Jump to content

[HOW TO] ATI Radeon HD 2400 / 2600 / 2900 / 3850 / 3870 on Leopard


  • Please log in to reply
559 replies to this topic

#521
mrgold

mrgold

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
On my computer everything seems ok but, the pci-e lane width is x1 on system profiler..

Anyone has an idea what may be the problem?


ATI Radeon HD 3800:

Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 3800
Type: Display
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x1
VRAM (Total): 512 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x9501
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-B1480A-236
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.236
Displays:
SyncMaster:
Resolution: 1440 x 900 @ 60 Hz
Depth: 32-Bit Color
Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Supported
Rotation: Supported
QuartzGL: Supported
Display Connector:
Status: No Display Connected

#522
ToBeMac

ToBeMac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alexandria, Egypt
So you think that your gfx performance is actually affected or the profiler is just displaying the attribute wrong?
Did you use any benchmarking tools to verify?

On a side note, is iMovie working on your system?

Regards,
ToBeMac

#523
mrgold

mrgold

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
everything was ok on glview but it shown as x4 on system pref. i changed some kexts and now it seemi x1 and fan got a little noisy. what is your opinion?
and what do u know abdut future releases? will sl fully support these 3870 series or i need to rbuy nvidia.? i dont wanna lose time with these graphic issues anymore

#524
ToBeMac

ToBeMac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alexandria, Egypt
Well, looks like with every update ATI gets less and less support, but that's just how i see it, am still new to the field..

By the way, i couldn't get the installer (USB flash installer using Macinized method) to show up till i deleted ATIRadeonX2000.kext in /system/library/extensions, installed 10.6, rebooted and all i get is the apple logo with the spinning circle and it just keep spinning..
I deleted that file again on the main HD. yet the same problem persists, tried logging with -x too, same result.
Any tips?

Thanks.
ToBeMac

#525
Mushishi

Mushishi

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 408 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sveg, Sweden
mrgold i am sorry but i dont belive you...

the graphics tab you have posted is NOT from snow leopard...

Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
Quartz Extreme: Supported

Thoes 2 are not stated in 10.6 anymore so how can you post info from your working 3870 in snow leopard and then have info there that arent there anymore...

I call BS on this one as it is well known only the 4xx0 series can get QE/CI in snow leopard.

#526
piyokos

piyokos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Location:New York
Working on getting my Radeon HD 3200 working in 10.5.6. Specs are AMD TF-20, iPC 10.5.6 with Voodoo 9.5.0. I can use the framebuffer drivers to get native resolution but I want to get the X2000s working. I've been working on it for a few hours and I've distilled it all the way down to the following consistent error. I get four error screens, two are garbage, one is the blue login hue and it lands on the white one. The Opengl patch is mentioned but I can't figure out what ya'll are referring to.

#527
ufo_all

ufo_all

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 140 posts
i Got ATi radeon HD 2400 any chances to work on SL ?. i love SL.

#528
MADCreations

MADCreations

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The netherlands
  • Interests:Programming and development of Hardware and Software
Will this also work on A Ati Hd3200 intergrated videocard

#529
jgv115

jgv115

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Thanks for this man!

#530
COCOtico

COCOtico

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
i Have Asus EAH3870x2

and installed the file 3870x2.pkg and others who appear is this forum, but makes no changes, I can not change my screen resolution and have spent hours searching
how to install this graphics card. anyone know?
and install drivers only recognize 512 of ram but my graphics card has 1GB

#531
a-l-e-x-x

a-l-e-x-x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York

This is a small guide on how to set up Natit for PCI-E Radeon HD graphics cards in Mac OS X Leopard (10.5.5 & higher). By following the steps below you will get full QE/CI/OpenGL and DVI output. HDMI, S-Video and Composite outputs are confirmed to work with a Radeon HD3870.
It is actually a lot easier than you might think.

Important!
This guide is for advanced users only. If you want a simple installer, check lastExile's installer collection.
In case you have an older version of Leopard installed, see the archived copy of this post.

Supported Radeon HD cards:

  • Radeon HD 2400
  • Radeon HD 2600 Pro, Radeon HD 2600 XT
  • Radeon HD 2900 Pro, Radeon HD 2900 XT
  • Radeon HD 3850
  • Radeon HD 3870
  • Radeon HD 3870x2
  • Other Radeon HD 2x00/38x0 cards might work as well
Step by step guide:
  • Get Natit (attached to this post)
  • Extract the archive and copy Natit.kext to /System/Library/Extensions
  • Locate ATIRadeonX2000.kext in /System/Library/Extensions, Open /System/Library/Extensions/ATIRadeonX2000.kext/Contents/Info.plist with the editor of your choice and add the PCI ID of your card (if it is not already in there). Save.
    • Only if you have a Radeon 2900 Pro or a Radeon 2900 XT download this
      Extract it and copy ATY_Franklin.kext to /System/Library/Extensions/ATINDRV.kext/Contents/PlugIns.
    • Otherwise skip this step.
  • Open Terminal (if you haven't already done so) and type:
    cd /System/Library/Extensions
     sudo chown -R root:wheel *
     sudo chmod -R 755 *
     sudo rm /System/Library/Extensions.mkext
     sudo rm /System/Library/Extensions/Caches/com.apple.kext.info
  • You are done. Reboot and pray :rolleyes:
Additional files
If you have problems with white menus, you might want to try one of these files. Starting with 10.5.5 it should not be necessary to install these patches any more.
  • If you have a Radeon 2600 Pro or a Radeon 3850 and 10.5.1 download this (white menu fix)
    Extract it and replace the original ATIRadeonX2000GLDriver.bundle in /System/Library/Extensions with the one you have just downloaded.
  • If you have a Radeon 2600 Pro or a Radeon 3850 and 10.5.2 download this (white menu fix)
    Extract it and replace the original ATIRadeonX2000GLDriver.bundle in /System/Library/Extensions with the one you have just downloaded.
Notes:
  • It is recommended to perform a clean install. Do not select any graphics-related things during the installation.
  • AMD users: you might need a patched OpenGL.framework.
  • Radeon HD 2400 users: You do not get DVI support. You have to use a DVI2VGA-converter instead.
  • If DVI works, HDMI will work as well (with DVI2HDMI adaptor), no HDMI audio ATM
  • AGP versions of these cards require additional patching. I cannot test it and therefore this guide does only apply to the PCI-E versions.
Changelog:
  • 2009-03-01: Updated permissions of Natit.
  • 2009-02-27: Added new Natit.kext and updated the post.
  • 2008-04-03: updated 2900 information, added ATY_Franklin.kext link, added link to FAQ
Thanks to netkas who made these great drivers. For more information check the #radeonhd IRC channel at irc.osx86.hu
Please also have a look at this FAQ!


i wan't do this, but i cant boot my installation cuz i have an graphics fail while i'm booting, what can i do?! plz help

#532
Stayer

Stayer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I's there any possibility at all to make a gigabyte ati (and not sapphire) HD 3870 Radeon to work properly with mac, and I mean Leopard or Snow leopard, because I have tried many times, I have followed many instructions posted over the internet etc., but haven’t succeeded in booting in any other way but safe mode (-x), and that only with no kext for the graphic card. As soon as I install one, the system stops booting. I do not know, maybe I am not doing something right, I tried Iatkos, Hazard, iDeneb and other distributions on two different mobos (Ga-ep35-ds3 and ga-ep43-ud3l) but the result was always the same. I do have to say that the ep35's LAN worked out of the box (but that’s irrelevant).

So in brief - my question is Is there any hope at all for the Ati 3870 graphic card?

thank you in advance

Edited by Stayer, 07 June 2010 - 06:35 PM.


#533
kollapse

kollapse

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
alright, so I have an issue with my ATi Mobility Radeon 2600.

right before I install Kalyway 10.5.2, I click Customize and choose the drivers for the 2600 XT and 2600 Pro + a kernel I know is working.
when the installation is done it reboots, of course.

now it enters Mac OS X. I get pass the white/grey screen, but when it's about the continue my screen goes all different colours and showing only (sort of) big pixels. I can hear OS X beginning, after that a male voice starts speaking to guide me ahead. The problem is, I just can't see anything but random colours.
I can use my keyboard perfectly. the voice starts telling me what I have selected whenever I move my arrow keys right or left.

I really need some help on this, after trying a 10.6 version, iDeneb, iPC, iAtkos v7 and Kalyway. Kalyway + iAtkos (I think) is the only one letting me pass all the other stuff. untill I get my screen issue.

if anyone has some tips I'd really appreciate it. I'm ready to try almost everything.
otherwise, and till then, I have to consider my ATi Radeon 2600 just isn't compatible with OS X.

#534
dgbowers

dgbowers

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I havent been able to find the answer to this yet:

I have a Visiontek ATI HD 2400 Pro PCI (not express). Can this be made to work with 10.5.8? I dont have any express slots on my board, so if not im sol.

#535
rlenny03

rlenny03

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
HELP ANYONE!

Processor : AMD Turion X2 Ultra ZM 80 @ 2100 MHz (64bit)
Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
Video Card : ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
Hard Disk : TOSHIBA (400 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : TWR J4XA3WP2B41 SCSI CdRom Device
DVD-Rom Drive : TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633L ATA Device
DVD-Rom Drive : MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0000
Monitor Type : AUO - 14 inches
Network Card : BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller
Network Card : RTL8101 PCIe Fast Ethernet Adapter


I cannot figure out how to load any mac os x version onto my machine. What am i missing, every version loads to the boot screen where I hit F8 then the white apple screen begins to appear then the pc reboots everytime. I still haven't seen the option to select language....

What do I need, is my amd processor not compatible?

Let me know, email me @ rlenny03@yahoo.com

#536
kollapse

kollapse

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

HELP ANYONE!

Processor : AMD Turion X2 Ultra ZM 80 @ 2100 MHz (64bit)
Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
Video Card : ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
Hard Disk : TOSHIBA (400 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : TWR J4XA3WP2B41 SCSI CdRom Device
DVD-Rom Drive : TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-L633L ATA Device
DVD-Rom Drive : MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0000
Monitor Type : AUO - 14 inches
Network Card : BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller
Network Card : RTL8101 PCIe Fast Ethernet Adapter


I cannot figure out how to load any mac os x version onto my machine. What am i missing, every version loads to the boot screen where I hit F8 then the white apple screen begins to appear then the pc reboots everytime. I still haven't seen the option to select language....

What do I need, is my amd processor not compatible?

Let me know, email me @ rlenny03@yahoo.com

depends on which installer/program you've chosen. Kalyway, iPC, iDeneb etc.

#537
Stayer

Stayer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Please help if you can. Has anyone succeeded in making a gigabyte ati (and not sapphire) HD 3870 Radeon work in more than just -x mode with no kext and how? :unsure:

Tnx

#538
ffxireks

ffxireks

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hi guys. I have been reading through all these threads about the ati hd 2400 pro problems and i am trying to get QE/CI to work but like you guys experinced i got the screen with garbled out put after boot up too but then... I found the FIX!!!!! I changed the device id in the AtiRadeonX2000.kext/info.plist then in the com.apple.boot.plist i added the lines <key>GraphicsEnabler</key><string>y<string> then installed Triakis_2400_2600_3800.zip, then deleted the extension.mkext. I rebooted and i can change the resolutions and i have full QE/CI support. Im running iAtkos v7 with an Ati HD 2400 Pro device id 094c3.

#539
geezery

geezery

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Where can I download that Triakis_2400_2600_3800.zip file?

I have also strugled with my ATI HD2400 for a couple of days.

#540
Antilycus

Antilycus

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
This has been a ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE for me. I started with Ideneb v1.3 (10.5.5) and followed the install steps to update to 10.5.8

I have ATI 2400XT (0x94c11002) (Small form factor on a Dell Optiplex 755 SFF) and i have read AT LEAST 10 hours of forums trying to get this to work. I've tried the 2 different installers. I have tried the various instructions here at the page. I am not sure if the Frame buffer doesn't have permissions but I tried all the previous tried things, reparied permissions and then rebooted. I am using the latest B.loader Chameleon RC4 and even typing "Graphics Mode"="1920x1440x32" caps me at 1600x1200. I am using an Apple Cinema Display 23" plastic clear bezel. I have read close to 4 years worth of forum information.

And not once have I gotten close. I was able to install NATIT.kext which was fine but the second you install ATIx2000.kext, after reboot you get a scrambled screen. If you let it sit long enough it goes to a "windows" blue background, than a royal blue background, than an all white background. no cursor. If you hold the power button to restart, you can see BITS of the screen, in no particular order.

I don't think I have the ATI Bios, so maybe that's the problem? Any help...please?

Obviously I am on Leopard and NOT snow leopard as my 10.5.8 is my updates.

I can provide more details if needed, but I come from an x86 background/ dos so hang tight with me while I learn Linux/unix commands please:)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy