need to do.
  • NVMe Drive is not recognized.
  • Extra UEFI Boot options are showing up in my bios after each restart