windows on a mac.... the real deal.

hzp

13 posts in this topic

I am a graphic designer by trade, and about 5 years ago abanoned my Imac for the world of PC's. I'm in need of becoming more mobile, and have been planning on a laptop, and I've got it stuck in my head that with this windows-on-a-mac thing, I could go back to the wonderful world of apple.

First: I should say that I have no interest in running the Mac OS. I was a fan of classic 9x, and haven't liked the interface since. i'm a happy gal in windows, so is it possible to not install the OS and just run windows? (i did read through everything here and it seems vista makes it hard to run dual boot.. so maybe?) otherwise it does seem that you can only partition a certain amt for windows for it to work.

Second: why bother buying a mac if i'm just going to run windows? two things, first, the macbook pro screen is much better than anything in the pc world, and i really do need this to be a completely mobile workstation for me. also, a lot of this has to do with my stubborness over new software. if i'm about to drop 4k on a computer, it makes me cranky to have to spend an additional 1500 on new software when i already own perfectly good versions of them now.

Here are my concerns: when I went into the apple store, they actually called it blasphemy that i wanted to run windows on it. I just wanted to see a machine running it,try it out. this was last week, well after the commercials touting such had hit the air. considering this is where i'd be bringing said mac for repair, has the experience been that they handle support of windows on their machines?