[WiP] - Dell Studio XPS 1640 - Triple boot MacOSX 10.9 Mavericks / Win 8.1 Pro / Linux

Imothep77

4 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

I decided to create this thread with the objective to create a full install guide for this awesome laptop I've been using for 4 years now and that's been put aside since I got my first iPad 1 year ago.

Last time I checked InsanelyMac, it was considered almost impossible to create a hackintosh out of the XPS 1640, but my recent readings tend to prove me the opposite.

I am sure I will have tons of questions that I'm sure I'll find an answer for here - which is why I opened a thread for this.

Without further ado, my config (extract from Everest):

Dell Studio XPS 1640 (2011 model)

• Intel Core2Duo P8600 2,4 GHz
  • RAM: 4 Go
  • Video: ATI Mobility Radeon 4670
  • HD: 500Go 7200rpm
  • Full HD (1920x1080) 16" screen
  • Ethernet: Broadcom Netlink GigaEth
  • WiFi: Intel 5300 AGN
  • Bluetooth
  • Audio: Intel 8280
  • Multicard reader: Ricoh (MMS, SD)
  • Webcam
  • WinTV Nova (TV-Tuner) --> OK if this one doesn't work  :lol:

Finished backing up my data.

Downloaded Mavericks from the app store on a VM under Windows

Have my Win 8.1 USB

Downloaded Ubuntu 13.10

First, I'll try and use Clover bootloader, checking if the BIOS supports UEFI...

I'll start with: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/293574-beginners-guide-to-uefi-tripledual-boot-os-x-windows-and-linux-kali-on-an-single-true-gpt-ssd/?hl=%20triple%20%20boot%20%20kali

... to be continued...

Here we go....  :no:

I decided to separate my project into 2 parts :

1. install a fully working Mavericks on my laptop (Forgot to tell I'm currently using for the Mac stuff a VM with ML 10.8.2 installed on my desktop PC)
  2. Deal with the Multiboot part
    1. get the 3 OSs running together
    2. get the 3 OSs running together without needing an USB to boot (i.e installing a working bootloader on the HD)
    3. get the 3 OSs installed from the same USB stick.