Jump to content

Natit for Nvidia with dual display


  • Please log in to reply
160 replies to this topic

#141
vassalle

vassalle

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
I'm currently using 10.5.1 (Kalyway). QE/CI support on my 8800GTS 320MB working with NVinject. If I want to use dual monitor, would I need to install Natit? If i do, which version would I need to install? Thanks.

#142
letni

letni

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Success!! I GET dual DVI w/ Nvidia 6600GT PCIe 128mb!

CI/QE
here (http://forum.osx86sc...php?f=74&t=1723) i get this

0400010000100003001c000000000007000000	| PowerMac G5 6600/6600LE 128Mb

I change NVCAP to
04000000 00000300 1c000000 00000007 00000000
And Finnaly get DUAL DVI works in tiger and Leopard


This worked for me with 10.4.10 on AMD X2 with Geforce 7600GT DVI/VGA out.. Now I can have dual out with DVI and VGA. Just added it to my Extensions folder and fixed permissions. Other Nvidia and Natit kext alrady set up and working.. just no Dual output..

#143
hallodri

hallodri

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Hello Bofors,
first of all thanks fo r your efforts! really nice work!
i'm trying to install my quadro FX3400 on leopard(Kalyway and iatkos). i tried almost every installer/kext whatever outthere, with and without adding deviceIDs.

i tried natit 001,002 and the 002 from the link in this table: (search for 3400)

here they say that it works with the natit.kext (on 10.4.8)

well, without adding any deviceIDs it works fine and recognizes my card correctly in the system profiler. but it doesnt enable QE/CI.
after adding my deviceID to "the" four files, the system stops booting with the "restart your computer" screen. with -v the last message is "nvda::start(display) <1> failed". using -x lets me delete/reinstall the kexts..
Do you have any idea what to do?

thanks a lot!
greets vince

ps: with nvinject its exactly the same problem, despite the fact that it doesnt know my graphics card and shows "nvidia video card" in system profiler

#144
gotoh

gotoh

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
for those still wondering how to have a working NVCAP for dual display, check my sig.
TV out is still bugged, due to output definitions differences in Mac and PC ROMs...

#145
anima322

anima322

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
I use natit 0.01 and it works fine (display is not detected but well.. resolution works)

BUT!

1. Quartz Extreme is not activated (System profiler says it is but it isnt because the clock-wiget does not turn when i click on that "?"
2. GPU FAN (Graphic card ventilator) does not work! my laptop gets very hot!

please help my

i ve got a TOSHIBA P100-194
Intel Calistoga 945 chipset

256mb geforce go 7900GS 256mb

(look in signature)

#146
jokacross

jokacross

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
how I correct the file premissions and Remove the cached and packed extensions?? I'm a beginner in this thinks thanks to all

#147
XweAponX

XweAponX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
Does this work with a display as old as a Geforce MX 4000?

(Edit) - Ah, I just looked in the Wiki article, and the MX 4k is a "Non Working Board" ;) :D :( :( :P :(

It's all I had that is an old PCI bus

#148
rundll32

rundll32

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
anima322, when I boot to mac os, my laptop fan does not work, but when I plug power jack, it start. try it.
and there are somewhere smal app for temperature monitoring, so have it to, it is good app to know does fan work at all.

#149
vindu

vindu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
running an evga nvidia geforce 6200 pci card at the moment
device id; 0x0221
vendor; nvidia (0x10de)
revision id; 0x00a1

although it's all working fine i.e. qe/ci supported/hardware accelerated + dual monitor with display output fix

running natit v0.2, in my system.log it seems to be loading the driver 3 times?
is this harmful in any way or can i just ignore it?

Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Apple16X50ACPI1: Identified Serial Port on ACPI Device=UAR1
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Apple16X50UARTSync1: Detected 16550AF/C/CF FIFO=16 MaxBaud=115200
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: NVDANV40HAL loaded and registered.
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: display: family specific matching fails
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: AppleYukon2: 31401297,00000000 sk98osx_dnet - CheckDictionaryEntry failed, expected vs. dictionary
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: display: family specific matching fails
Sep  9 12:56:03: --- last message repeated 1 time ---
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Starting.
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,device_type=display
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting NVCAP=<data not shown>
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,name=NVDA,Display-B
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting device_type=NVDA,Parent
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,NVMT=<data not shown>
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,name=NVDA,Display-A
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,fboffset=0x00020000
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,device_type=display
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting model=GeForce 6200
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: display: family specific matching fails
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Starting.dsmos: Initializing...
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: dsmos: Hook and decryption contexts set!
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: dsmos: Starting...
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,device_type=display
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting NVCAP=<data not shown>
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,name=NVDA,Display-B
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting device_type=NVDA,Parent
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,NVMT=<data not shown>
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,name=NVDA,Display-A
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,fboffset=0x00020000
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,device_type=display
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting model=GeForce 6200
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: display: family specific matching fails
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Starting.
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,device_type=display
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting NVCAP=<data not shown>
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,name=NVDA,Display-B
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting device_type=NVDA,Parent
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,NVMT=<data not shown>
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,name=NVDA,Display-A
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,compatible=NVDA,NVMac
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @0,fboffset=0x00020000
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting @1,device_type=display
Sep  9 12:56:03 localhost kernel[0]: Natit: Setting model=GeForce 6200


#150
Advokit

Advokit

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
Dual Display is now working with my 7300GS card!!!!

It is a bit of a nightmare to find all the info you need to make this happen and it took me a while so i thought i would post up how i did it.

Ok so basically after trying every option i could I found a post with a pre-made NVCAP string for the 7300GS and I grabbed a copy of Natit Dual 0.2.

Search in google and a download will be there somewhere. I opened up the Natit Kext by clicking on show package contents and edited the Info.Plist with Text editor and copied this string in place of the existing NVCAP value: BAAAAAAACQAOAAAAAAAABwAAAAA= then saved and dropped the Kext into Kexthelper. Entered my password and let Kexthelper do its thing. It repairs permissions etc for you so no Terminal stuff if your a noob.

Re-booted, adjusted the resolutions and cailbrated each monitor. DONE!

The NVCAP string in the Info.Plist will look something like this:

<key>NVCAP</key>
<data>
BAAAAAAACQAOAAAAAAAABwAAAAA=
</data>

If you dont change the NVCAP string it wont work trust me! The string is specific to 7300GS only so dont try it with another card it could cause major problems.

Out of interest this is the NVCAP string for 7300GT

<key>NVCAP</key>
<data>
BAAAAAAAAwAMAAAAAAAABwAAAAA=
</data>

Currently have it working with a 22" Samsung and a 19" Philips but im now off to buy a 2nd 22" Samsung! Will be great for Logic Audio thats for sure.

I hope this helps someone who was in the same boat as me. If you have a different Graphics card just try searching for the NVCAP in google.


Happy dual screening :)



PS: If you muck it all up and it wont boot try -X -V at bootloader and boot into safe mode, that way you can have another go.

#151
fagosu

fagosu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi,

I have a P4 running 10.5.5 with the Munky Method and all I had to do was to edit the NVCAP value in Natit to

04000000 00000100 02000000 00000000 00000000

And I have dual displays working with QE/CI and rotation enabled.

Thanks!!!

#152
starobrno1

starobrno1

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 930 posts
  • Gender:Male

Dual Display is now working with my 7300GS card!!!!

It is a bit of a nightmare to find all the info you need to make this happen and it took me a while so i thought i would post up how i did it.

Ok so basically after trying every option i could I found a post with a pre-made NVCAP string for the 7300GS and I grabbed a copy of Natit Dual 0.2.

Search in google and a download will be there somewhere. I opened up the Natit Kext by clicking on show package contents and edited the Info.Plist with Text editor and copied this string in place of the existing NVCAP value: BAAAAAAACQAOAAAAAAAABwAAAAA= then saved and dropped the Kext into Kexthelper. Entered my password and let Kexthelper do its thing. It repairs permissions etc for you so no Terminal stuff if your a noob.

Re-booted, adjusted the resolutions and cailbrated each monitor. DONE!

The NVCAP string in the Info.Plist will look something like this:

<key>NVCAP</key>
<data>
BAAAAAAACQAOAAAAAAAABwAAAAA=
</data>

If you dont change the NVCAP string it wont work trust me! The string is specific to 7300GS only so dont try it with another card it could cause major problems.

Out of interest this is the NVCAP string for 7300GT

<key>NVCAP</key>
<data>
BAAAAAAAAwAMAAAAAAAABwAAAAA=
</data>

Currently have it working with a 22" Samsung and a 19" Philips but im now off to buy a 2nd 22" Samsung! Will be great for Logic Audio thats for sure.

I hope this helps someone who was in the same boat as me. If you have a different Graphics card just try searching for the NVCAP in google.
Happy dual screening :D
PS: If you muck it all up and it wont boot try -X -V at bootloader and boot into safe mode, that way you can have another go.


Ive been running two 7300gs video cards in my hack (possible to run 4 monitors) for months now using an Nvinject.kext I edited a bit. All is enabled, got the kext uploaded to a thread in hardware/graphics cards if you search for my threads.

Check out the video

http://s724.photobuc...rrent=Film3.flv


http://www.insanelym...howtopic=145228

#153
AndrewBean90

AndrewBean90

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
I can't Get My FX 5500 to work with this unless I type -x otherwise it just goes to a blank screen and a cursor I am running Kalyway 10.5.2

#154
deborahs

deborahs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I've got the same problem with a Radeon X1300 i've got a dual screen with the apple and after...nothing. Have you find something from that time?

#155
Chienly09

Chienly09

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Billiards, pool
I think in order to use a Nvidia card for Physx, you need to install the graphics Forceware drivers too. So in short, you cant mix them unfortunately. I too also want to do this because I have a spare 640MB 8800GTS lying around.

#156
Wilse

Wilse

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
I thought I'd followed this correctly but am getting:

"System extension cannot be used... Natit.kext was installed improperly.."

#157
Bladerunner23

Bladerunner23

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

I thought I'd followed this correctly but am getting:

"System extension cannot be used... Natit.kext was installed improperly.."


DL Kext installer.

#158
mrgold

mrgold

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
I NEED TO USE DVI PORT
I used all known ways;
1. GFX String way on aquamac site seem {censored} cause you need leopard to write right gfx string to use on snow. Why do i need to install 2 operating systems to use this card.
2. Graphics Enabler works on only vga and and no qe/cl.
Then i use the DSDT fix in DSDT se and now on System profiler, everything seems ok, but i still cant use dvi port. I can open iMovie but nothing written about Quartz Extreme support on System Profiler..
When i try to see Quartz Extreme status on OsX86 Tools, i see an error like this:
”Can’t make "The domain/default pair of (com.apple.windowserver, QuartzGLEnabled) does not exist" into type boolean. (-1700)”
Theres 3 output on graphic card: VGA, DVI, HDMI..
I can only use VGA

My hardware: P5W DH Deluxe, E8200, Mushkin PC6400, ZOTAC ECO GTS 250 1024 MB
My Software: Snow Leopard 10.6.3 updated from 10.6 with original Kernel
Extra: fakesmc, DSDT, USBkext.

NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250:

Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: PCIEX1_2
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0615
Revision ID: 0x00a2
ROM Revision: 3386a
Displays:
SyncMaster:
Resolution: 1440 x 900 @ 75 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Display Connector:
Status: No Display Connected



Hardware Info:
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation Unknown device [10de:0615] (rev a2)

Please help about DVI port. Anyone has an advice for me?

#159
dr hyde

dr hyde

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

It seems that a number of Nvidia users have had problems running dual displays with the newer versions of Natit. Although I did not try all of them, I had problems too, my second display was sideways and without the mouse cursor.

Natit v0.02 works for dual displays on many Nvidia systems and it is what I am using. I am also re-posting Natit v0.01, which should work for VGA/DVI Nvidia cards, for people who have problems with v0.02 and want to try something else.

However, v0.01 and v0.02 are very similiar, v0.02 merely adds the "@0,NVMT" key and value. For more information on these key-values pairs and how these dual display versions of Natit for Nvidia was developed, see these threads:

http://forum.insanel...showtopic=31833
http://forum.insanel...showtopic=32536

Now for people who have problems, here are two general suggestions:

A. Make sure you are using a clean install of 10.4.8. People who upgrade to 10.4.8 (or mess with the Nvidia kexts) often have problems.

B. Make sure you follow these instructions (specifically removing the .kextcache and .mkext) when installing Natit (again, these instructions and the original idea of Natit are credited to Omni).

(1) Put the Natit kext in your /System/Library/Extensions/ folder. 

(2) Correct the file premissions: 

sudo chown -R root:wheel Natit.kext; sudo chmod -R 755 Natit.kext 

(3) Remove the cached and packed extensions: 

sudo rm -f /System/Library/Extensions.mkext /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache 

(4) Reboot.

UPDATE: Natit for dual display works with Leopard (10.5) too.



#160
Patocruack

Patocruack

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
dual display problem with natit.kext

with natit.kext v0.01 it recognize graphics card


NVIDIA GeForce 6600:

Chipset Model: GeForce 6600
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0141
Revision ID: 0x00a2
Displays:
SyncMaster:
Resolution: 1680 x 1050 @ 60 Hz
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Rotation: Supported
Display Connector:
Status: No Display Connected


Not recognize de second display (have DVI/VGA adapter)


and with natit.kext v0.02 not recognize graphics card Low resolution

but with this natit.kext v0.2 have the two displays working as a mirror, the same image, and can´t change as extended desktop.


What can i do to get working the dual display as an extended desktop and recognize the graphics card.

Thanks from Quito_Ecuador





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy