Dell Wireless 1500 Draft N driver for MAC

orion23

16 posts in this topic

Hi,

I am new to this mac thing and finally I was able to install MAC OSX 10.4.7 on my Inspiron e1505.

Everything works except for the sound (eventhough I have the Audigy sound) and the wireless card.

I have a Dell 1500 Draft N card manufactured by broadcom.

Is there any way to get this card working or recognized by OSX?

not really. it's too new... plus, the "draft n" cards are inferior products, not final release versions in terms of hardware or software.. and they may or may not be upgraded to final spec (scheduled sometime in late 2007) ...personally, i'd bet on them not being upgradable

draft n = teh suck

not really. it's too new... plus, the "draft n" cards are inferior products, not final release versions in terms of hardware or software.. and they may or may not be upgraded to final spec (scheduled sometime in late 2007) ...personally, i'd bet on them not being upgradable

draft n = teh suck

Draft N may suck "now", but it will catch up fast :gun: That dell 1500 also dose "b" and "g". I'm also looking for a solution to this card :thumbsdown_anim: And if were talking inferior "b" will soon be outdated. I have a NetGear WGU624 Double108 Router, and wireless "a" with 5Ghz is were it's at :2cents: A flat land test of the wireless "n" sent a signal over 2 miles at 54Mbps :D

key word flat. no hills,walls or any interference from cordless phones. it may be good but in an urban enviornment it wont go even half mile

not sure that i would want my wireless signal to go too far, more chance of someone hacking it. i'm happy with my dual a,b,g band router, it provides coverage for my entire house at full speed, and around my house where i need it at a decent speed. considering i just use it for my copmuter and xbox 360 upstairs, i really don't need something that broadcasts so far. i wonder if other people will follow that train of thought or if they'll dish out the money.