AMD Lion Kernel

deadreaper

98 posts in this topic

I know that Nawcom is probably the only person developing a kernel for AMD , and now he has medical issues and is taking some time off . So I was wondering If it is possible for someone else to create a kernel . Mountain Lion will be released soon enough and so far , no one has taken up the initiative .

And so I though maybe i could look into the issue , trust me I am not really experience at the time of writing , but I am an amateur either . I have sufficient experience in OS X and I have a working OS X Snow Leopard on AMD . SO I started learning Xcode and cocoa . I Went through dozens of resources on how the kernel works and how the mach kernel works . And recently I just got this idea .

Nawcom patches the open source XNU kernel right ? And it works for AMD . So what I did was I opened up a couple of Nawcom's patches . I came to the conclusion that he used patches which were discovered quite a while back . So from this I came to the conclusion that the main thing he is doing is patching the XNU kernel with patches perviously made by mercury squad and a few others . I know that they put in a lot of effort in finding how AMD can be included in the kernel . So What I was thinking was , what if someone used the same .diff file for nawcom's previous legacy kernels for the 10.6 and combine them with the new legacy atom kernel for lion .

I tried doing that , and now the combining is almost complete . I really do hope this works . I am looking for testers .

Also , anyone who has experience with the mach_kernel or at least on the patches , please correct me if I am wrong .

People don't give up hope , Hackintosh has been there for quite sometime and It will be there for quite sometime , no matter who stops working for the project .

• Like 1

http://www.enigma.id...ompile_xnu.html