My build won't recognize or mount USB e2external HDDs

theosteve

27 posts in this topic

Hello. I'm a long-time Mac user. I have some minor experience with upgrading my Macs (PCI cards, new drives, RAM), but none in building a new computer, nor any meaningful experience with CLI or coding more than HTML and CSS. I wanted to build my own Mac/Hack because I wanted something more expandable and customizable than the current options from Apple, and because I wanted to learn a little more about the technical side of things. After watching a number of videos and reading a great deal on another site (at the only time, the only one I knew of dealing with Hackintoshes), I decided this seemed within my capabilities.

I built a computer with the components recommended on that site's "budget ATX" listing:

• Intel 3.7ghz core i3-6100 processor
  • gigabyte LGA 1151 Z170 HD3 motherboard
  • Samsung 850 evo 250gb ssd
  • seagate barracuda 1tb hhd
  • corsair cs 550 watt psu

I chose to forgo a graphics card for now, and used a Phanteks Eclipse P400 case (for whatever difference that makes).

I assembled the computer and exactly followed the installation instructions on the other site. After some minor fiddling with config files, I got the Mac working fine.

Until I tried to mount my external HDD to migrate data from my old Mac. The new computer failed to mount it or even see it. Same with my other external HDDs I tried (all Seagate or Western Digital drives, HFS+ formatted).