Merom MBP or PowerBook G4?

11 posts in this topic

Hi guys, I am a totally newbie here, but not in Mac world. So For a long time I just read this forum without joining it, today I start to join because I really have a question that for me, hard to make the decisions.

I'm from Asia and I have an iBook G4 and also 1.83 Ghz MacBook. Currently I'm looking foward to MBP or iMac for my new Mac. But the MBP is actually out of my budget. I am so admired to PowerBook and MacBook Pro for it's features and specifications. I am saving my money for it and currently my money i enough for me to buy iMac 17" 1.83 Ghz but then suddenly someone offered me with a 1.25 Ghz G4 PowerBook for around USD1000 and since I really want the PB - so it makes me confuse, wether to choose that G4 PB or better go for 1.83Ghz iMac Core Duo.

I am an IT student so I'm doing programming and database. Using MacBook I can use parallels for my programming subject since I could not find any application in OS X that can do c++ programming and SQL database. I love to have the PB more than the iMac because 1) I am student, so I need protables. 2) I admired it for such a long time. But If I sit and think more, it is not worth it if I buy the PB G4 now because everyone is moving to Intel Macs.

I don't want to make a wrong desicion. So guys, could you give me your opinion?

Thanks in advance.

Ask yourself, do you really need another laptop? Especially an older powerbook?

What are the specifications of your Ibook? how do they compare to the powerbook you have been offered? If the powerbook is considerably faster than your Ibook and you need to run PPC applications it might just be worth it.

The Imac offers more upgrade possibilities and should be comparable in terms of connectivity (usb, firewire, video) to the powerbook.

Take a look at the software you need to run, is it intel ready? If it were my decision I would base it on that.