kext cache and gpu issue

boterock

8 posts in this topic

Hello

I recently bought a new computer, and installed hackintosh and so far it has worked really well... most of the components are working, but there are still two issues that I have not been able to solve.

I am not a native english speaker but i'll do my best

the first is the boot, I always have to boot with -f flags, I have previously tried rebuilding the kext cache with other guides that i've found, but i have had no success.... 

the second is that the gpu gets very hot when idle, it takes its time but it feels hot when I touch it after awhile, and when I boot in windows it comes back to normal temperature after 10 minutes...

I am no expert and it would be nice if someone helped me

my specs are:

Intel Core i5 4430

Board Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H

Kingston 240GB SSD HyperX

Geforce GTX TITAN

16gb Kingston HyperX RAM @2400Mhz (though I don't thing this is important)

I have successfully installed Mavericks and updated to DP5

thank you in advance

Edit: forgot to say... installed using myhack 3.2 beta 8 and this post http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/290406-success-gigabyte-z87x-ud3h-mavericks-dp2-haswell-hackintosh/

Edited by boterock

well the agpm hint helped me, I found that agpm works with certain models, and then I found that I hadn't set up the smbios.plist, so I did, used MacbookPro 10,1 and it worked, no overheating in the gpu anymore, although I don't know the downsides of using certain smbios... I used mbp but I don't know if it would be better to use mac mini or imac, tried mac pro and it did not boot...