Shared drive Mac <-> Win

vijmal

22 posts in this topic

I just got my 20" iMac and installed WinXP using Bootcamp. I wanted to know if there is anyway to have a shared drive so that I can keep all my picutres/music/data etc shared between the OS's ?

Currently I have 100G for Win and the rest for Mac OS

thanks for all your help

Just create a FAT32 partition. Both Windows and MacOSX can read/write FAT32.

EDIT: downsides: you cannot have files >4GB on it (so no DVD images). Also, don't do it like 100GB partition :D FAT32 works better with smaller sizes.

I am new to macs hence these (stupid) questions:

1. can i create a partition without reinstalling the current set up?

2. do i create the partition from win or mac (any tools pl or just plain old fdisk :D )

3. can this fat32 partition be of any lenght ? or just 32 G?

EDIT: downsides: you cannot have files >4GB on it (so no DVD images). Also, don't do it like 100GB partition :D FAT32 works better with smaller sizes.

the 100G is not FAT it is NTFS. I plan to use 50 for NTFS and 50 for FAT to share the data. The question now is how to do this given that I have both the OS's installed. don't want to rebuild the iMac (again!!)

Well ... I don't have a mac so I cannot test this, but maybe you can resize your NTFS partition (with something like PartitionMagic) and then create another partition from bootcamp and format it as FAT32.

Or, you can delete the win partition and create 2 of them :) reinstall windows on one and format the other as fat32.

Format the FAT32 partition from windows.

Can someone with bootcamp please agree with what I say? (I never saw Bootcamp as I have a hktosh :D)

You should just store the media u want to share in WINDOWS...

THen in OSX make a shortcut to ur desktop of the media on the windows volume...

Nice and simple...

OS X can't write to an NTFS partition (at least that is what I know)

You didnt read what I said...

Save all media to WINDOWS...