How to use a computer to host a web site?

31 posts in this topic

Ok, heres the deal, Sorry if im a noob on server stuff. I have a website registered through godaddy. I cancelled my hosting in hopes of being able to make my p4 3.2 ghz 2 gig of ram a dedicated server. I put windows server 2003 on there and have been stumped on how to do it. I dont know if you can but how do you configure everything to go through it and maybe be able to use my hard drive as an ftp site. Please help!!! Thanks, any comments will be appreciated.

What's you home net badwidth?

can you buy a dedicated IP from your ISP?

How much data are you actually trying to host?

Are you partial to Win Servers only? Why not Apache?

Are yo intersted in running a webhost server where you can host multiple domains on a single IP address?

Yeah I want to host my own website through windows server 2003 at home. For my bandwith its about 6 megabits down and 1 up. I dont think Ill be having too much bandwith. Also I dont have a dedicated IP but is it necessary to do so? Ive tried apache but Im not too good with it. Ill try it again if it tis the best. Im probably also interested in running two domains sincd I have one with network solutions. Would it be smart to go OS X since it has apache bulit in?

Well in time you'll know how much you can actually serve on 1 megabit upstream.

Also I dont have a dedicated IP but is it necessary to do so?

The problem with using non-dedicated IP is when you send mail, the ISP you are with are usually listed at spam databases. Any mail you send will be flagged as spam by the client. One thing you'll need to consider is how often your IP changes. Road Runner changes IP very seldom. So you might be okay with it if you don't mind getting flagged as spam.

If your IP changes frequently, you'll need to use an application to tell everyone that your new IP address is different. You can get more info from DynDNS or the like.

Ive tried apache but Im not too good with it.