[GUIDE]Installing and dual-booting OS X 10.9.1 on MSI GE60 2OE/GE70 2OE with Windows 8.1 EFI first installed

ninekaw9

2 posts in this topic

Hi there, Ive only tried on MSI GE60 2OE Core-i5-4200M version but I think it will work on GE70 2OE too as well because it has very similar hardware, I think the only difference is screen and body size.

I’m a hackintosh newbie, so there are a lots more thing that potentially can be fixed I think. I still have to learn more.

Normally, OS X Installer won’t install to disk that already have Windows installation, or disk without GPT Reserved partition size 200 mb at the start (Apple Disk Utility erase function will create GPT Reserved size 200 mb at the start of the disk), but I have some trick, and it require a spare external hard disk.

My Specs :

Core i5-4200M

Intel HD4600

Nvidia GTX 765M

15.6” 1920x1080

HDD 1 TB 5400 RPM

RAM 8 GB DDR3 1600

Realtek HD Audio ALC892

Realtek RTL8723AE Wifi + Bluetooth

Killer E2200 Ethernet

Download Files : https://www.mediafire.com/folder/48cufaxuxo34z/GE60_2OE_OS_X

What Works :

• Intel HD Graphic 4600 with Full OpenGL Acceleration (QE/CI)
  • Battery level monitoring
  • Intel Speedstep
    • Indeed, OS X doesn’t support showing real current CPU frequency, even on real mac (you can read more here https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4104026?tstart=0 ), all cpu speed reporting program will report at highest turbo boost frequency all the time, but when I use program like HWMonitor, it shows than when the system is not heavily loaded, CPU power usage is around 6 W, and temperature is not high. When the system is loaded, CPU power usage spikes up to 18-25 Watt, temperature rises up to 80 celcius, laptop fan spin faster, which indicates that Intel Speedstep is indeed working.
  • Sleep (some plugged in usb device can cause the system not to go to sleep successfully)
  • Sound (only speaker and built in mic using VoodooHDA)
  • Screen brightness adjustment
  • Elan multitouch pad